We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Siem Reap”
Review of Tangram Garden

Tangram Garden
Ranked #94 of 893 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue, Cambodian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Located only 400m from Pubstreet and the Old Market in a garden of over 2600sqm, Tangram is one of the most spacious restaurants in town. Our focus is privacy and intimacy for couples, families, groups of friends and even tour groups. All can enjoy a private lunch or dinner experience at Tangram as our Garden features 11 pavilions, a bar and lounge area and a secluded playground for children. Designed in the traditional Khmer style. Mostly natural materials are used around the property, giving people a real al fresco feeling while being seated in a private pavilion underneath a beautiful thatched roof providing a cool and natural breeze druing the day and night. Our staff is young and friendly and have been recruited through training organizations that focus on the training of underprivileged youth. They have mastered the skills of hospitality well and love a conversation with their guests. Tangram is proud to be a member of the Siem Reap community and supports with 5% of its proceedings 60 orphaned and underprivileged children in their development. Lunch or dinner at Tangram is a casual experience that is complimented with personal care, a serene environment & genuine Khmer hospitality.
Yerevan, Armenia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best in Siem Reap”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is my recent discovery after 3 months in Siem Reap. The best service and one of the best places for meat lovers. But most attractive is perhaps its location, off the main tourist areas and the interior design and management such a contrast to over a hundred restaurants just a hundred metres away! Good for quite family / friends dinners and occasions. Hoping that the backpacking crowd does not get anywhere near this place in the near future :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank armenicum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangram Garden R, Owner at Tangram Garden, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Unfortunately we cannot put a face to your review and we hope you accept our apologies for that. It means a lot to us that someone who has been in Siem Reap for a while likes our establishment. We hope you come back soon and let us know about your visit!

We get quite a few backpackers or people on a backpackers budget. The reason is the meat we have been told. Nowehere in town can someone find an imported steak for USD 7,75... we believe at least! :-) Most backpackers coming appreciate the break from the real budget places and crave for a reasonable priced piece of meat. At Tangram we hope to be able to cater to that need, to anyone who wishes to dine with us!

We hope to see you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    404
    119
    30
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place, lovely atmosphere!”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I wanted to take my friend out for a birthday meal, so wanted something a bit different from the usual Cambodian restaurants. This place was a great find! We were led up a cute, candlelit path to our very own little hut with a little garden light we were informed to turn on if we needed anyone's attention. It's great, you are given your own space yet don't feel isolated at all. The place was pretty busy too, always a good sign! We were really impressed with the service as we'd quite forgotten what good service was having been travelling around Cambodia and Thailand for a while. The staff were all very knowledgeable and friendly and wanted to chat to us. Overall we had a fantastic night, with some great wine too!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rainbowbutterflies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangram Garden R, Owner at Tangram Garden, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear brithday people, thank you so much for joining us on your special evening!

We are very happy to read you had a nice evening with us and hope you celebrate next year's birthday with us again!

Thank you from our entire team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
215 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Dreaming of you, Tangram Garden”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Wow. What a dining experience.

We made a reservation based on reviews we read here. And we were not at all disappointed.

When our tuk-tuk driver took us from main streets to streets off the beaten path to reach Tangram Garden, I started to wonder. But when we arrived and walked through the "gate" to this Khmer oasis, I could only think of one thing: "Trip Advisor comes through again!" (My husband thinks I'm a genius, really, but it's thanks to all of you!)

What an amazing place. A one-of-a-kind dining experience. And well-explained by the team at Tangram. I had not even realized this was an outdoor dining experience, duh, "Garden." We were seated in our own, personal "hut/bungalo" right away by a young, happy woman, who showed us the mosquito repellent lamp at our feet (I had not even thought of mosquitos! We were not bitten once!) And, the light switch to signal for service. The scene was romantic for sure.

We dove right in to the menu, and selected a lot of food so we could try it all. I let the server know I'm a vegetarian, and moments later the owner came to greet us, letting me know that everything I will order will be prepared fully vegetarian. This meant a lot, because sometimes, you never know!

We had: Summer Rolls as our starter and for the main courses: Tangram Lok Lak, Stir Fried Vegetables with Cashewnuts, Shrimp Kabob with Aioli, and Sweet Corn and Vegetarian Skewers. All of it was AMAZING. As I was eating my Lok Lak and Veggies, I was wishing I had room to order it all again. Exactly the same. My husband loved his dishes as well.

We filled up on food and joy, as our meal was just as good as the service and just as nice as the owner. We enjoyed speaking with him, and were impressed he took time to stop by each table to chat. He said he wanted to do something different in order to compete, and boy, did he hit a home run with this concept. His wife shops each morning for the food and he and his team prepare it. (All while he still maintains a full-time job!) His personal touch made the experience even better. I wish I could go back this weekend, but alas, that 19 hour flight to Cambodia is not the most fun I have ever had. :-) But I know we will be back.

We sent another family from our trip here the following night and their response after dining "Best meal ever!" :-)

Four thumbs up. Way to go, Tangram Garden team!

(Cash only, but very inexpensive!)

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank smep013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangram Garden R, Owner at Tangram Garden, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Sometimes we read reviews or get comments from people that make us blush... this was definitely one of them!

One of the reasons why we opened a restaurant was also to get closer to the people visiting Cambodia and learn more about their feelings and experiences in this country. Who knows that all those talks may lead to another business venture that takes in all the feedback we receive through Tangram! it has definitely lead us to where we are today at Tangram.

One of our aims has been to cater more to vegetarian needs. We found out through feedback that many people prefer to eat vegetables rather than meat in countries like Cambodia. Theerfore, the menu has changed drastically from when we first opened. Again, that is all because of all of you! Our vegetarian selection is now a bit of a pride for us, even though we also are a meat lovers place! We have for example specials on Friday niht for the meat lovers to take our mixed grill and on Saturday we prepare our signature vegetarian grill. We hope that Tangram proves that a restaurant does not necessarily need to focus on either meat or vegetarian but that both go very well, as long as your kitchen knows how to cater to vegetarian. But we must say that our chef Micha has taught them very well!

We are very proud of our team that they have come so far as all of them joined Tangram without prior hospitality experience. the comments on srevice we get make us really proud and means a lot to them as well. Cambodian people, especially youg people from the countryside are by nature shy and insecure at times. This feedback, and from many others, gives them the boost they need to build their confidence. they will need it for sure growing up and wroking in such a demanding sector.

It is also nice you mention the real boss (the wife...) as she spends the entire day shopping for the best meats and freshest vegetables. She often goes unnoticed but is in fact the driving force behind it all. Without her, no food and no bills paid. Therefore we can all join and say a big thank you to our boss lady: Kimty!

Once again, thank you veyr much for all those kind words. You brought up a few things from behind the scenes, which are nice for people to know. Even though we are a small establishment, the organization behind it is not always easy, especially in a country where logics often is not as logic as you think... :-)

We wish you a wonderful remainder of teh summer and surely hope to see you back some day!

All the best from all of us at Tangram!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good western cuisine in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

As all other reviewers mention the setting of the restaurant is simply beautiful. Private and romantic it is a great venue for dinner. The service is exceptional and the owner made you feel welcome and genuinely cared about your experience at his restaurant. I must confess that the food was not really what I was looking for at four days into my Indochina adventure exploring exotic cuisine as most dishes are served with mash and with no chopsticks in sight. However I can hardly rate them down for my own inability to read that they are a mainly western type restaurant. They have a few dishes based on the local cuisine but one feels they are not their strong point as their BBQ is their forte.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karagiozis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangram Garden R, Owner at Tangram Garden, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your experience. We are happy that overall you enjoyed your time with us and our food. Our mashed potatoes are our own recipe and can be orderd as a side order to our western side of the menu (about 12 dishes in total). All of our starters and desserts are Khmer and our main menu for the Khmer cuisine has about 15 dishes and options.

We try to find that balance between western and Khmer cuisine as we found that many people like to have a bit of a mix on the table. However, if we need to step it up on the Khmer side, then we are happy to learn about it and do our best to meet the taste desired by all of our guests.

Thanks again for your comments and we wish you the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Good food in a beautiful setting!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Tangram garden is hidden off the main roads but is set up really nicely with each table under its own little roof. The staff had trouble understanding us in the beginning but they are very polite and will try their best to ensure you get a good meal/experience. The food was also very good at a good price!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Clara L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangram Garden R, Owner at Tangram Garden, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear people,

Thanks as well for your lovely feedback! You met with Mr. Vien at the entrance. Mr. Vien is our security guard and we train him to become part of our service team this high season. With his drive to learn to speak English and his good intentions we can only give him that opportunity!

Thanks for trusting our staff and talking to them. They enjoy to liste to the backgrounds and stories of our guests very much.

Thanks again, from all of us at Tangram.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tangram Garden also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Tangram Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing