We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and ambience”
Review of Tangram Garden

Tangram Garden
Ranked #94 of 893 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue, Cambodian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Located only 400m from Pubstreet and the Old Market in a garden of over 2600sqm, Tangram is one of the most spacious restaurants in town. Our focus is privacy and intimacy for couples, families, groups of friends and even tour groups. All can enjoy a private lunch or dinner experience at Tangram as our Garden features 11 pavilions, a bar and lounge area and a secluded playground for children. Designed in the traditional Khmer style. Mostly natural materials are used around the property, giving people a real al fresco feeling while being seated in a private pavilion underneath a beautiful thatched roof providing a cool and natural breeze druing the day and night. Our staff is young and friendly and have been recruited through training organizations that focus on the training of underprivileged youth. They have mastered the skills of hospitality well and love a conversation with their guests. Tangram is proud to be a member of the Siem Reap community and supports with 5% of its proceedings 60 orphaned and underprivileged children in their development. Lunch or dinner at Tangram is a casual experience that is complimented with personal care, a serene environment & genuine Khmer hospitality.
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and ambience”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

Liked everything
Food was superb, great ribs, great fries - they even import the mayonnaise from Europe - for those our appreciate the Dutch / Belgian way of maximizing calorie intake.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Patrick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangram Garden R, Owner at Tangram Garden, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Haha, that may be because we are partial Dutch and were trained by a Dutch chef! Thanks for the comments!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    404
    119
    30
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Outer Solar System
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Peaceful, laid back restaurant with delicious, healthy Khmer food and play area for children”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

What a terrific place! Tangram Garden had some of the best food we had in Cambodia (especially the satay and ginger pork) and the charming, old-school play areas for our children, as well as the stepping stones, were great fun for our children, thus allowing us grownups to eat and relax in peace. Yay.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank space-cadets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangram Garden R, Owner at Tangram Garden, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Thank you very much for joining us for lunch. We found that our playground offers an excellent way of entertaining the kids while the parents sit back and relax over a fruitshake and some food. It is always a pleasure to read we can serve during lunch the exact purpose of our concept over lunch: to give families an alternative in a safe environment without worrying about the kids getting bored!

Many thanks for joining us over lunch!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous vegetarian food, beautiful romantic setting and fantastic service!”
Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

I read on the internet that although this restaurant isn't solely vegetarian, it has many good vegetarian choices so we decided to give it a go. We were picked up by the restaurants' tuk tuk, which is either a free or subsidised ride...an excellent touch.

The owner of the restaurant went through the menu with us and ensured that the dishes we ordered were completely vegetarian (I.e. No fish sauce, shrimp paste etc which usually gets overlooked in S.E. Asia). The food looked and tasted wonderful, the setting was unique in comparison to all of the restaurants downtown. The atmosphere was peaceful and romantic. Service was fantastic, much better than other restaurants in the area. And the owner was genuinely welcoming and friendly. Thank you Tangram Garden for a fantastic evening!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tiamarena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangram Garden R, Owner at Tangram Garden, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Dear Tia, it was a pleasure having you at Tangram and we hope much you return one day again! We do our best to serve a variety of vegetarian options next to our meats. We know it is often overlooked in Asia, vegetarians, and we wanted to create something special for our non-meat-eating friends. We are happy to see from your feedback we succeeded meeting your taste requirements!

We hope you enjoyed the remainder of your holiday and look fwd to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Go for the Khmer Eggplant”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

We wound up here upon the recommendation of our hotel after we found our first and second choices booked. It wound up being a sweet find. Lovely setting with intimate little gazebos scattered around a large garden, each with its own table and lighting. On a warm night it makes for a nice atmosphere.

Tangram also delivered a culinary highlight of our three-week trip in Asia (other than barbecued rat in the Mekong)-- a grilled eggplant with feta (which isn't really feta, but something less tangy/salty) was amazing with a smoky flavoring that is absolutely unique (at least for me). I'm hoping they will give me the recipe. . .

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ccdeblaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangram Garden R, Owner at Tangram Garden, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Thanks for your feedback! We perhaps may chose to add BBQ'ed rat on our new menu later this year... Or maybe not! You chose one of our own favorites as well with the grilled aubergine. We do have to comment however that it really is Feta cheese, imported from Australia. this ingredient is one of the few items we have to buy from a wholesale supplier as Cambodia doesn;t make its own cheese other than the fermented fish paste (which is referred to as Cambodian Cheese...). Perhaps with our list of ingredients it may taste a bit different than Feta.

Thanks and all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gyeongju, South Korea
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent restaurant in town !”
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Just 10 minutes from the old market. I got an incredible meal with helpful and friendly staffs. In a nice pavilion, lovely garden and decoration with fresh air make me felt like home...

Tangram is not only the garden but also a restaurant which I can not forget. Will see you again on my next my vacation.

Thanks for your great service and delicious food!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Borateno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangram Garden R, Owner at Tangram Garden, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Thank you for writing this wonderful review! It was our pleasure to make you at home at Tangram and we certainly hope we see you again some day. You are certainly welcome any time! All the best from us in Siem Reap!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tangram Garden also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Tangram Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing