We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious lunch - excellent project”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Haven - MOVED

Haven
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $13
Cuisines: Swiss, European, Asian, Cambodian, International, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: An oasis for our guests and a safe place for our «family», the trainees and staff. Located in the heart of Siem Reap, but away from the hustle and bustle of Pub Street, we offer you a beautiful haven to relax and indulge. While enjoying a dish from our special selection of flavourful Asian and Western food – including some Swiss specialties and many fresh vegetarian tidbits – you are supporting our training programme and are thereby helping disadvantaged young adults to achieve a secure and independent future.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch - excellent project”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

I strongly recommend this restaurant. We had had a fantastic meal - mango salad and satay to start followed by khenyr amok fish and finally banana in coconut milk all washed down with white wine. We learned about the aims of the project - look at the website for more info. If in Siem Reap this should be a must.

Helpful?
Thank mag1calspider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HavenCambodia, Owner at Haven, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
We're delighted you enjoyed your lunch at HAVEN and it was truly a pleasure treating you here! Thank you for your feedback and your support of our training programme. We hope we can treat you again one day! Happy travels and all the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

2,964 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,357
    478
    103
    11
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious Food, Great Service, and Authentic Project”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

I just enjoyed a great dinner at Haven. The food was great, service was flawless and the owners run a great community support project training orphans to as cooks and servers.
We are vegetarians and appreciated the veggie meals labeled in the menu. The tempura was especially good. We will probably be back again before we leave town.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikaelcastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HavenCambodia, Owner at Haven, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Thank you very much for your lovely feedback and comments. We're very happy you enjoyed the whole HAVEN experience and also that you appreciate our efforts to offer vegetarians a wide range on yummy dishes. Hope we'll see you again before you leave. Best wishes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Cambodian Favourite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We turned up at Haven early in the evening without a booking and only realised later how lucky we were to get a table. The restaurant acts as a means to train adult orphans in hospitality and give them an opportunity for a better life, but combines the employment opportunity with helping them in other aspects of their lives as well. All of this explained more eloquently in more detail in the menu.

Whilst what Haven does as part of an NGO is brilliant, it is exceptional as a restaurant in its own right and has a lovely relaxed atmosphere. We ordered mixed satay to start followed by chicken amok and fried noodles. All of the dishes were prepared to perfection and the service was wonderful as well, attentive but unintrusive. The flavoured rice wines were delicious and absolutely must be tried.

After a week of eating out in Cambodia, Haven was the best experience we had by far in spite of some tough competition. Make sure you try it but don't forget to book.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HavenCambodia, Owner at Haven, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Your review just made our day!!! Thank you so much for every single word and comment. We feel very honored to be your «Cambodian Favourite» and are oh so proud that we could offer you such a special dining experience! Thank you for your support. Thank you for recommending us. Thank you for being such a wonderful guest! Wishing you all the very best from the whole HAVEN Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
182 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Very nice staff and exellent food - nice setting and better book in advance! Try the home made burger! If time allowes, have a chat with the staff and get informed about their project

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Netti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HavenCambodia, Owner at Haven, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Yay! Thank you so much for your great feedback and for recommending us! I hope we can welcome you back soon and treat you to another HAVEN Cheese Burger or any of our other yummy dishes! Best wishes!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great service and setting, okay food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

The restaurant is clean and welcoming and the staff very professional and attentive. However, my husband and I were luke warm for the drinks and food. We each ordered shakes - pineapple and Mango which were clearly made from fresh fruit...that was not very ripe or sweet. The squid calamari as an appetizer was okay, slightly chewy and bland. My husband also had the Tom yum soup which was okay. Nothing special but probably the best thing we ordered. I ordered the fried noodles with pork which tasted like instant noodles soaked in soy sauce. We were very disappointed with the taste of the food. However, I am giving this restaurant four stars because I think the idea and concept is wonderful, and the staff very welcoming and friendly. Perhaps we jst ordered the wrong dishes?

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DrBonster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HavenCambodia, Owner at Haven, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
First and foremost I want to thank you for nice comments on our service and setting - and also for giving our cause a good rating. That you didn't enjoy your meal does upset me though, as this is just as important to us, as the cause. I'm sorry for that. Best wishes and happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haven also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing