We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a romantic dinner”
Review of Tangram Garden

Tangram Garden
Ranked #103 of 913 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue, Cambodian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Located only 400m from Pubstreet and the Old Market in a garden of over 2600sqm, Tangram is one of the most spacious restaurants in town. Our focus is privacy and intimacy for couples, families, groups of friends and even tour groups. All can enjoy a private lunch or dinner experience at Tangram as our Garden features 11 pavilions, a bar and lounge area and a secluded playground for children. Designed in the traditional Khmer style. Mostly natural materials are used around the property, giving people a real al fresco feeling while being seated in a private pavilion underneath a beautiful thatched roof providing a cool and natural breeze druing the day and night. Our staff is young and friendly and have been recruited through training organizations that focus on the training of underprivileged youth. They have mastered the skills of hospitality well and love a conversation with their guests. Tangram is proud to be a member of the Siem Reap community and supports with 5% of its proceedings 60 orphaned and underprivileged children in their development. Lunch or dinner at Tangram is a casual experience that is complimented with personal care, a serene environment & genuine Khmer hospitality.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

My wife and I ate here last night having read the Trip Advisor reviews. It was a lovely place - several individual tables, many set in isolated sections of the garden. Absolutely perfect for a romantic dinner, although probably not if you want the buzz of eating with a crowd! Service was perfect and the owner popped round a couple of times for a chat. Food was really good - especially the aubergine with pork dish which was stunning. Recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ian_HirstUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangram Garden R, Owner at Tangram Garden, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear Ian, many thanks for your feedback! Lovely to have spoken to you! Please visit us again if you happen to be in the neighborhood! :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (571)
There are newer reviews for Tangram Garden
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

222 - 226 of 571 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2013

This was an amazing dinner. Tangram is an oasis in the hectic city, and had the best service. The food was incredible! The hubs had lemongrass chicken, and I had the ribs. Wow ,everything was so tasty both of us finished everything.Prices are very reasonable and the portions were perfect. The owner stopped by to chat with us as we'll, making sure everything was okay. This is a must go in Siem Reap in my book, delicious food and even better atmosphere. Escape the touristy feel of Pub street and enjoy the calm romantic private pavilions of Tangram Garden!

Thank gingieglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangram Garden R, Owner at Tangram Garden, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Many thanks for your amazing feedback! We are always a bit careful with "best food in siem reap" as it takes at least another 500 meals in different restaurants to really ensure this is true! :-) Nevertheless we of course welcome your honest feedback and enjoyed having you over.

All the best from all of us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

I have had rather a few disappointing restaurant experiences in Siem Reap and am so happy this lovely establishment isn't one of them. To start with they organised a complimentary tuk tuk from our hotel, we arrived in a lovely garden with a really private table set amongst the peaceful gardens.

The menu was full of tempting dishes all with extremely reasonable price tags, I went for the braised ribs and they lived up to their reputation and more- amazing! my friend had the egg plant and feta dish which he loved. Desert was pancakes which were amazing with the vanilla ice cream (best ice cream I've had in siem reap) wine was good value and delicious. Waiting staff were kind and helpful and extremely courteous. Definitely our best dining experience in Siem Reap.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jessieso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangram Garden R, Owner at Tangram Garden, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Dear Jessie,

thanks so much for the response! Two of our own favorite dishes you had on your evening with us and we are glad you both enjoyed them too! It is always a massive challenge to meet expectations from people as rating on TripAdvisor is a very tough thing to maintain, if not the hardest and we do our best! We are very happy we were able to exceed your expectations!

All the best from all of us at Tangram!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

Really enjoyed a quiet dinner for two here. The service is absolutely first rate - better than many places charging ten times the price. Our meal was delicious and it was a joy to sit in the peaceful garden setting, almost like a private dining room. Highly recommended

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ianfinchtgd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangram Garden R, Owner at Tangram Garden, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Many thanks Ian for your dinner with us! We hope to see you again some day soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We had some disappointing meals in Siem Reap during our three day stay, but our last dinner at Tangram Garden made up for this with delicious food and great service in a very unusual but lovely setting.

The tables are very spread out about the garden, so you very much feel like you are by yourself - a world away from the mad busy places around the market and Pub Street. Service is excellent with very friendly but not overbearing waiting staff. The food is delicious, we started with Summer Rolls to share and had mains of Chicken with Lemongrass and Basil and Pork with Aubergine. We finished with chocolate pancakes and had a few cocktails to accompany the meal, we loved everything!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangram Garden R, Owner at Tangram Garden, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Thank you very much Jon for the massive compliment! Although, we need to be a bit conservative as we do not know if it is the best food in town... :-) We strive for a value for money experience that allows people privacy, intimacy and care. You experienced Tangram they way we bould our concept around and thank you for sharing it as such with the world!

Merry X-Mas and a Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tangram Garden also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Tangram Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing