We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Haven - MOVED

Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $13
Cuisines: Swiss, European, Asian, Cambodian, International, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: An oasis for our guests and a safe place for our «family», the trainees and staff. Located in the heart of Siem Reap, but away from the hustle and bustle of Pub Street, we offer you a beautiful haven to relax and indulge. While enjoying a dish from our special selection of flavourful Asian and Western food – including some Swiss specialties and many fresh vegetarian tidbits – you are supporting our training programme and are thereby helping disadvantaged young adults to achieve a secure and independent future.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
53 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Yum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

We had a reservation but were lucky that they were quiet when we arrived around 40mins early as I had read that they got very busy, the staff were great, I loved their t-shirts with Family on and *big sister* *little brother* etc, its a nice idea. Food was delicious, surroundings were pleasant with fans for the hot day, definitely recommend and what I fantastic business Sara and Paul, good luck to you all!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank katieannsenior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

2,964 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,357
    478
    103
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good cause... harder to get into than ARIA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2014

Food was nice but it's not about the food.

The staff are all trainees learning hospitality and cooking skills and do a very job. All were every pleasant and proactive.

We were there in the low season but was still very difficult to get a booking. Eventually we did but had to book a few days ahead. While in the restaurant I noticed the staff turn away 30-40 walk-ups. I think they could do a lot more business but think it is very good that they do not overwhelm the trainees and maintain the quality of the food and service. Definitely book ahead!!

Congratulations to the Swiss crew who run this program. You're doing a tremendous job!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank findagoodcoffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Haven, where helping tastes good. Indeed!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

We checked out the no. 1 restaurant listed on Tripadvsior during our visit to Siem Reap in May 2014 and were convinced of its undisputed ranking. The food, service and ambience of the restaurant were excellent. But, I believe the thing that differentiate them from others is that they put much value in supporting local social enterprises and NGOs that are committed to the health and safe development of Cambodia. Great social purpose there and I hope more of such restaurants would follow in their footsteps.

This place is really popular thus it is necessary that you call to make reservation in advance to avoid disappointment. We tried doing a walk in on one of those nights, but the restaurant was fully occupied. Thankfully, we still have a couple of nights here so we made a reservation for two days later.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank expertnoobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

We tried to have dinner here but they were booked out for the two nights we were in Siem Reap. We got to go for lunch however, and so glad that we did! The service is excellent and the food was one of the best we had in Siem Reap that we went back for lunch the following day!
Staff are very friendly and great atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sheetal_bee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Haven is a feel good success!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2014

Was there for dinner July 2014 and had a memorable evening. The restaurant is beautiful. The cause is sincere. The servers were very sweet. I had to change the reservation twice due to temple vs. rain pushing our time back. We ended up having a late dinner and things were slowing down already by 9pm.
We had a mix of dishes from the wide array of western and Khmer choices. The Pomelo salad was tasty and simple. The star of the night was definitely the Fish Rice Soup. Simply amazing. The Eggplant and Beet salad was a terrible miss though. Oil dripping out of the eggplant, not properly soaked up by the bland dry "ciabatta". The wine was affordable and the owner gracious not to rush us even when we clearly were the last lingering table.
I would love to go again.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank candadianbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haven also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing