We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little Gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Angkor Sayana Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Angkor Sayana Hotel & Spa
Ranked #82 of 338 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

This little Gem of a property is not well known by the local tuk-tuk drivers, so getting instructions written down might be a good idea (although I managed tolerably well with the small map written on the room key holder).
I much preferred being in this central location where I could walk to interesting sights than being in one of the mega resorts along the airport road.
The hotel is tastefully decorated in local woods which gave it a pleasant Cambodian ambience.
The owner Darryl regularly chats with the guests and is keen to know what's right and wrong, so I expect continual improvement on an already strong base.
The front of house staff (bar and dining service members also) are nothing less than spectacular. I must particularly commend Po Napha as being one of the most engaging and efficient FOH agents I have seen in quite some time. Nothing was too much trouble and she learnt guests names and greeted them personally when they entered the property. She was also responsive and timely in managing the many email contacts we had prior to my arrival.
Please don't take any of the criticisms in this review as detracting from the property. This is Cambodia, and as such you can't expect the same service as in Las Vegas. I was surprised (but not greatly so) by the fact that Amex is universally *not* accepted in Cambodia. Bring another card or be disappointed. I couldn't even use it in the Airport duty free.
Since this is a smaller property, they don't appear to have a backup generator or regulator for the electricity supply, so I would recommend bringing your own powerstrip for powering/recharging devices.
The shower was also a bit complex to figure out, but by the last day I had got it. It seems you need to wait quite a while (5 mins) for the hot to reach full pressure and then you need to adjust the temperature.
The local guide I had for the trips arranged was not the best available. Others are more committed to enhancing the Cambodian experience of their guests. Having visited many sites at a variety of locations I would probably recommend that you just get several good guide books and arrange a local driver or for visits within the Angkor Complex just engage a Tuk-Tuk driver, rather than engage a guide. The tuk-tuk driver won't guide you, but he'll stick like glue to you for a whole day and wait at the appointed spots. He'll usually also be there the next morning waiting for you if you want :)
Heart-breakingly the young children frequenting some of them temples have learnt so much from listening to the guides that they can mimic them to a high degree. Please don't be tempted to reward them as they should be in school rather than being the very effective tourist $1 begging machines that they are. Give your heart to the rest of the country rather than the industrialised tourist milking. There are many legitimate charities that you can donate to on your return home (but please do).
Back to the hotel. The pool is pretty much an afterthought. Next to the bar and hedged in from the street. I didn't use it. If you want pool days, this is probably not the place to come.
The bar and restaurant are acceptable, but there are many better options within easy walking distance.
Overall, I thought this was an excellent property for the money (booked through Expedia) and unless you are looking at spending megabucks for some of the very exclusive (and pretty amazing, often with less than 10 rooms) boutique hotels in Siem Reap, I think this is a good choice. I'd certainly rate it over a 5 star megaresort hotel unless you intend to go everywhere by tour guided coach.

Room Tip: I didn't use the spa, so can't comment. No fitness centre I was aware of.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PokerMagnate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    135
    23
    2
    2
See reviews for
71
141
42
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Tromso, Norway
Level Contributor
260 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Rather large rooms, could be better decorated and with more chair. Firm beds but if ask for it, they will provide an extra mattress. Ordinary breakfast and with a very small swimming pool, it is an ordinary hotell. Acceptable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PerBaad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

This was the first time we were visiting Siem Reap and hence did some research prior to booking Angkor Sayana Hotel & Spa and were completely satisfied in our choice and can understand why the hotel had received the Tripadvisor award. Top of the list has to be the friendly staff, they were always there welcoming and greeting us from the time we landed to the time we were dropped off to the airport. They took care of all our requests with the highest priority, helped to make sure we got to fully explore all of the beauty that Siem Reap has to offer and just made the whole vacation for the family a very memorable one. The location is fantastic, its in easy walking distance to the various markets and restaurants in Siem Reap making it so much easier to explore the city. The rooms were clean, had a lot of wood in them to give you the feel of the local culture and also make you feel at home at the same time. We booked two connecting rooms and were on the 2nd floor facing the river and to our surprise the rooms very quiet hence we got to relax and get a good night’s sleep after our various trips to the temples. We utilised the hotel to arrange our tours and that gave us the option to be more free and easy without having to worry about where the driver was. Overall it was a great choice and would definitely stay at Angkor Sayana again and would fully recommend it to anyone who is planning to go to Siem Reap.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobby K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

Staying at Angkor Sayana was an excellent experience. We booked 2 connecting rooms, 1 with 2 single beds and the other with 1 double/queen sized bed. Don't get fooled by the 'river' view rooms. The hotel is located very close to a river but all around it there are roads. If you want the river view for the view, there is not much of one. Even though the hotel is located on the main road, at night there is not much noise and so the sleep quality is good. This hotel is in a GREAT location. Only a quick walk to the Old Market, Night Market, Art Center Market and only 15 minutes to Angkor Wat by Tuktuk. For sightseeing we did 3 days of tours booked by the hotel. 2 out of the 3 days we had the hotel car. This hotel really is a magnificent place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for Napha to help you as she is vary helpful, kind and efficient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kanjigirl2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

The hotel is built at a very good location, close to the Old Market and Night Market, to Pub Street and is not too far from Angkor Wat. Breakfast is good and rooms are quite big. They organized tours very efficiently. The staff were very friendly and had pretty good english. Great value for money.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aakaashk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

An excellent experience overall. We found this hotel the day we arrived in Siem Reap, as the hotel we had booked ended up being terrible. They accomodated our walk-in request for 2 rooms, arranged to pick our bags from our first hotel, arranged tours, bookings etc fast and efficiently. Very helpful staff, especially as they discreetly accomodated my special request for flowers and cake for a birthday we were celebrating while staying there. Rooms where excellent, comfortable, clean, and good value.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexander g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Angkor sayana hotel is a nice little hotel close to old market, which is like the centre of Siem Reap. The lobby decoration is a bit dark but breakfast is good and room is big. It's great value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Devi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
Hollywood Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Lynnaya Urban River Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Privilege Boutique
The Privilege Boutique
#75 of 338 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Karavansara Retreat & Residences
0.1 mi away
La Riviere d'Angkor Resort
La Riviere d'Angkor Resort
#105 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Apsara Residence Hotel
Apsara Residence Hotel
#73 of 338 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angkor Sayana Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angkor Sayana Hotel & Spa

Property: Angkor Sayana Hotel & Spa
Address: Corner River Road & Samdech Tep Vong Street | Wat Bo Village, Sala Kamroeuk Commune, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #82 of 338 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Angkor Sayana Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the picturesque easy flowing river and historical old French quarter of Siem Reap, Angkor Sayana Hotel & Spa is the latest addition to the Cambodian boutique accommodation sector. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Angkor Sayana Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing