We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply excellent”
Review of Tangram Garden

Tangram Garden
Ranked #123 of 956 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue, Cambodian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Located only 400m from Pubstreet and the Old Market in a garden of over 2600sqm, Tangram is one of the most spacious restaurants in town. Our focus is privacy and intimacy for couples, families, groups of friends and even tour groups. All can enjoy a private lunch or dinner experience at Tangram as our Garden features 11 pavilions, a bar and lounge area and a secluded playground for children. Designed in the traditional Khmer style. Mostly natural materials are used around the property, giving people a real al fresco feeling while being seated in a private pavilion underneath a beautiful thatched roof providing a cool and natural breeze druing the day and night. Our staff is young and friendly and have been recruited through training organizations that focus on the training of underprivileged youth. They have mastered the skills of hospitality well and love a conversation with their guests. Tangram is proud to be a member of the Siem Reap community and supports with 5% of its proceedings 60 orphaned and underprivileged children in their development. Lunch or dinner at Tangram is a casual experience that is complimented with personal care, a serene environment & genuine Khmer hospitality.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

This beautiful restaurant is situated a bit out of the center of Siem Reap and although you can walk it it's better to take a Tuc Tuc as it can also be a bit hard to find. You can also arrange for the Tuc Tuc to pick you up again after your meal.

The owners are a Dutch guy and his Cambodian wife and are very friendly. The Cambodian chef has had training in France and you can taste this in the small finesses of the (mostly classic Cambodian) dishes which are really good. I also can't say anything but good things about the serving staff who were all very friendly and fun which added to the whole experience.

Because of the seating arrangement where every party dines under his own roof (made of palm leaves I think??) in the beautiful garden you really feel special. Also special is that with a part of the profit they try to give something back to the community that is still recovering from the long and bloody civil war between the forces of Pol Pot and the government that only ended around 1998.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank goldenghostinc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangram Garden R, Owner at Tangram Garden, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Thank you so much for this nice feedback!

let us know 5 to 10 minutes before you leave if you need a tuktuk back and we will arrange for someone to pick you up (in case no tuktuks are on standby). Thanks for mentioning that so hopefully other people also make use of this service. The return is not for free though, as the drivers are working for themselves (but we do not take commission from them so the fares are reasonable).

Our staff was trained by my brother, who is also Dutch. Our Khmer chef was recently promoted from cook to chef after he started with us 2 years ago as dish washer. He never left Cambodia although we would love to see him experience other parts of the world. We try to keep it as local as possible to benefit as much as possible the local communities, with the exception of myself of course... although after 10 years Cambodia there is not much different between myself and a Cambodian person anymore... :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (571)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

186 - 190 of 571 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2014

Set among a more quieter part of town ... I guess that is how they got so much space for such a beautiful garden. However there is not much around there so be cannot walk to other places after dinner. However wonderful and fast service and good food. Also the price was very reasonable even the drinks.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank itgeek-travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangram Garden R, Owner at Tangram Garden, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Thank you for your comments and feedback on our location. To be fair, we are located 400m from pubstreet, which is about 8 min. walk and only 5 minutes from the night market along the river. Our staff sometimes walks people to the night market as we are in a bit of an unlit area that is now very quickly up and coming with many new hotels around and some other tripadvisor rated restaurants. Just ask our staff and if it is not so busy, they will walk you to pub street or the market(s)!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

A little gem just outside the main Siem Reap town centre.
We reserved this restaurant through our hotel front desk and were offered free Tuc Tuc pick up and drop off by the restaurant. The driver arrived on time and Tom is the sort ride across town to the restaurant. It is set in a large, pretty garden just short way from the centre in a quiet street. As you arrive you are greeted and taken to your own private, round, open-sided hut, well-separated from other diners. The lighting is a little harsh, but we asked for the light to be turned off and were provided with two candles which have more than enough light to eat by and much softer ambiance.
The menu is short but covers all the important areas with a good emphasis on local specialities, those of which we tried, were simply delicious. If you prefer to opt for wine the list is simple but acceptable, though by comparison to beer, quite expensive. Our full dinner for two including $17 for wine, came to $34. Brilliant value.
This restaurant checks all the right boxes: great food, lovely staff, excellent value and lovely surroundings. Would certainly recommend for a romantic dinner.

Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangram Garden R, Owner at Tangram Garden, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Thank you so much Joe for your very nice and friendly review! We are very happy you enjoyed your dinner with us and hope to see you back one day. All of us wish you a very good trip back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

The restaurant is a bit out of the way, but approachable by foot from the pub street area. The main highlight of this restaurant is clearly the friendly staff and the ambience. Tables are separated from each other, and each table has its own rooftop which makes you feel you are dining in your own bungalow.
My wife had khmer meal, aubergine with minced pork meat. Great choice, she loved it. I had a mixed bbq dish, as the place calls itself a bbq restaurant. The dish included chicken wings, pork rib, a piece of sirloin and a shrimp skewer on it. The most noticeable part of the dish was the garnish. The grilled vegetable was just outstanding, but the meats were a bit disappointing. The pork rib had basically no meat on the bone. The others were not bad, but rather average. The friendly staff and my wife’s dish made it up for this downside, so basically I would give another try to this place if we ever go back to Siem Reap.
Also worth to mention that we booked a table via e-mail, the response of the owner was very quick and personal. Another good point. The staff is mainly young boys and girls who had very bad childhood. The mission of the owner is to employ, train and educate these young people to provide them a fair chance on the labour market. Therefore if you go there, you help them with his sponsorship, and for an exchange, you’ll receive an enthusiastic, adorable, perfect and last but not least a grateful service.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank szucsz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangram Garden R, Owner at Tangram Garden, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thanks for your review. After your comments we had another look at the signature plate and sleected our meats more carefully from our suppliers. Sometimes we also have to remind ourselves and suppliers to maintain sharp, so thank ytou for the reminder!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I booked a table for 6 on the recommendation of a friend and was happy that I did. Each table is in its own spacious secluded area so even though there were several other people eating there it never felt crowded. The food is generously portioned and reasonably priced. The staff are friendly, happy to help, and speak good English. I would recommend Tangram Garden if you are looking for somewhere a little bit special to impress a date or if you have something to celebrate. It has a luxury boutique-y feel without the extortionate price tag!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sammy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangram Garden R, Owner at Tangram Garden, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Thank you Sammy for your nice comments! it is always nice to hear that people come in on recommendation from others. We hope to see you again at Tangram sometime soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tangram Garden also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Tangram Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing