We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Slightly overrated - but very good value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gloria Angkor Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Gloria Angkor Hotel
Ranked #123 of 339 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Slightly overrated - but very good value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 5 nights with my wife while we visited Siem Reap. All in all it was very good value for money but I don't think it was up to the amazing reviews on tripadvisor that i'd read earlier. We were not collected at the airport as we thought was going to happen (they hadn't received my confirmation via the website contact form). The room was very good, very clean and the staff really friendly and helpful. The hotel is (as mentioned by others) about 10 minutes from town but tuk-tuks are plenty outside and I actually found the daily trips to and from town a good chance to see some of the local area, for better and for worse, rather than just the tourist spots. The main bad thing i found was that the breakfast was basic - I certainly wasn't expecting an A to Z of food like some hotels but it would have been nice to have some cereals. If you're an experienced traveller this hotel will be a very good choice but if you're someone who likes to complain then you might find a couple of things not quite up to scratch. I would stay here again but bring some supplies for your room if you're fussy!

Room Tip: No lift so choose a low floor if you don't like taking the stairs. I think there were 4 floors i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holl237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    351
    171
    36
    9
    16
See reviews for
82
225
77
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

We will come back again someday.... Feel like 5 stars service just with 2 stars price...
Nice and amazing services here... with free breakfast, massage, free tuk tuk, free coffee tea and
free BANANA here!!!


Another 2 nights in here! Yeah... Go Go Go

From lovely Hiromi & Pang.. ("v")

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shwulian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Excellent value for money. Very nice service / to my taste, a bit far from the city centre and up to 8 km from the temples. But local transportation is cheap (1.00-1.25 usd per trip). Breakfast was great ( in light of a 20 usd rate) / teir food is yummy

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Alex P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Gloria Angkor for 2 nights only. One of the highlights of our stay was the excellent service provided by the Tuk Tuk Driver Mr Tra organized through the hotel. Mr Tra took us for a sunrise to sunset tour to see numerous temples in the Angkor. We had no difficulty communicating with him and he is so friendly! He offered us many bottles of cold water and towels.

In terms of the room, it's clean and spacious with a very comfortable bed! We are very satisfied considering the cheap rate. It would be a perfect room if our bed was made (they forgot it as they were very busy) and if the bathroom could be better maintained (leakage problem on the wall)! It may be just our room though (it's on the ground floor nextdoor to the restaurant).
The Khmer massage was very nice too! A must try!

Overall it's a very pleasant stay, all staff are friendly and they are always smiling! We even got a little scarf as a souvenir at the end of our stay!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reginawong2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I've traveled fairly extensively, and this may be my favorite hotel I've ever stayed in. We had four people, staying in two rooms, which worked out to be about $12 per person, per night. The rooms were very clean, and the general quality of them - in terms of how nice the beds and bathrooms were, how well the air conditioner worked, etc. - was much better than similarly priced hotels I've stayed in on the rest of the trip to Cambodia and Vietnam. The staff is unbelievably friendly, and very helpful - Sophie, who works in the restaurant, is particularly funny and personable. They also have a lot of pretty nice services, including free breakfasts, free coffee and tea all day, free tuk-tuks to the city center in the evening, and lots and lots of free water - a nice touch when you're outside in 100 degree heat all day. I would highly recommend this place. The value for the money is fantastic.

Room Tip: No elevator, so maybe try to avoid the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank svb444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakar, Bhutan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

i really liked this place
the staff treated us really well
can rent a tuktuk and english-speaking guide
rooms were clean and cheap

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahaha83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

I made six night reservation at this hotelbefore i arrived. I arrived one day late because my flight in china.missed its connections. I arrive at 11p.m . the front desk told me that my room was given to another person , and they had no rooms. I told him i had travelled over 20 hours, and prepaid in advance, but he kept telling me he had no rooms available. i told him to call the manager , he said he is sleeping and cannot be bothered. i was shocked by total disregard and not willing to help me. At that point i raised my voice and said i am going no where, and suddenly he said he has the do a extra room. complete unprofessional and idiotic. pay more and stay somwhere else. the breakfast was good. the front office desk people are lazy, and donnot want to be bothered

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 848davidr848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.9 mi away
Angkor Pearl Hotel
Angkor Pearl Hotel
#80 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,415 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sidewalk Never Die Hotel Siem Reap
2.0 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#77 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Villa Um Theara
Villa Um Theara
#154 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
1.2 mi away
Kiri Boutique Hotel
Kiri Boutique Hotel
#124 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
3.1 mi away
Angkor Spirit Palace
Angkor Spirit Palace
#162 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gloria Angkor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gloria Angkor Hotel

Property: Gloria Angkor Hotel
Address: National Road No 6, Choung Kaosou Village, Siem Reap 855KHM, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 339 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gloria Angkor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New Accommodation for tourists who are looking for a home away from home and it is located near the wonderful Angkor Wat Temple. GLORIA ANGKOR HOTEL is built in natural surroundings and combines traditional Khmer hospitality with modern facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Gloria Angkor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing