We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place in Siam Reap” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Square 24

The Square 24
Ranked #32 of 844 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Asian, Cambodian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Khmer Fine DiningLiberally and fantastically interpreting Khmer new modern dining experience. Where sounds and flavors of Cambodia will inspire your discerning palate. With our Chef's flair and passion plus the freshest ingredients you will discover authentic local recipes. The square 24 is available for lunch dinner and corporate events 7 days a week and can accommodate up to 100 guests. A brilliant bite in style just 5 minutes leisurely walk from the central market and pub street.
Milan
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Lovely place in Siam Reap”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

we had lunch at the Square 24 just after landing in Siam Reap, and that was quite a surprise as the restaurant was very well decorated and the staff kindness far beyond expectations. We enjoyed the food as well as the quiet, elegant though relaxed atmosphere - woud definitely reccommend it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Elisewin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    469
    178
    46
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

We have just returned from dinner at the Square 24. Having read the reviews I had high expectations, but was left feeling pretty disappointed by the end of the meal. The initial impressions were good; the restaurant looks great and has a nice ambiance. The first bad point was that they only served water in 50 cl bottles, which cost $1.50 each. I asked for a big bottle of still water but was told they didn't have any, which isn't really acceptable for any decent restaurant. The menu was fine and what we ordered tasted good, but we were charged extra for rice, which we hadn't been at a similarly priced establishment on a previous night. Puddings were a huge disappointment. I ordered a pineapple dish which looked nice on the menu, but when it arrived it was just small chunks of rather tasteless fruit in a bowl. It couldn't have been presented in a less appetising way, and tasted totally unremarkable, so I left it. My daughter had banana with coconut shavings, which looked equally unremarkable and tasted dull. The manager noticed I had left my pudding, and asked if I wanted anything else, but by this state we just wanted the bill. To their credit, they removed the pineapple dish from the bill, but it still came to $47 for three main courses, one pudding and two drinks, plus expensive water, which I thought was poor value for money, compared with our meal last night, which was superior in every way and cost less.
I would not return in a hurry.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KB2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“What a surprise !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

We has three dinners in Siem Reap and this was the best ! Very attentive staff and excellent authentic Cambodian food.

Great flavours and fresh !

Quite an extensive wine list and not at all expensive - in fact a bottle of excellent Pinot cost $30US and the following night in another restaurant the same wine was $42US ( just about everything in Siem Reap is quoted in US dollars - even the tuk tuk's want dollars !!

Worth a visit !!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PeterR931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tandil, Argentina
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great ambience and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Tucked away in a side street away from the bustle of the crowds, it is a haven in Siem Reap. It is lovely to sit outside in a quiet environment. The service was excellent and so was the food. If you are not on a backpacking budget, I highly recommend going to Square 24 for an evening meal. It is the treat one wishes for after a day at the temples with heat and lots of people.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jlp-arg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havana, Cuba
Level Contributor
182 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“For Siem Reap, this resto has added elegance”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Siem Reap is the set off point for one of the greatest and largest archeological sites in Asia and elsewhere and as you can imagine it attracts all sorts of tourist.. beer swilling, to champagne brunch.. Pub Street is full of very mediocre places and it is always nice to get away from that street or even area.
Square 24 is an elegant restaurant well decorated and designed. Even the khmer dishes are presented so well that it is like discovering them again. The main dishes are about 8 dollars each so that very seldom you would see shabbily dressed or back packing crowd here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aungkhant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Square 24 also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to The Square 24? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing