We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and affordable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Moon Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Moon Villa
Ranked #91 of 253 Specialty Lodging in Siem Reap
1 review
“Great location and affordable price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at moon villa for 3 days. The receptionist staff were friendly and never fails to greet us in the morning. It is not a 4-5 star hotel, but i would say it is pretty decent for the price you are paying. Location is a plus point, it is located just minutes of walking distance away from old market, pub street etc.

I would recommend the family restaurant directly opposite moon villa. It's cheap and the food is great. Definitely try the basil fried rice and ask for more spicy if you like spicy food.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ahyang88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    56
    15
    1
    6
See reviews for
9
36
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Can walk to the markets, shops, restaurants and bars but its not in the middle of them so its not really busy/noisy. Clean, large rooms with lots of freebies- nice shower gels, toothbrushes etc which was a nice touch as we had been staying in some pretty budget places previously - nice to have a bit of luxury. Organised a tour guide for the day for Angkor Wat and gave us a packed breakfast. Just lovely and always willing to please!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stepharama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a week. The hotel is located a short walk from Pubstreet and the Night Market. In front of the hotel's main entrance are some restaurants, which offer delicious and fairly priced food. The room is quiet big but the furniture is basic. The amenities of the room are kettle (with free coffee and tea), free WIFI, phone, en suite bathroom, cable TV, very quiet AC as well as a fridge. Breakfast is also included in the price and it is served on the breakfast terrace. The staff is very friendly. There are many Tuk-Tuk driver outside the hotel. I paid 13 $ per day for the Angkor area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colino1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

This hotel is walking distance to Pub street and the Night Market. The rooms ate a good size,clean and well equipped with good Internet .The staff are friendly and more than happy to help.We had an early start one morning and they organised a pack breakfast without request.Although close to pub street we were no disturbed by any noise.
Breakfast is included which we found more than satisfactory and the staff happy to provide extra coffee and tea.
For the price I cannot fault this hotel.

Room Tip: The hotel does not have a lift and the restaurant/ bar is on the roof, 3rd floor. If you are travel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

This hotel was located in a great place. It was very close to all the restaurants and pubs but off the main road so it was quiet. It felt very safe. The room was clean and restocked with shampoo and water every day. The breakfast was very good though it didn't vary. All in all, a great buy for your money.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IstanbulKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

I chose this hotel because it was close to "Pub Street". I had read that it is best to stay in public areas at night; and as I witnessed, it is quite dark when you leave these areas. This hotel is just a block from the "action" of Pub Street - important as I found little for a tourist at night in Siem Reap. Drinking and music ALWAYS fills this void. Dance clubs, indigenous dance shows, pubs and outdoor restaurants readily available on Pub Street.

Very good availability for tours to the ruins as well as a few hours (no more needed) for a tour of the floating village on Tonle Sap Lake. Both areas are within 30 minutes of the hotel; I recommend both.

The hotel was very unexpectedly clean, well maintained with EXCELLENT staff. Breakfast terrace on the roof was a remarkable plus. Cost of course very low for the excellent service provided. Room very clean with air conditioning (appreciated!) and breakfast excellent with a nice selection of fresh fruit.

Room Tip: I had an excellent 2nd floor room on the corner overlooking the main and side street. I like to thr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dean r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

The location of the hotel is very strategic and easy to locate, just opposite of Pub street, walking distance to Old Market and also near to night markets! Yet it was quiet during night so you can have a good quality of sleep after tiring tour to Angkor! There are food stalls, restaurant and 24hrs convenient shop around. Our room was big, with 3 single beds and my brother can even do his breakdance move in the room, but the room without window (attic room). All staffs are very friendly and willing to assist us.

One thing that I think can be improve is the communication (emails). I did emailed to the hotel 2 days ago before my arrival to confirm my booking (booking through Agoda) and request for airport pickup which offered by hotel (stated in Agoda website). However, I did not receive any email reply (checked my email just before boarding on flight) so I order a taxi service from airport on my own expense. During check in the staff told me that they did sent staff to airport for my pickup. On the last day, I have to pay for the tuk-tuk (5USD) to airport, as they offered "FREE ONE WAY PICKUP", and that my first day pickup (which I didn't take the taxi/tuk-tuk which arranged by the hotel) was considered as the free service. It would be just nice to reply your customer a simple email (after my email sent to the hotel, it auto-replied that hotel will reply within 24hours which I didn't receive any).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Reaksmey Chanreas Hotel
Reaksmey Chanreas Hotel
#183 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.0 mi away
Terrasse des Elephants
Terrasse des Elephants
#180 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#106 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cheng Lay Guesthouse
Cheng Lay Guesthouse
#58 of 253 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Premier Inn
Golden Premier Inn
#103 of 486 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.0 mi away
OneStop Hostel Siem Reap
OneStop Hostel Siem Reap
#14 of 253 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moon Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moon Villa

Property: The Moon Villa
Address: Sivatha Road, Phum Steung Thmei | Svay Dangkhum, Siem Reap 93226, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 253 Specialty Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Moon Villa 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spending time in Siem Reap, Angkor Cambodia is part and parcel of a pleasantly holiday. Angkor Temples known as Angkor City has its histories so extensive and rich, and it is really worth discovering. The trip to Siem Reap and other places within Cambodia would not be complete without learning about the past of Cambodia.As The Moon Villa & Spa located is not only in the heritage land of Angkor but also in the right city center of Siem Reap. The Moon Villa & Spa is easy accessible from airport, bus station, tourist attractions and major shopping center. The Moon Villa & Spa offers great choices of accommodations and wants to be your home away from home. When traveling for business or pleasure, we offer the ultimate in convenience, comfort and value.The friendly team of The Moon Villa & Spa offers a full range of concierge services, complimentary airport pick-up, free use of laptop with WIFI connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Moon Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing