We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern design boutique hotel in great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Central Prestige D'Angkor
Ranked #57 of 513 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 9, 2013

As what the name mentioned, their theme color is in purple, which also my favorite color. The hotel located in a alley where places like Pub Street and night market can be easily accessible with walking distance. The owner Phally is kind and helpful. You can get travel information from her. She can help to arrange for tuk-tuk as well if needed. Wifi working well too. Never tried out their food, but they did provide breakfast and also some western style of meals. Looks good though from their menu. It will be a good choice to stay here if you would want to look for a unique boutique hotel.

Room Tip: Basically all the rooms are same. But you might want to choose a lower level room as you need to get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yeepie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (223)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

125 - 131 of 223 reviews

Reviewed November 3, 2013

Pruple Mangosteen is a nice hotel off of Pub Street in a small alley. Its a very small hotel, more like a guest house with several rooms. The staff is friendly, the internet always worked great, the rain shower and bathroom is very nice with plenty of hot water. The bed is comfortable and the room has a pleasant modern design. It can be a bit noisy at night, but Any hotel in this area will be as it is the main tourist and bar area. If you want to be in the middle of all of the shops and local restaurants then this hotel would be a nice choice, if you don't mind a bit of noise until 3-4am.

Room Tip: Check out "Traditional Khmer Food Restaurant"! Great service and great food! about a 1 min...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dustin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Purple Mangosteen is a small hotel that can be considered as a high-end guesthouse. Its best asset is definitely the location : it is simply perfect. Indeed on top of being situated directly downtown few steps away from the night market, the pub street and all the city features, it is located on a narrow walking alley full of small bistro-restaurants and picturesque craft boutiques. The ambiance, the excellence of Khmer food combined with the kindness of the local waiters make the perfect setup for relaxing and romantic dinners. For that alone I would go back to Siem Rap.

The hotel is small, but stylish. The lobby is designed tastefully and includes a tiny restaurant with a bar. The 6 guest rooms are located on the 3 floors above the lobby and are accessible by a narrow snail staircase. There is also a rooftop for chilling.

Considering that this hotel is located downtown, our room was large enough and comfortable. A fridge, a safe and even a wi-fi router is located in the room. It is the quickest wi-fi I have ever experienced in a hotel. The bed is super comfy and the aircon is quiet. Nothing could wake me up except few annoying mosquitoes. The rain shower has excellent water pressure; so strong that it was splashing a little bit everywhere, but this is typical to South-East Asia guesthouses. Without being new, everything was clean.

Although we made our own research prior to our trip, the hotel staff gave us good recommendations to visit Angkor. They also booked a reliable, honest and safe tuk-tuk driver for our entire stay. Ours spoke good English and even gave us brief explanations about the origin of the different temples and the religious legends. He also knows how to avoid crowds. Our driver’s name was Saru and I have absolutely no problem to recommend him, unless you are looking for someone that decides everything for you in which case I suggest to using a guide.

There are few warnings that I would like to mention. They are not necessarily negative, but I prefer to advise to make sure that no one will leave disappointed :
- There is no elevator, and the staircase is narrow and circular.
- Because of the open interior design, noise from lobby and kitchen could be significantly heard during the day.
- Because of its location, music from nearby bars could be slightly heard.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was located in the center the town, old market area. You can hop into the bars, restaurants near by. The room was good sized for individual traveller. Comfy!! Hot shower, a/c, hair dryer was in the room. Laundry service was available and it was very cheap/ time. Very safe. Excellent wifi connection.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
2  Thank Miks H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

I love my whole stay here. Phally is so accommodating and quickly replies to my inquiries. The location is so convenient, every thing I need is just a few blocks away. And it's near Pub Street. I'll stay here again when I visit Siem Reap again.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

We were lucky enough to stumble across this gem of a hotel as we walked past, and were able to check in the next morning! Phally ( pronounced Polly) and her wonderful staff makes you feel instantly at home in this great space she's created. She also helped us facilitate any arrangements we needed during our stay. I agree with all the positive comments in the other reviews. Beautiful simple effective design, spotlessly clean, quiet air con, wonderful bathrooms, comfortable bed with crisp sheets, flat screen TV and a safe. And last but not least VERY good food! We ended up eating most of our meals there while watching the world go by in the little lane way, which has galleries and an expat bar, a 'hole in the wall' called Picasso across on the other side. All this for a very reasonable price! ...and best Margueritas in town! We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolina h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The location was near everything. Walking distance to shopping, restaurants & bars, including a block away from pub street. Pholly & her staff were friendly & very accommodating. They gave great advice on tours to take and sights to see, and the bar made very good drinks.
Lobby was a nice gathering place to just relax. Room was nice! Clean, comfortable & romantic- great for couples. It included a stocked fridge, and slippers. There are only six rooms in the hotel, which makes it very intimate. There's also a roof top terrace.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank les w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#128 of 365 in Siem Reap
563 reviews
0.0 mi away
Terrasse des Elephants
Terrasse des Elephants
#182 of 365 in Siem Reap
409 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#72 of 365 in Siem Reap
443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bayon Boutique
Bayon Boutique
#107 of 365 in Siem Reap
414 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cheathata Suites Hotel
Cheathata Suites Hotel
#58 of 365 in Siem Reap
534 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Villa Soksan Square
The Villa Soksan Square
#58 of 513 in Siem Reap
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Prestige D'Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Prestige D'Angkor

Address: The Alley West | Near Old Market, Siem Reap, Cambodia (Formerly The Purple Mangosteen)
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 513 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range: $32 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Prestige D'Angkor 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central Prestige D'Angkor (Formerly The Purple Mangosteen) is a small boutique Hotel with 6 stylish rooms in the heart of the historic centre of Siem Reap. It is located in the fashionable lane tucked behind the Old Market which still has some of the last original shop houses that are now art cafés, restaurants, boutiques and galleries. Only a few steps away from the vibrant night life of the Old Quarter this Hotel is quiet with elegant fully air-conditioned rooms. Each room has an en-suite bathroom with a rain shower and a full range of locally produced cosmetics for the guests to sample. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your Central Prestige D'Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing