We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean hotel, Good location and friendly stuff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Moon Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Moon Villa
Ranked #90 of 248 Specialty Lodging in Siem Reap
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean hotel, Good location and friendly stuff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

The hotel is located near to pub street. It took around 5-10 mins walking. The room is ok for the price that we are paying for. The stuff of the hotel is very friendly and very helpful. They will be more than willing to help you up if you need any help from them. They also could introduce you with a good tuk tuk driver.

the tuk tuk driver could speak a little bit of english. I personally would introduce this tuk tuk driver for all of you.

Mr.Savet
email: saveth_luos@yahoo.com
contact: (855)17550277
(855) 67555659

he's charging at reasonable rate and is sincere unlike some of the tuk tuk driver that will overcharge the rate,

Room Tip: Do not take the ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrence T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    56
    14
    1
    6
See reviews for
9
36
20
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

The hotel is located near pub street. Staff was extremely friendly and knew what we wanted. There was also a massage parlour attached to it. Although it was a little expensive than the rest, it was very quiet and you get 50% off the price for being the hotel's guest.

Breakfast served every morning was the same but it was ok as the pub street is just down the road. Good wifi coverage throughout the entire hotel as well.

The hotel also provide complimentary hotel transfer (one way) from the airport which made it really easy for first timers to Siem Reap.

Room Tip: P.S. the restaurant for breakfast is on the top floor :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poipet, Cambodia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

We had the standard double bed room. The room was super small - barely room for our two small backpack-size bags. There was only room for one person to walk between the end of the bed and the table against the wall. No storage for clothes or anything. Bathroom was ok - large but a bit worn, but hot water with great pressure. The air-con worked ok but was quite noisy. The location was really good - within walking distance to Pub Street and the Old Market (this also made it pretty noisy at night, too). The staff were helpful, and the breakfast on their rooftop garden was nice - bread basket with croissants, scrambled eggs, bacon/ham, and juice and coffee/tea. We only stayed one night; I don't think we would have stayed any longer in a room that size! $30/night seemed a bit pricey for the size of our room, comparing it with other hotels we've stayed at in Siem Reap.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellingwife09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

The hotel situated in a very convenient location, a short walk to pub street. Staff is friendly and not too attentive. They are willing to help with arrangement you may need. Room is clean, bedding is clean and no loud music near ur hotel at night. If u are not a tough negotiator, hotel also provide tuk tuk service, tour guide and taxi (traveling to Poipet) at a reasonable price. I would recco a day trip tuk tuk service 20$ and add sunset/sunrise 5$+5$ trip to Angkor wat.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Warnza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biala Podlaska, Poland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

In February 2013 we booked a room in this hotel. However, when we arrived, the receptionist told us they didn't have any free rooms and they did not cooperate with hostelworld.com through which we made our booking (redirected from tripadvisor :-)). Half an hour before us, two French girls were greeted with the same information and after 1-2 hrs 6 Americans appeared with a similar reservation and didnt' get a room. So we were not alone. At first we thought it was a scam with a fake website but it appeared that they overbooked or just accepted other tourists paying more and pretended they are concerned and worried about us. The problem was that it was high season so there were no rooms in almost any hotel in town. Only after 2 hours did we manage to find a room somewhere else.
So, if you book this hotel, don't be surprised if they don't have a room for you.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank MarzenaJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boutique59, Manager at The Moon Villa, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
We can say officially that The Moon Villa & Spa had not been sold its room accommodation via Hostelworld.com and we are extremely wondering why the Hostelworld.com sells our room accommodation. The property can be displayed unless there is mutual agreement signed between both sides.

We did send e-mail messages to Hostelworld.com sine we had found there were bookings through this company but there is no response so forth.

The Hostelworld.com may make our hotel available on the peak period and unavailable on the normal period.

We are not only running The Moon Villa & Spa but there are more properties and we are proud of our operation thank to our experience for years in the hotel, tourism and hospitality. Further more, we have equipped with hotel management system to control daily operation activities especially the reservation system to avoid overbooking.

Please be in mind that The Moon Villa & Spa implements his long term business honestly and respectfully in which mean that the rooms are surely reserved and allocated for the bookings materialized. For any incident may occur upon guest arrival, the hotel will frankly inform him and find out another solution to cater for him.

In addition, room rates are specifically divided for two different seasons each year: USD25.00 for Low Season and USD30.00 for High Season. The rates are parity for all sources of booking either via online or walk-in rate.

As the review said SCAM is not really accepted. He is an idiot and the nervous person otherwise he would absolutely judge who was right and who was wrong.

We would once again like to deny the review posted as the hotel did not incur the mistake and we urge TripAdvisor to remove the review.

The Moon Villa & Spa's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PP
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

The experience was only marred when I asked a male staff at the counter for a tuktuk. He got the driver in, who quoted me a ridiculous $12 for 2 hours. (Trip to Angkor Wat for whole day cost $12) The plump male staff kept quiet, and was most happy to let me get ripped off. The next day, when I asked for another tuktuk, he quietly told the driver in Khmer that I was charged $6 yesterday, and driver quoted the same. I suspect he gets a commission from the drivers.

I'd recommend Ponleu Chan restaurant, which is the last eatery opposite the hotel's entrance! Fried rice cost $1.50, and western food around $3.

Room Tip: My room which face the street was noisy in the morning
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boutique59, Manager at The Moon Villa, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Thanks for offering us a chance to serve you at The Moon Villa & Spa while visiting Siem Reap and taking your valued time to post the review.

We are responding your review as we have found that you have mentioned regarding the over charge of your Tuk-Tuk fee. We did work out with our staffs for days sine the review gotten live in order to avoid such case.

Not end at this, we brought the constructive feedback on board to discuss.

Once again, appreciate for your kind feedback to improve.

Wish you the best and hopefully to welcome you back to Siem Reap

The Moon Villa & Spa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I liked this place nice staff good location and nice massage. Was billed on last minute as being in phnom pehn and having a pool - neither is correct it is in Siem Reap and does not have a pool. Nice staff

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kpowell88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Reaksmey Chanreas Hotel
Reaksmey Chanreas Hotel
#174 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tan Kang Angkor Hotel
Tan Kang Angkor Hotel
#269 of 338 in Siem Reap
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.0 mi away
Terrasse des Elephants
Terrasse des Elephants
#178 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Villa Soksan Square
The Villa Soksan Square
#64 of 499 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.0 mi away
OneStop Hostel Siem Reap
OneStop Hostel Siem Reap
#15 of 248 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
0.1 mi away
Golden Premier Inn
Golden Premier Inn
#105 of 499 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moon Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moon Villa

Property: The Moon Villa
Address: Sivatha Road, Phum Steung Thmei | Svay Dangkhum, Siem Reap 93226, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 248 Specialty Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Moon Villa 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spending time in Siem Reap, Angkor Cambodia is part and parcel of a pleasantly holiday. Angkor Temples known as Angkor City has its histories so extensive and rich, and it is really worth discovering. The trip to Siem Reap and other places within Cambodia would not be complete without learning about the past of Cambodia.As The Moon Villa & Spa located is not only in the heritage land of Angkor but also in the right city center of Siem Reap. The Moon Villa & Spa is easy accessible from airport, bus station, tourist attractions and major shopping center. The Moon Villa & Spa offers great choices of accommodations and wants to be your home away from home. When traveling for business or pleasure, we offer the ultimate in convenience, comfort and value.The friendly team of The Moon Villa & Spa offers a full range of concierge services, complimentary airport pick-up, free use of laptop with WIFI connection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Moon Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing