We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food, staff and set up”
Review of Tangram Garden

Tangram Garden
Ranked #87 of 881 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue, Cambodian, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Located only 400m from Pubstreet and the Old Market in a garden of over 2600sqm, Tangram is one of the most spacious restaurants in town. Our focus is privacy and intimacy for couples, families, groups of friends and even tour groups. All can enjoy a private lunch or dinner experience at Tangram as our Garden features 11 pavilions, a bar and lounge area and a secluded playground for children. Designed in the traditional Khmer style. Mostly natural materials are used around the property, giving people a real al fresco feeling while being seated in a private pavilion underneath a beautiful thatched roof providing a cool and natural breeze druing the day and night. Our staff is young and friendly and have been recruited through training organizations that focus on the training of underprivileged youth. They have mastered the skills of hospitality well and love a conversation with their guests. Tangram is proud to be a member of the Siem Reap community and supports with 5% of its proceedings 60 orphaned and underprivileged children in their development. Lunch or dinner at Tangram is a casual experience that is complimented with personal care, a serene environment & genuine Khmer hospitality.
Essex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great food, staff and set up”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

The title says it all. Really nicely set up place, feels like you are really treating yourself. Had khmer food, which was great. The waiter also spent some time with us once we'd eaten giving us a khmer lesson.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MJD8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangram Garden R, Owner at Tangram Garden, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Sir and Madam,

thank you so much for your comments and taking the time to talk to Sarath, your waiter. He really enjoys to talk to his guests and teach them Khmer. We are always so garteful that our guests take time to get to know our staff. Again, thank you so much for a great evening!

From the Tangram team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    404
    119
    30
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great ambience!”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We came to this restaurant on Lux's recommendation (tour agent of Angkor Touchstone) and got quite lost since it is well hidden away from the bustle of Pub Street and Old Market Area. However we were pleasantly treated with a garden restaurant where we could dine under our own private hut that has a fan, and lights installed. The staff were extremely courteous and friendly, and the owner himself came out to check that our meals were going well twice. Going there for a family meal or a romantic dinner for two is greatly recommended!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CharleneLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangram Garden R, Owner at Tangram Garden, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Dear Ladies!

Thanks much for your review and your talks the night of your visit.

Actually it is not that well hidden... just one side street away from Wat Damnak, which is part of downtown Siem reap. Unfortunately our beer supplier (who is also in chrage of our light box)has been drunk the past 4 months and has not been able to actually connect our lightbox so we are easier to find... In any case, it should be fixed tomorrow and we should be well visible from the road behind teh Pagoda and make people more secure on where they are going!

At Tangram we are all about privacy and personal care. That is why we designed individual pavillions for every couple, family or group of friends to enjoy a private dinner in peace in the middle of a garden. My wife or I like to talk to our guests and learn what they like (or not) and share the feedback with our staff to imporve our service or make them feel proud of. what they do!

It is always a pleasure to host people like yourself!

Thanks and all the best from the Tangram Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
Reviewed January 7, 2013 via mobile

Simply lovely!

Love the idea of private dining areas, such a chance to have a private romantic dinner doesn't happen often! Although a gecko fell on my head from the roof above!! No matter as I love geckos so I was happy he chose me! :-D

The choice was a little limited but the choice they had was Devine! A taster plate & the steak were enjoyed! The hospitality of the restaurant was brilliant. The ambience was awesome. Great work there, keep it up!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Little-Red-Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangram Garden R, Owner at Tangram Garden, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thanks Kate for your lovely feedback! The Gecko told us sorry for interrupting your dinner but he liked your head very much...

We have a menu that compliments the two backgrounds of the owners (Khmer and European style Grill) and we keep it limited so we can focus on the quality of the food rather than we have an extensive menu and are not so good in all dishes. It was an idea from the chef which we could only support! The portions however are not very small and i hope you agree!

thanks again and hope we see you soon again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Private pagoda dining”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Tangram is somewhat off the beaten path and tucked away on a back street in Siem Reap, but well worth searching out. I had the mixed grill plate which included steak, fish, chicken, and pork as well as fries on the side. It was big enough to share with my wife. The dish was delicious but my favorite was the pork rib. If I went back I'd probably order a whole order of just those. We also had the spring rolls, which included a very nice house made sauce. The service was very attentive without being overbearing. They have a neat system of turning a light switch on and someone will rush over to your table. You also dine outdoors under a little pagoda, which was a neat experience and made you feel like you were on a tropical island. Overall a very romantic spot to dine and the cost is very reasonable for the service and quality of food that you receive.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank TarTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangram Garden R, Owner at Tangram Garden, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear friends from the US!

Thank you so much for your positive remarks about Tangram! We enjoyed your company much and appreciated your kind words.

We call our private huts pavillions. They are very common in Cambodia's countryside where you find them in different sizes. The local people use them to rest when they work on the land or they use it to picnic in (usualy on mats they lay out on the floor. These structures looked very appealing to us and inspired us to create a dining experience totally private and with the atmosphere and ambiance also very intimate!

Thank you again and we hope you have a safe trip home.

Happy New Year from all of us at Tangram.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siem Reap
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Would be your selected Restaurant if you are here!!!”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Had a Beef Steak with Khmer cooking Style and it was so delicious with the special type of sauce they have.

Staff are so friendly, the restaurant decoration is nice, the food is great. beer are cool!!!

Would really recommended this place for you guys who is looking for and wonder where is the best place to eat!!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ngounsominea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tangram Garden R, Owner at Tangram Garden, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear sir,

It is always a pleasure to read that our local community also enjoys eating with us. Especially because you visisted us more than once! Many thanks for "discovering" Tangram Garden and we of course hope to see you again some time soon again.

With kind greetings from our team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tangram Garden also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Tangram Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing