We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An outstanding guide”

Cambodia Angkor Jungle Private Tour
Ranked #118 of 231 Outdoor Activities in Siem Reap
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cambodia Angkor Jungle Tour, based in Siem Reap Angkor Zone site. It is amazing time to visit Cambodia_Kingdom of Wonders. You are not a lone to visit the ruined without me-expert guide,adventure the daily life of Khmer people & amazing excursion floating village of Lake. I thank you for team working, that listed my tour as an attraction site of Jungle temple in Siem Reap.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
“An outstanding guide”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Sao You Eng’s most impressive skill is his sense of time – despite having to guide us through the whole of the Ankor temple complex we never had the feeling that detail was being skipped or that we were being rushed from one site to the next: an outstanding and thoroughly recommended guide.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dream becomes reality!”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

It was a dream of mine for many, many years to visit Angkor Wat. Thanks to You as a guide, the visit far exceeded all of my expectations. His knowledge of Cambodia, Siem Reap and Angkor Wat, Angkor Thom and the entire history of the Khmer Empire made it most enriching.
I left there with a newfound respect for the people of the area- past and present.
This experience was far greater than just checking another Wonder of the World off my 'bucket list'. It left me wondering when I would be going back!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Irene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
1 review
“Top siem Reap guide!”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had a first-rate tour with You Eng. He knows the Siem Reap/Angkor sites like the back of his hand but also goes way beyond to remote places where there are few tourists and things are more authentic. You Eng is not just a prefect professional but he brings a great deal of human kindness and a great sense of humour to his work. He is 100% genuine; you won't have to worry about being rushed around or pushed into shops or restaurants. He obviously always has the happiness of his charges in mind. I cannot recommend him highly enough!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jess L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calabasas, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent, compassionate, honest, knowledgeable, experienced tour guide!”
Reviewed March 23, 2012

We were visiting Siem Reap, Cambodia, and the Temples of Angkor Wat as part of a three night post-cruise excursion coordinated by Regent Cruises; our cruise, "Australian Wonders," on the Seven Seas Voyager took us from Sydney to Singapore in February and March 2012.

When we debarked in Singapore, we took a Silk Air flight to Siem Reap, Cambodia, for our 4-day / 3-night post-cruise excursion to experience Angkor Wat. Mr. Sao "You" Eng was our tour guide for four days, and our entire group was fortunate and delighted to have him as our guide.

Mr. You is registered with the Cambodian Ministry of Tourism and is a highly qualified guide. He is Cambodian, a resident of Siem Reap, speaks English, has studied the history of the temples and the country, and is an incredible resource for any visitor. He has a touching personal story to tell about his childhood and education during turbulent times in Cambodia.

We did not do a "jungle tour" with Mr. You. He took us through Angkor Wat and many other temples in the area. One of the most fascinating journeys was a boat trip on Tonie Sap to visit floating villages. We also enjoyed a visit to the inspiring Artisans D'Angkor where Cambodian people from the countryside create magnificent items for sale - not cheap tourist trinkets.

Touring Angkor Wat and the others temples is certainly not easy - it's NOT appropriate for children or anyone with mobility concerns. It is hot and humid and crowded. Fortunately, Mr. You is quite an experienced tour guide and knew how to navigate the entrances, steep steps (thousands!), and crowds allowing us to visit the temples with the least amount of discomfort. Surprisingly, there are semi-decent restroom facilities and cold drinks and snacks available, but one needs an experienced guide to lead the way.

Please note - Angkor Wat and Siem Reap are NOT the Polynesian Cultural Center in Hawaii or anything like an American tourist hot-spot. You are not visiting Epcot or Disneyland or Universal Studios. This is real! You must have a positive attitude and a willingness to put yourself into a somewhat uncomfortable situation in order to experience these 9th to 12th century wonders. You are there to appreciate a startling achievement of mankind NOT to complain endlessly. (Not trying to offend anyone - but this is the reality of visiting Cambodia.)

Our visit to Angkor Wat, other nearby temples, and Siem Reap came ALIVE because we were fortunate to have Sao "You" Eng as our professional English-speaking guide. If you are able to contract his services, you will be delighted with your visit. Contact me for further information.

I will post some pictures as soon as I figure out how to make my large files into acceptable sizes.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank RickyStarbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
160 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Top Guide - Warmly recommended!”
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We cannot speak too highly of You (that is the guide's name!). We were part of a Voyages Jules Verne Tour, and from the time You met us at the airport until the time he saw us off he looked after us brilliantly.
This included sorting out problems with hotel bookings and all the usual incidental things, as well as You's skills as a Tour Guide. He was charming, courteous, and spoke very good English. He was also knowledgeable and informative throughout the tours. He also kept to the tour schedule, and yet was flexible enough to let the group linger or press on, whichever seemed most appropriate. You spoke authoritatively, and at times movingly, about his country and its heritage.
If you are going to be in Siem Riep and are looking for a sympathetic guide to show you Angkor Wat and the surrounding area - look no further!!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank Barmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cambodia Angkor Jungle Private Tour also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Cambodia Angkor Jungle Private Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing