We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best place to stay in Siem Reap”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Siem Reap
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Siem Reap Central Hostel
Ranked #199 of 262 Specialty Lodging in Siem Reap
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“best place to stay in Siem Reap”
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We stayed here for 7 nights and were astonished by the hostel's cleanliness, staff friendlyness and prices!! Siem Reap Centre is at walking distance (5 minutes to the Night Market).
It is an excellent hostel - the rooms have hotel standard with very good bathrooms. It costs a little bit more to stay in a private than in a dorm but it's worth the investment! Staff really helpful and bus ticket prices are among the cheapest you can get in town.

We also recommend the breakfast - good value for money.

All in all: one of the best places we stayed in all South East Asia! Thanks to the excellent and super friendly staff and management!

Room Tip: Get a private room - either double (5 Dollar per night) or triple (4 Dollar per night).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    15
    20
    11
    30
See reviews for
4
26
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Siem Reap certainly seems to have an abundance of decent accommodation to suit all traveler types and budgets, but I really feel like we found a wee gem with the Siem Reap Central Hostel (not to be confused with the Siem Reap Hostel which is just up and across the road a bit).

The rooms are pristine clean! Probably the cleanest room I've come across in my 4 months of traveling around Oz, NZ and Asia. The shower in our room had a separate curtain which meant no wet bum if you needed the toilet after someone had taken a shower.

The bed sheets and linen were crisp white and super clean too. There was a fridge and cable TV in our room (and the TV had a good reception which makes a change).

They have free of charge security lockers at reception to store any valuables in, but to be honest we had no problems even when we left stuff in the room. There's also nice communal balconies on each floor with reclining chairs if you want just want to grab some beers and chill out with mates.

Location wise, it's only a few minutes walk to the night market and pub street which was great.

On our day of check out, our bus didn't leave until midnight that night. We were told that we could use the showers in the dorm rooms if we wanted before we left. When these were busy, they opened up an empty room for us to use which was really nice of them.

The staff were super friendly. The tuk-tuk drivers they use for the temple tours were great fun, full of information and eager to make our trip special. They even helped me organise a birthday party for my boyfriend at a local 'locals only' karaoke club - they went out and bought a birthday cake, silly string, party hats etc.

There's a decent restaurant downstairs which is good for snacks and breakfasts.

The only negative I can give is that they didn't automatically clean the rooms each day. You have to ask them but that's standard for Asia (or so I've found).

They have different room options available, even dorms (although these were no way as nice as the rooms).

Room Tip: Rooms on the second and third floors seemed a bit nicer than the ground floor. The dorms didn't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jellyfur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed December 24, 2011

Overall the hostel was great. The price was right, accomodations were clean, and the staff went out of their way to please. (Mattresses were neither too hard nor too soft). Best of all my moto driver from the hostel was honest, fair, and a genuinely nice guy- spoke great English! He alone made m stay here worthwhile. He was not only a knowledgeable guide who kindly took me to several additional sites without charging me, but he provided me with insight into "life as a local". In short, come to this hostel and be sure to ask for Marck!

Room Tip: Dorms sleep 4 people but weren't busy - great for travelers on a budget!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robbie a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman Oaks, Ca
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2011

I stayed here 4 nights with my husband and adult son. This is the first time we stayed at a hostel, we are generally people who stay at 3-4 star hotels. This really changed the way I will travel in the future. This place was clean, safe, and the staff was very helpful. Breakfast (not included) was about $2/person - an omelet, bread and coffee/tea. We used the hotel for laundry ($1/kg) and to arrange travel to Bangkok. They also arranged tuk tuk drivers, some better than others. The hostel is a short walk to town, about 4 blocks. The road is a little dusty, but it was the dry season and everything in Siem Reap was covered in dust. We paid $15/night for 3 people. Wi fi was free. Internet also available in the lobby for a nominal fee.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 209, near the back of the hotel. With the exception of an early morning rooster...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janice s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2011

If you're searching for a cheap stay, this is it!
If you're searching for a nice bed and ambiance, this is it!
If you're looking for cheap food in Siem Reap, this is it!
If you're looking for nice, helpfull people, this is it!

We came from Phnom Penh with the morning bus. As soon as we arrived (4-5 km out of town of course), the tuc-tuc drivers jumped on us. First I wanted to just walk away, but my girlfriend had to use the toilet quickly. So I arranged a driver to take us to a hostel named in our guide book or another cheap stay. He drove us first to the Siem Reap Central hostel. The street isn't that beautiful so we were a bit skeptic about the place. We looked at the room and were amazed with the look of it and that only for 6 USD a night. We jumped out of the tuc-tuc and moved in. (It's 2-3 min walk to old market)

We were pretty hungry too, so we thought why not a lunch here. The prices were really cheap (2-4 USD for mains), so we tried different things. We though we would end up with small portions, but they were all normal to big size. But the most important sooooooooooo delicious. We ate 2 times at another restaurant, but couldn't compete with this lovely place!

We stayed here for 5 nights and wish every place we stay is like this, but so far only this one had it all! (traveling for 2 months now)

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Okay 1 Villa
Okay 1 Villa
#143 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Siem Reap Hostel
The Siem Reap Hostel
#3 of 262 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
0.0 mi away
Central Hostel
Central Hostel
#48 of 262 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Shinta Mani Resort
Shinta Mani Resort
#8 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
0.0 mi away
Angkor Pearl Hotel
Angkor Pearl Hotel
#90 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Siem Reap Central Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Siem Reap Central Hostel

Property: The Siem Reap Central Hostel
Address: Wat Bo, Salakomrouek Commune, Siem Reap 855, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #199 of 262 Specialty Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the popular Old Market area, where "Pub Street" is, The Siem Reap Central Backpackers Hostel is a tropical garden accommodation, offering comfortable rooms for backpackers and independent travelers at budget prices. We have double or single bedded rooms and dormitories with A/C, Fan and Hot water, as well as computers with free internet and WiFi. All possess en-suite bathrooms. The Siem Reap Central is situated just 2 minutes from the centre of town ("Pub Street", The Old Market area), just a short walk away. We have a restaurant open from 6am – 11pm serving a variety of western and local dishes at reasonable prices. Staffs are friendly and helpful, all speaking a good level of English. The Siem Reap Central workers are more than willing to help with the organization of tours and activities. So come and sample the delights of this warm and welcoming hostel in the centre of Siem Reap. You won’t be disappointed. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing