We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous restaurant”
Review of The Square 24

The Square 24
Ranked #38 of 899 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Cambodian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Khmer Fine Dining Liberally and fantastically interpreting Khmer new modern dining experience. Where sounds and flavors of Cambodia will inspire your discerning palate. With our Chef's flair and passion plus the freshest ingredients you will discover authentic local recipes. The square 24 is available for lunch dinner and corporate events 7 days a week and can accommodate up to 100 guests. A brilliant bite in style just 5 minutes leisurely walk from the central market and pub street.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Fabulous restaurant”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Thanks to trip advisor we found this gem of a restaurant. In tranquil setting a few minutes walk from the bustle of Pub Street this open restaurant with canopy and delightful gardens with water features and illuminated statues has lovely ambience. There is a mouthwatering selection of starters with 5/6 mains Khmer style as we as some European options, desserts are delicate and delicious. The service is excellent and great value for money (including the wines). If you are a foodie you will enjoy a visit to The Square 24.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Linem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    494
    184
    48
    10
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This was from start to finish a very nice dining experience. The ambiance, the service and the food all delivered with high quality.

This restaurant is located a little ourside down town Siem Reap and is a quiet an peaceful spot, so if you are looking for a contrast to the noisy places on Pub Street, this may be a very good option for you.

The menu consists of both Khmer and western dishes. Among other courses they have "The Creative" where you can compose your own stir-fry choosing 3 ingredients from a list and select which type of meat/fish you would like. I chose a fish dish with ginger, green bell peppers and green beans, and the result of that was a really nice dish. The ingredrients were very fresh and apetizing and the chef had chosen seasonings that completed the dish nicely. My husband had the sweet and sour fish which was also very fresh and tasty.

For desert we shared a sticky rice with coconut cream which was an unfamiliar type of desert for us, but it was very tasty.

For drinks we each had white wine by the glass which came at USD 3 each, which, to our experience, is reasonable for wine in Cambodia.

You pay a little more (USD 7,50 for most of the main dishes), but you also get more.

Highly recommended!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank miss_observant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fine dining at a very affordable price”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Excellent service! Very attentive without being intrusive. The menu is varied and on the 3 occasions I have dined here, each choice has been well-presented & delicious.
The setting is pleasant, running water around the dining area, beautiful plants & shrubs and a variety of seating styles.
Away from Pub Street, but still very close to the center of town, with an upscale menu but very good prices, this is a great place to visit with friends, a partner or your family.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Beebo77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

I was here with my girlfriend in July 2012.
It was the best dining experience we had during our 3 week trip around in south east Asia. Very romantic atmosphere, friendly and good service and lovely food!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorrebanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“perfect on a hot day”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

We were early for our lunch, and so the restaurant was almost empty. It did take a little time before we were attended to and then we found the staff and service excellent. However we did not mind as it was an oasis on a hot day, seated next to water in an open area with a a wall of mist. The food was excellent as were the mocktails recommended to us by the waitress.. It was the favorite of all the places we ate in Siem Reap

  • Visited March 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Square 24 also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to The Square 24? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing