We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just a Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Central Prestige D'Angkor
Ranked #46 of 488 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Just a Gem”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Happy times for us at the Purple Mangosteen over New Year. Pholly and her wonderful staff made our 4 day stay feel like we had arrived home to a well run house. We had a double room on the front which was just fine for us. Everything worked – comfy bed, great bathroom no problems. Something to be aware of there is no lift and the stairs are spiral so if stairs are an issue don’t book, also even though we were on the front we didn’t have a problem with the noise but some guests might. But overall this is a gem of place to stay right in the mix of Siem Reap. Next time we are in town we are heading right here – that is if we can get a room.
Note to Self: Book early.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTMTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    48
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
99
30
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
157 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed at a family suite (room 1) for 8 nights. The room was spacious and clean. The shower worked well and the bed was comfortable. The shower area was separated from the rest of the room by a black curtain so you might feel a bit uncomfortable if you share the room with a friend but it was not a problem for us. It would be more convenient if there were more hooks or bars to hang the towels in the bathroom.
The room can accommodate 3 persons but we recommend you to book it even if you are only 2 persons in order to have more space and to have a sofa area to relax in after a busy day. A staff told us that there is only 1 room like this so make sure to book early.
The location of the hotel is great. We had been to Siem Reap for 3 times. We stayed at a hotel away from the centre the first time (you have to take a tuk tuk) and at a hotel just across the river the second time (a 10-minute walk away). We find that staying right at the centre is really a good choice. There is a vast selection of places for dining, drinking and shopping. It is less tiring as you don't have to take a tuk tuk for going back to the hotel after dinner or shopping.
However, such central location comes at a price, the noise. Honestly, we did have difficulty sleeping the first night. If you are a light sleeper, bring your ear plugs. We asked Phally for ear plugs the second day and didn't have much trouble sleeping since. Anyway, Phally told us that they are planning to soundproof the rooms in the near future. We are sure that the hotel will be even more popular once the soundproofing is complete.
The hotel does not serve breakfast any more but Blue Pumpkin is just around the corner where you could get bread and coffee.
The owner, Phally, was exactly like the previous reviewers described. We were welcomed by Phally herself when we arrived at the hotel. She was friendly and very helpful and so was the whole team of staff. Phally was always there to give you advice on your programme and recommendations for things to do and restaurants to go to. She also had lots of interesting stories to tell. If you are going to visit faraway places, do ask Phally to book Mr. Dy as your driver. He drove a 4WD and he was the best driver we met in Cambodia so far even though he didn't speak much English.
We will not hesitate to stay at the Purple Mangosteen Hotel if we go to Siem Reap again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MidcoVincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014

We split 5 people between two rooms over 4 nights around the new year (two couples with our "fifth wheel" friend switching between the extra bed in each). A lot of our time was spent downstairs, reading or just hanging out. We had dinner on New Year's Eve on the rooftop - which was excellent. It's not a full restaurant and only caters to guests, but turned out to be a great choice for our dinner.

A few points to consider before you book:
We were right in the middle of Siem Reap - a block away from Pub Street. I typically find that I can sleep through anything, but during these four nights there were some rather loud moments (at least in our room on the second floor). Most memorable was the guy yelling for his friend; GEORGE?? GEOOOORGE!! louder and louder. If you're there during the peak season it will be a little loud until after midnight. The windows were definitely not soundproof and in addition to the shouting, we could just hear people having conversations at dinner on the street while in our room. Wasn't a big problem for us but might be if you're a light sleeper or find that particularly frustrating.

I didn't have a great sense of what Pub Street would be like going in, but had heard they had a big new years celebration. Found it a little similar to Bourbon Street (without the beads), which meant it was way too crowded for new years. Anyway - the location of Purple Mangosteen is in an alley that's much quieter, and calmer - but just around the corner from Pub Street - no cars allowed and much less foot traffic - but it's still clearly a busy and heavily-touristed part of town. That's neither a complaint nor compliment - but helpful to know what you're getting into before staying here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purplemangosteen, Owner at Central Prestige D'Angkor, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Over the new year we had some problems with the noise due to the parties in the local bars, it is true, and in order to solve this we are now working with our architect who will be designing new double glazed sound proof windows on all the rooms. Furthermore we will be putting reinforced glass behind the door in teh front of the hotel which will solve this problem. Thanks for your comment and rest assured that we are addressing this right now.
However also rest assured that most of the year this is not so much of an issue it is just that people tend to get a little "jollier" than usual at New Year and other festivals.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Our stay at this boutique hotel was beyond amazing. It made our holiday in Cambodia even better! Phally (Polly) was just the best host - she was so helpful, friendly, cultured and fluent in a number of languages! The rooms were cosy and clean - very comfortable. The downstairs bar and rooftop area were very sweet. The location was absolutely perfect! Literally in the heart of the city with food, drink and shopping on our doorstep. Next time that we visit Siem Reap, we will be staying here again. I cannot recommend this hotel enough!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron_and_Michelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Philippines
Level Contributor
45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

i cannot emphasize how much the service me and my friend have experienced here has been the best i've experienced in my life so far. Simon and Phally are one of the nicest people I've ever met on my travels. It was great fun chatting with Simon about almost anything under the sun. The staff are always smiling. We came back from a motorbike day trip all dirty and tired before our flight that night and were supposed to just pick up our bags which we left with reception. They allowed us to use a vacant room on the top floor to shower and clean up. I must say, the room they let us shower in (the family room on the top floor) is really nice and I already made a mental note to book this room next time if i'm coming back with a bigger group. Also, my friend took a liking to the instant coffee they provided with the room. We tried looking for the same brand in the supermarkets but to our dismay, they were sold out or unavailable in all of the stores we tried. Upon learning this, Phally collected and gave my friend about 10 packets for her to bring back home. Without any extra charge. Simon also went with us one time to look for a tuktuk driver and made sure we weren't getting overcharged. He also gave us good recommendations on where to eat.

The boutique hotel itself is well-located on Alley West, few steps away from the craziness and hustle and bustle of Pub Street/Old Market. So much dining and drinking options right outside the property. Breakfast not included in the room rate, but really not a problem because u just walk out of the hotel and u get lots of options for breakfast already. Right in front of the hotel entrance is this really nice tapas bar called "Picasso" with a good communal ambience and happy hour is worth availing.

The hotel only has 6 rooms spread over 3 floors (if i'm not mistaken). WiFi worked very well during our stay; our room had a router inside. Drinking water in the room was replaced every day. You had a water heater and instant coffee. Room slippers and bath towels also provided. the layout of the whole property is pretty cool. Very functional and efficient. Take note that there're no elevators; they have a steep spiral staircase, which might pose a problem for the mobility-impaired or those with huge and heavy luggages. they have a rooftop bar which I never got to check out, unfortunately.

The bathroom layout is nice, very airy. Rainshower, good consistent hot water. There's no barrier from the shower area to the toilet but the surroundings don't really get wet because the shower area itself is quite big. the bed and the sheets/comforter are really comfortable. Sometimes we feel too snuggled up to get out of bed.

I've ever tried any of their food offerings but my friend did order their signature lemongrass mojito. I had a few sips and it was quite nice!

the first floor is great for lounging around, using your laptop, reading, and also do a bit of people watching.

again, the service here was WAY beyond my expectations. For the price we paid, I'd say it was well worth it and I would definitely stay here again on my next visit, no questions asked. Better book ahead though; when we arrived there December 8, we found out they were already booked way til February. I was so glad I decided to book ahead since December is peak season for Siem Reap.

Room Tip: ask for a room in the lower floor if you don't want to have to climb up and down that much (stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1,061 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We stayed in the family room on the top floor (well the rooftop garden was above us)
It wasa bit noisy on the Sat night but with the aircon on and a great room we fast fell asleep.
The room was huge and filled with light and a great bathroom and shower with huge shower head.
we loved the funky stairs - but if your not into climbing spiral stairs maybe think again.

Would definately stay here again. You cannot be anymore central than this

Room Tip: Personally I would go high
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dara-Khmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We enjoyed our 3-night stay here. Modern, clean, fantastic location. The hosts were friendly and prompt in service. Phally gave good recommendations for food and activities, including a spa not too far away.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingbackpack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#112 of 345 in Siem Reap
538 reviews
0.0 mi away
Reaksmey Chanreas Hotel
Reaksmey Chanreas Hotel
#184 of 345 in Siem Reap
170 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ta Prohm Hotel
Ta Prohm Hotel
#173 of 345 in Siem Reap
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Terrasse des Elephants
Terrasse des Elephants
#180 of 345 in Siem Reap
392 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#71 of 345 in Siem Reap
409 reviews
0.0 mi away
OneStop Hostel Siem Reap
OneStop Hostel Siem Reap
#12 of 268 in Siem Reap
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Prestige D'Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Prestige D'Angkor

Property: Central Prestige D'Angkor
Address: The Alley West | Near Old Market, Siem Reap, Cambodia (Formerly The Purple Mangosteen)
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 488 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Prestige D'Angkor 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central Prestige D'Angkor (Formerly The Purple Mangosteen) is a small boutique Hotel with 6 stylish rooms in the heart of the historic centre of Siem Reap. It is located in the fashionable lane tucked behind the Old Market which still has some of the last original shop houses that are now art cafés, restaurants, boutiques and galleries. Only a few steps away from the vibrant night life of the Old Quarter this Hotel is quiet with elegant fully air-conditioned rooms. Each room has an en-suite bathroom with a rain shower and a full range of locally produced cosmetics for the guests to sample. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Central Prestige D'Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing