We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cheap, great staff, lovely food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cambodian Traditional Chef

Cambodian Traditional Chef
Ranked #55 of 847 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $5
Cuisines: Asian, Cambodian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Authentic Khmer food served at affordable prices with happy hour all day. Traditional Khmer cooking classes available daily.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Cheap, great staff, lovely food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We have been in Siem Reap for 4 weeks and eat here at least every second day, sometimes twice a day its so cheap ($2.00 - $3.50 for each main). We have almost been through the whole menu, everything is delicious! Cocktails are $1 each all day the mojitos are our favourite! Highly recommend this restaurant, you will not be disappointed!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MPY007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    232
    115
    29
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great food, great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We ate twice at this restaurant during our stay in Siem Reap. The food is very good quality and great value for money, also portion size is very good. They give you fried banana chips while you're waiting for your meal, and a plate of fresh fruit after. They also have a number of special deals on drinks and cocktails. We tried the khmer curry, minced pork with eggplant, beef lok lak and fish amok and all were good. Also they do not use MSG in their cooking which is a bonus.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nigel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Quality Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

The portion is great and the food is nice. A pity that we discover this restaurant late. Though the decoration may look dull, you have to give it a try. Since they also provide cooking class, their food will definately be great!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Autumnday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
107 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice food great price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

This was my number 1 in Siem Reap till I ate at another restaurant on our trip.

The food is gorgeous the service is great and its cheap, would definately recommend to eat here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BeefOfYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
111 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Deep-fried beef steak”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

First of all, we had a vegetarian Khmer curry which was really good!

Next, the salad was a disapointing.

An absolute no-go was the beef steak. They call themselves a BBQ-restaurant, so why the hell would they deep fry a steak?? Besides that it was like 20 minutes past well-done and had the consistency of a shoe sole...

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank aroundtheworldnow89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cambodian Traditional Chef also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Cambodian Traditional Chef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing