We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PURPLE MANGOSTEEN ROCKS!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Central Prestige D'Angkor
Ranked #74 of 515 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2013

The location of this boutique hotel is superb. It's just a walking distance to EVERYWHERE. Angkor night market and other night markets (there are just too many night markets around, i lost count LOL), restaurants, the famous Blue Pumpkin (please drop by and try their delicious ice creams), massage parlors, Pub Street, clothes boutiques, convenience stores...everything. Room is extremely clean. Free wifi. The deco, rooftop, the bar..I love every single thing about it. It wasn't noisy at all at night, surprisingly. The staffs were very friendly and were forever smiling! Phally (she speaks very fluent italian) played a very important part in making our trip to Siem Reap an EPIC one. The tour that she arranged for us (we took the 3 days pass to Angkor Archaelogical Park), the guide (Mr Nov Pov), the tuk tuk driver (Mab) are just PERFECT. We had the chance to see SPECTACULAR sunrise at Angkor Wat and UNFORGETTABLE sunset on the top of Pnohm Bakeng. We were very lucky! Thank u Purple Mangosteen and thank you Phally! I wish I could share my album with everyone!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank artykows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

139 - 145 of 225 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

We've read many great reviews on the Purple Mangosteen prior to making reservations at the hotel which set our expectations quite high. Our 4-night stay at the Purple Mangosteen exceeded our expectations! It really is value for money.

The location was superb. Everything literally at the hotel's doorstep. Restaurants, shops, the famous night market and pub street were all just a few minutes' walk away.

We find the design of the hotel interesting and cozy. We loved the spiral staircase and the odd shaped room. The rooftop area was great for relaxing drinks and watching the sunset over Siem Reap.

The room was very clean and comfortable. Our room was on the 2nd floor. A few reviews did mention about the noise from the street and people going up the staircase but we were not disturbed by much noise during our stay. There were however a few mosquitoes in the room but surprisingly we were not bitten or annoyed by them.

There was free wi-fi in the room and the connection speed was pretty good.

Best of all was the owner Phally. She was central to making our holiday in Siem Reap a spectacular one. She was warm and friendly and extremely helpful. She recommended a great Apsara dinner and dance show. And her strategy in visiting the temples were spot on that we managed to avoid all the large tour crowds. For most part we had the temples almost to ourselves! Do note that we visited end June which is not the peak season.

Phally helped to arrange for a tuk tuk driver and a guide during our stay. The guide she got for us was excellent - Mr Pov. He was very knowledgeable and exuded a certain calmness which added to our experience when visiting the temples. Our tuk tuk driver, Mab, was also great!

The thing about Phally is she will not push or force anything on you (ie restaurants, driver, guides, etc) but if you ask, you shall receive great recommendations and help from her.

To the team at Purple Mangosteen - Keep up the excellent work!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RN5T4R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

I'm so lucky to have found The Purple Mangosteen. As I'm sure other reviewers mentioned, the location is ideal and the manager, Paula, is terrific. Her English is pretty perfect and she is super sweet and informative and honest. The rooms are contemporary and comfortable and I think in all of my Southeast Asia travels the (overhead) rain shower in the bathroom was the very best. Eateries, bars and shops a stones throw away. I was a regular at Khemer Kitchen down the Alley and Blue Pumpkin (ice cream and croissant) around the corner.

Btw, I had to catch a 1:30am bus onward, and Paula and staff allowed me to hang out in the lobby until bus time...using Internet, charging my devices and freshening up in toilet. Much appreciation for Paula -- she was warm, inviting and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

The hotel location is the best! Close to everything and right on Pub street. Room is very confortable and price is good. I really enjoyed my stay there and recommend. The owner is very nice. The rest of the staff is ok, they dont talk very much but are helpfull.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CinthiaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

From the very outset when the tuk tuk dropped us off at The Alley West where Purple Mangosteen is located, we liked the location. Our initial positive impressions were followed up with walking into the Mangosteen. All of the positive reviews below are justified, and all I can do is reiterate what has already been said about this fantastic place.

Polly was essential in us enjoying our stay in Siem Reap. She arranged our flight to Sihanoukville (which we wish we'd never taken), arranged Bhunta (spelling?) the tuk tuk driver to run us around the temples. She also helped us choose which temples to visit (we were only doing one day of temples, so couldn't see them all). Polly without a doubt ensured we got maximum enjoyment and value out of our four nights in Siem Reap. The other staff were also very attentive and maintined the rooms to a very high standard, however we didn't really run into them very often.

The rooms were very high quality for the price (we paid ~$30 a night) and the airconditioning very good. There were no issues with hot water. I don't think we ever turned the TV on, so I can't comment on that. We were on the top floor, so could not always get the wifi to work. There was no issue with it at lower levels. At night, we did hear noise from the nearby clubs, but it did not have an impact on our sleep.

The location of the Mangosteen is very good, with basically everything you could want within walking distance. The laneway is quaint, and there are fewer beggers/people selling in there than on other nearby streets such as Pub Street. You also won't be bothered by tuk tuk drivers (until you walk out the laneway).

Overall, we really enjoyed Siem Reap and will come back. However, our level of satisfaction with The Purple Mangosteen was such that I wouldn't even consider elsewhere and would make sure I could get accomodation here before booking flights/making travel arrangements to get there.

Keep up the good work Polly, your guest house deserves every one of the positive reviews it has.

This review was completed by an Australian couple in their 30s.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigA81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We’ve just arrived from an amazing week-long stay at The Purple Mangosteen. Everything about our Siem Reap experience was made extra special due to the excessive efforts extended to us by Phally and her staff. We were welcomed as friends, and sent off like family. And everyday in between was made to feel like home. This beautifully built, jewel of a hotel served as a lovely refuge from the glaring Cambodian heat. After frenzied days of temple gazing, its Alley West location gave us both the luxury of accessibility and tranquility from the bustling center of town. Our well-appointed room was spotless, quiet, and perfectly comfortable. The building is handsomely designed, with utmost consideration given to the well-being of its guests and surroundings. Clearly, it’s a giving space—one that gently mimics its owner’s generosity. Every morning, we were seen off with fervent hopes for a thrilling adventure. At dusk, we were greeted with knowing smiles upon our dust-filled arrivals. Bhunta, from the hotel, gamely guided our temple treks, alternately bearing cold facts and chilled drinks. Amidst the rough heat and steep climbs, he managed to make our journeys extra remarkable. Our days spent at The Purple Mangosteen genuinely exceeded all expectations. We arrived in the night, secretly hoping for a lot. We left in the end, overflowing with so much more.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cvbnm56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

I slept two nights at the Purple Mangosteen and I had a very good time in the hotel. The hotel is small, cosy and in a great location, within the triangle of bars and restaurants of Siem Reap where most of tourists hangout.
I stayed in a double room by myself for 35$ per night. The room was very nice and clean, and even the bathroom was really good with a clean shower. The room had tv, wifi, air conditioning and a small fridge for drinks.
The staff is the plus of the hotel. Polly the owner was extremely friendly and gave me good suggestions. One more plus, she speaks fluent Italian :)
Only drawback, depending on the night the streets around could be loud.
If you go there, have a beer at the bar opposite to the Purple Mangosteen, Picasso. Run by an Australian couple, it is a nice place for a beer and a random talk with some locals too.
I would definitely recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carlo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#72 of 373 in Siem Reap
449 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#133 of 373 in Siem Reap
564 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Medamrei
Villa Medamrei
#123 of 373 in Siem Reap
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ta Prohm Hotel
Ta Prohm Hotel
#177 of 373 in Siem Reap
255 reviews
0.1 mi away
Central Suite Residence
Central Suite Residence
#15 of 373 in Siem Reap
911 reviews
0.1 mi away
Khmer Mansion Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Prestige D'Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Prestige D'Angkor

Address: The Alley West | Near Old Market, Siem Reap, Cambodia (Formerly The Purple Mangosteen)
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 515 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range: $32 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Prestige D'Angkor 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central Prestige D'Angkor (Formerly The Purple Mangosteen) is a small boutique Hotel with 6 stylish rooms in the heart of the historic centre of Siem Reap. It is located in the fashionable lane tucked behind the Old Market which still has some of the last original shop houses that are now art cafés, restaurants, boutiques and galleries. Only a few steps away from the vibrant night life of the Old Quarter this Hotel is quiet with elegant fully air-conditioned rooms. Each room has an en-suite bathroom with a rain shower and a full range of locally produced cosmetics for the guests to sample. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Central Prestige D'Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing