We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like home”
Review of Kia Kaha Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kia Kaha Villa
Ranked #104 of 515 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We stayed at the Pippeli earlier this month for 4 nights. The accomodations and service provided are first class, in a relaxed "home away from home" enviornment. The hotel is situated not more than a 10minute walk to the main area of Pub Street; and contrary to negative reviews that you walk in complete darkness for those 10minutes, this could not be farther from the truth.The street is lit up with various shops and resturaunts that stay open late into the night. Is the path as bright as the Las Vegas strip? No. Are you walking in complete darkness? No (then you would never reach the night market or Pub Street). Is it a safe area? ABSOLUTELY!
The staff at the Pippeli had a warm genuine approach to the guests. They were very attentive to making the stay as comfortable as they could. They provided us with breakfast at 5am, so we could watch the sunrise at Angkor Wat. Everything meticulously boxed and packaged, from the fresh juices to your choice of breakfast entree.The owner of the Pippeli, was very welcoming as well, we had the pleasure of meeting him, great guy, good conversation. If you get a chance to meet him, you will know why the Pippeli Pensione is taken care of like his own kids!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FlossinAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 81 of 190 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2014

Pippeli is a lovely, cosy and happy small hotel. I've stayed there twice and hope to come back one day. The hotel is cute and the breakfast gorgeous but the best of the hotel are the staff and owners, they really make you feel at home. Miss Marany and Mr Yim are great hosts and all the other staff members too!!! The location is also lovely, away from the beaten track but close enough to the night market, shops and restos.

Pippeli is Cambodian hospitality at its best!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 543Maria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2014

One of the best boutique hotels we have ever stayed at. We were welcomed by the gorgeous Marany and she was so friendly and helpful during our 4 day stay and always greeted us with that beautiful smile. Our room was fantastic, lots of space and storage and our bed was beautifully decorated with fresh flowers. Very private with a lovely view over the pool area. Breakfast was great with lots of choice and delivered to our balcony every morning. All the staff were so friendly, helpful and welcoming and everyone went out of her way to ensure that everything was perfect for us. Only a few minutes walk to the town centre and Pub Street. We would definitely stay at Pippeli if we return to Siem Reap and we will certainly recommend it to our friends and family.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We just returned from a five night stay at Pippeli Pensione in Siem Reap. This is an amazing hotel with a good location, great service and delicious breakfast. If returning to Siem Reap, we'll definitely stay at this small hotel again. I only have very few bad things to say about this place.

Service:
With only nine rooms, service is very personal and they'll greet you by your name from day one. They'll go out of your way to help you, and if your order a drink a a fresh fruit shake they're happy to bring it to your room, even though they have to climb three sets of stairs to do so.
The lady at the front desk helped us out when attempting to schedule trips to the temples, and the drivers we booked through the hotel were all extremely nice, professional and drove very carefully. When going to watch the sunrise at Angkor Wat at 5 am they arranged breakfast for us, and even gave us fresh pressed juice, cappuccinos, fresh fruit and hot sandwiches to go. We'd been more than happy with a small sandwich, but they went out of their way in the middle of the bight to cook a very nice breakfast for us.
We even got an early check in and we could have gotten an early check out as well had we just asked at no extra cost.

Location:
The location is great. It's a 5-10 minute stroll to the center of Siem reap and Pub Street, but still out of the city center on a small and quite dark dirt road. Perfect location if you want to be in walking distance to bars and restaurants, and still far enough from the action not to be bothered by drunks in the middle of the night.

Rooms:
We stayed in room eight - a spa terrace room. We enjoyed a huge balcony with a large outdoor bath tub (too bad there wasn't enough hot water to actually fill the tub...) on the top floor. The room room itself was quite spacious, light and modern. The bed was comfortable. I'm not sure about the other rooms, I would book a spa terrace room if we are going back as they're larger and especially the balcony is much larger and more private than the other rooms.

Food:
The breakfast is one of the best hotel breakfasts I've ever had! The night before they'll ask you to fill out a form with your breakfast choices, and they'll serve it at your balcony at your requested time the next morning. I had fresh pineapple juice, a cafe latte, natural yoghurt with fresh fruit and a very filling banana french toast every morning. You could also choose between different kinds of cereals, omelet, ham and cheese sandwich and bacon, eggs and sausage. The breakfast is very filling and very well presented, and it's an extra bonus they'll serve it at your balcony. Eating breakfast at the balcony was one of my favorite moments of our entire trip.
We also had lunch at the hotel twice, and the red curry, the fresh spring rolls and the mango salad was all very delicious and also not too pricy. The mango and passion fruit fruit shake was delicious!

Pool:
The pool is small but nicely decorated, however, the water was way too cold! Swimming was quite an unpleasant experience because the water was that cold. Also, there's not a lot of hours of sun around the pool, the sun goes away behind some of the buildings around 3 pm, so if you come back after a long day at the temples and would like to relax by the pool it's not a pleasant experience with the lack of sun and icy water. However, the pool area is still very nice.

Construction work:
The only real downside to this hotel is the construction work taking place next door. They noise never really stopped working all through the weekend as well, and it looked like they had just begun, so I think you can expect construction work many months going forward. However, this is not something Pippeli Pensione should be blamed for.

Overall, Pippeli Pensione is an excellent choice if you want to stay in the center of Siem Reap and if you like small and personal boutique hotels. It is not a five star resort with all the luxuries that comes with luxury hotels, but it's a very good, small and personal hotel I hope I'll be going back to one day in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: Get the Spa Terrace room on the top floor! The rooms are larger with a big bath tub on the private b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank enirtak_kat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This is our second stay at Pippeli. While I rated it highly on our last visit, after this visit I can only rated higher. From Wee the owner to all the the staff in the kitchen, on the front desk, on the Tuk Tuk all these people just made our stay like one big family. Unfortunately both our boys fell ill during our stay (absolutely no fault of the Hotel. Travel bugs are easy to pick up in this part of the world no matter how careful you might be) the staff at the hotel looked after them as if they were there own. The hotel is on a small side street (Wat Damnak, excuse the spelling) But only a short walk from the Art Market and town centre.
Basic but lovely meals from the kitchen. Rooms well stocked and resupplied each day. Great pool for cooling off after a hard days touring.
Special mention to Marany, worth 3 times her weight in gold. And Pat the Tuk Tuk driver who took us on a fantastic Grand Tour of the lesser visited temples.
I would highly recommend Pippellie to anyone travelling to,Cambodia
Aw-Koon, Cha'ran

Room Tip: Terrace rooms overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Travelbags4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed at the Pippeli Pensione for 4 nights and we wished that we could have stayed longer. A few of the many reasons why this boutique hotel is so great:
1. Friendliest and most helpful staff
2. Beautiful and clean modern rooms. Smaller amount of rooms in the hotel made the stay very personal and enjoyable
3. AMAZING breakfast delivered to your outdoor room table, or by the lovely pool every morning
4. Only a few minutes walk to pub street and markets making this hotel quiet at night

Overall, this hotel was just fantastic and would not consider any other hotel after staying here.

Room Tip: As the hotel only has a few rooms, all rooms are in great positions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Boss_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed in this hotel 3 nights and we had the best time ever.
The service was incredible!! A++++++
The lady in the reception was amazing, super helpful and nice, did all our tour and dinner reservations always with a big smile.
The breakfast was very good!! Loved the presentation!
The rooms were beautiful, clean, modern.

Room Tip: Come to this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lucia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.7 mi away
Lotus Blanc Resort
Lotus Blanc Resort
#35 of 373 in Siem Reap
2,530 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
0.9 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#40 of 373 in Siem Reap
5,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#23 of 373 in Siem Reap
3,785 reviews
1.1 mi away
Jasmine Family Hostel
Jasmine Family Hostel
#178 of 313 in Siem Reap
210 reviews
0.5 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#45 of 373 in Siem Reap
521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kia Kaha Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kia Kaha Villa

Address: Group 07 Wat Damnak | Salakomreuk, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia (Formerly Pippeli Pensione)
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 515 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range: $69 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kia Kaha Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Kia Kaha Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing