We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special experience!”
Review of Tangram Garden

Tangram Garden
Ranked #79 of 875 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Cambodian, Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located only 400m from Pubstreet and the Old Market in a garden of over 2600sqm, Tangram is one of the most spacious restaurants in town. Our focus is privacy and intimacy for couples, families, groups of friends and even tour groups. All can enjoy a private lunch or dinner experience at Tangram as our Garden features 11 pavilions, a bar and lounge area and a secluded playground for children. Designed in the traditional Khmer style. Mostly natural materials are used around the property, giving people a real al fresco feeling while being seated in a private pavilion underneath a beautiful thatched roof providing a cool and natural breeze druing the day and night. Our staff is young and friendly and have been recruited through training organizations that focus on the training of underprivileged youth. They have mastered the skills of hospitality well and love a conversation with their guests. Tangram is proud to be a member of the Siem Reap community and supports with 5% of its proceedings 60 orphaned and underprivileged children in their development. Lunch or dinner at Tangram is a casual experience that is complimented with personal care, a serene environment & genuine Khmer hospitality.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Special experience!”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

The setting is gorgeous and romantic at night. We really enjoyed the food and the atmosphere as well as meeting the owner and hearing his enthusiasm for the restaurant and Cambodia. We sat at a table in the garden and received prompt attention when we pressed our button. We did ot have a problem with mosquitos (although I think all 4 of us had bug spray). Two of our party asked for spicer food and they were not disappointed. Our vegetarian found many things to like. Overall just a really special component of our Cambodia trip. One small regret is that we did not get to come during the day with the kids to enjoy the playground.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JLTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    404
    119
    30
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
Level Contributor
106 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We ate here on Valentine's night and this was a perfect romantic choice. All the dishes were good, and I can recommend the pumpkin soup, the steak and the pork ribs. The service could be a bit amateurish and quite slow, but friendly and enthusiastic. And with 5% of the (very resonable) bill going to local charity, it's a worthwhile cause as well as an excellent night out.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaveDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap, Takev, Cambodia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“If you want to eat good food and feel good about it...”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

...then Tangram Garden is the restaurant for you! Not only is the atmosphere great for a romantic setting, but the food is on par as well. Expats, tourists, and locals can all enjoy the delicious food that's on TG's menu. The price is very fair for the service, setting, and food! I recommend the Tilapia with mushroom sauce. The ribs are great as well. Not only do they provide great service and food but i admire their generosity in giving back to the community. I read on the bottom of their menu that a portion of their profit goes to orphans and just knowing that makes my meal even sweeter. These are the reasons why I recommend this place for you all!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Phanat O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Absolutely disappointing”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We choose this restaurant, because many good recommendation the TripAdvisor, it was a huge mistake.

I booked a table via internet and i also asked a hotel pick-up service. The restaurant replay was quick and they confirmed our booking and the free pick-up. On the day we was waiting in our hotel lobby for the tuk-tuk, but its never arrived. Our receptionist tried to call the restaurant, but there was no answer. Any way we wanted to see this lovely place, so we just catch a tuk-tuk from front of the hotel.

On arrival we asked about our arranged pick-up, but they said the driver couldn`t find our hotel (Our hotel location on the main road, opposite the National Museum)
We still wasn`t angry, we thought we gonna have a nice dinner. The friendly waitress showed us a nice table and gave us the menus. After couple of minutes one lady arrived to our table ( i think she were the manager) and gave the explanation they did everything to find our hotel, but she said they couldn't find our hotel on the internet! -???

The menu choice is limited, prices are average.Our waitress were friendly, and smiling, but when i asked her about the food, she didn't understand, but she was still smiling. Actually we was waiting for our food circa 35-40 min, which is too long for a grilled dish, and also the restaurant wasn't that busy. There was 3 or 4 table with about 12-15 guest. On the other table were a party for 6 guest, English, late 50`s. The manager went to their table couple of time, offered them free starter while they are waiting. - Which is very professional, but what about the other young costumer, or just a large groups are important?
I ordered a mixed grill platter, the meat were tasty, but the portion was to small. My wife food was cold and quite tasteless.

When i saw the bill that was another surprise. They charged us the drinks twice and also they added $1 as tuk-tuk fee. I asked the waiter, and he just left with the bill, and another one came back with the new bill and apologized. But the tuk-tuk fee was still on it, i tried to ask one more time but she couldn't understand, so i just gave up and went to the restaurant car park.

There was 2 tuk-tuk waiting, we asked them to take us to our hotel and both knew where the hotel was, without explanation. What a surprise??? When we arrived to our hotel i asked the driver about the tuk-tuk fee on the restaurant bill, but he didn't know anything about it, so we had to pay for him as well.

Overall the restaurant/garden is well looking, the staff are friendly, but the menu and the food is average. I don't understand why people highly recommend this much on TripAdvisor?

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LeslieCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangram Garden R, Owner at Tangram Garden, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Sir,

We must apologize tremendously for the pick up confusion. We usually check on the internet the location of the hotel in case we are unfamiliar with the hotel but could not find it either on the internet. Pick ups outside of the downtown area cost only USD 1 and the charge must have been a miscommunication between the cashier and service. Return trips can be arranged through tuktuk drivers who are standing at our parking lot but are normally not free as we simply cannot cover the overhead expenses compared to our food prices. The drivers are honest and charge minimum to avoid any complaints on high transportation prices afterwards.

The pick up service is an additional service we offer for the convenience of the guest and on occasion we mix up names of hotels as some are very familiar or completely new in areas we are not very familiar with. We are very sorry that the tuk tuk service spoiled your evening.

best regards, The Tangram Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great place to dine outdoors in a private hut”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were pleastantly surprise with the private huts and a play area for the kids. The decor was great and would be great for couples and familes since you get a private hut to dine in. Food wise, the pork ribs was good however the fish dishes were excellent (we have dine at the other top 10 restaurants mentioned on tripadivsor for siem reap and this place was our favourite).

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 191SL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tangram Garden also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Tangram Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing