We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well managed, friendly little hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Central Prestige D'Angkor
Ranked #46 of 493 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Buderim, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well managed, friendly little hotel in a great location”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The Purple Mangosteen was first recommended to us by friends of friends in Australia. My daughter and partner visited in January and came home with rave reviews so when we arrived on 1st March we were not disappointed. Phally and her staff are fantastic. All very happy and eager to make sure you are comfortable. Rooms (clean with comfy bed and lovely bathroom), service and food are all first class. The hotel is situated right in the middle of town close to the markets and restaurants. We were so pleased we weren't stuck on the outskirts of town in one of the big resorts. Phally organised for our lovely tuk tuk driver, Sarou to take us to the Temples and Tonle Sap. He was very helpful and was able to fill us in on day to day life, Cambodian and Temple history and even organised a table for us to see the Apsara dancers. Overall, our stay at The Purple Mangosteen was one of the highlights of our Cambodia/Vietnam holiday and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 60dragonfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purplemangosteen, Owner at Central Prestige D'Angkor, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review it was very nice to read it. Remember that you are your family are always especially welcome here and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    48
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
19
99
30
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2013

There are lots of places to stay in Siem Reap, but I'm so glad we found this place. I can't recommend it enough. The rooms are lovely, the beds comfy, the rain shower very powerful and hot, the air con great and the whole place is clean. The rooftop bar and restaurant has lovely views over the city and the food is really yummy. What really makes this place though is the owner Polly and her staff who are just amazing. Polly could not do more to help, she is really knowledgable and helped us sort Visas, laundry, bus tickets all at amazing prices. Polly also introduced us to our Tuk Tuk driver / tour guide for the temples. We spent three days with Mr Buntha who was also amazing. He speaks both English and German well, is really passionate about the temples and anybody who after 12 hours of temple viewing with us can still smile and take such care of us is worth every cent. When you get to the Purple Mangosteen a welcoming smile will be waiting for you, see Polly ask for Buntha and you will be all sorted.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purplemangosteen, Owner at Central Prestige D'Angkor, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
So nice to hear from you and to read your kind comments, it was nice having you to stay here and we wish you have a lovely continued trip to Europe (and hope you enjoyed Le Royal in Phnom Penh).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

On arrival at the hotel I was informed that I had been upgraded to a family suite free of charge! The room was immaculate and the hotel was less than 30 seconds walk from pub street and the heart of the action; despite this fact it was lovely and peaceful at night as well as throughout the day. The only disappointment was the breakfast: the sausages were horrible and it was expensive. Overall, for the price it was great value for money, the staff spoke very good english and the lady owner was very friendly indeed. Keep up the good work (swap the sausages for more bacon) :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricardo905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purplemangosteen, Owner at Central Prestige D'Angkor, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thanks very much for your review the comments are always so useful for us. We usually order our sausages from our Italian supplier and they are home made but unfortunately they were not available during your stay and clearly the other ones were not as good. We will ensure that we keep the standard as high as possible in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendoza, Argentina
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant has kind of a modern, trendy feel, and an intimate (maybe 4 tables?) but cool rooftop terrace where you can eat dinner overlooking the city. I was really surprised more people weren't eating here, because the food was pretty good, the service better than most (of course, this is Cambodia afterall so don't expect American-style restaurant service). Prices were on par with the other restaurants in the area. Would go again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank 1ERomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purplemangosteen, Owner at Central Prestige D'Angkor, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Ssssshhhhh dont tell everyone or it will be packed out. Thanks so much for the review and come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Terrific place and awesome staff. Helped us in getting to the place from the border itself and arranged a good stay for us. Kudos to Phally for making us happy during our stay!!! The place itself is nice and cosy. Newly done and plenty of lighting using skylights. Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmanair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

There's not much I can add to the other reviews here, this is a great little hotel, clean, comfortable, friendly, and great value. Phally and staff are so very helpful, great food, great location in West Alley. Yes a little noisy at times but not so bad it was a problem. Phally arranged our tuk tuk driver come guide for the three day stay and I would recommend asking for him, Sarou, lovely young man, quiet, polite, friendly and a mine of temple and history info. All in all I loved the hotel and would definitely stay there again, and recommend it.

Room Tip: The spiral staircase could be a problem for some people
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purplemangosteen, Owner at Central Prestige D'Angkor, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thanks very much for this nice review. It was a pleasure having you to stay with us and we hope you can come back one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Stayed 22nd to 24th Feb 2013 for weekend. Three ladies travelling on our own. Could not fault the staff or hotel one bit. What you saw in the photos you got. Food and accomodation excellent. Staff could not do enough, very friendly and polite. Would stay there again if ever in Cambodia again. Hotel also arranged tuk tuk driver called Saru who was very cheap and knowledgeable about the area. He took us to a silk farm and the Temple sites and was our guide for the two days there. Definately would recommend this hotel. Ten out of ten. CY, Wigan, England

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purplemangosteen, Owner at Central Prestige D'Angkor, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
It was a pleasure having you all to stay and we are happy you were happy with Sarou as well, we always try to ensure that our guests get reliable tuk tuk drivers and guides because it makes such a difference to the visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#115 of 356 in Siem Reap
541 reviews
0.2 mi away
1920 Hotel
1920 Hotel
#104 of 356 in Siem Reap
66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Reaksmey Chanreas Hotel
Reaksmey Chanreas Hotel
#188 of 356 in Siem Reap
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
OneStop Hostel Siem Reap
OneStop Hostel Siem Reap
#14 of 278 in Siem Reap
215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oasis Capsules
Oasis Capsules
#11 of 278 in Siem Reap
216 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tareach Angkor Villa
Tareach Angkor Villa
#29 of 278 in Siem Reap
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Central Prestige D'Angkor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Central Prestige D'Angkor

Property: Central Prestige D'Angkor
Address: The Alley West | Near Old Market, Siem Reap, Cambodia (Formerly The Purple Mangosteen)
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 493 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Central Prestige D'Angkor 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central Prestige D'Angkor (Formerly The Purple Mangosteen) is a small boutique Hotel with 6 stylish rooms in the heart of the historic centre of Siem Reap. It is located in the fashionable lane tucked behind the Old Market which still has some of the last original shop houses that are now art cafés, restaurants, boutiques and galleries. Only a few steps away from the vibrant night life of the Old Quarter this Hotel is quiet with elegant fully air-conditioned rooms. Each room has an en-suite bathroom with a rain shower and a full range of locally produced cosmetics for the guests to sample. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Central Prestige D'Angkor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing