We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“They really know how to go the extra mile”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Angkor Wonder Hotel
Ranked #57 of 262 Specialty Lodging in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“They really know how to go the extra mile”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The second we arrived at the hotel Mr Why Not was there will a couple of ice cold bottles of water and a map of the town, ready to help us plan our stay. He even got up at 5am to set us up with bikes so we could go watch sun rise over the temples. Couldn't recommend this hotel enough.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eliazbeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    35
    11
    5
    5
See reviews for
3
56
36
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Österreich
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Its definitly a perfect spot in seam reap. "Mr. Whynot" the owner and his family is soooo friendly - wooow. You feel like you belong to them! The hammocks outside are perfect for a chilloutbeer in the evening. The rooms are OK. Nothing special but clean. But considered to the price you cant find a better place to be. The atmosphere there is so cool. Oh - and Tep is an wonderful tuktuk driver. We went with him 1 day to angkor wat and one day to a not so touristical floating village.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eulinho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

i started for about 2 weeks and it was a great place, in a pretty good area as well,
staff were always helpful, and easy going always asked if i wanted my room clean which other places didnt do
tuk tuks are a pain in the assss but not at this hotel, they asked i said no and that was that, 1 tuk tuk didn't want any money but we paid him anyways

all around nice family run business, oh i stayed at other places and the water there was dirty dam water they pay money for there government water anyways see you guys again in remembered
maybe we can have a beer or 2 why not ?

Room Tip: make sure its a dark room thats just me
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mick s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Osaka, Japan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

I did a three month trip all around Cambodia and I felt most at home here. Firstly, I walked in off the street and straight away he was friendly and the lady working there asked my name. I got a fan for six dollars, tv, quiet, comfy bed. The family are friendly. Then I went and traveled and came back and he was happy to see me and gave me a twin for no extra cost.

One day I left my moneybelt in the garden, and he bought it straight up to me when he found it (still full of cash)!.

When I checked out, the owner arranged my ticket to Poipet, and promised me that a big bus would come to the hotel and take me all the way there, which I didn't believe. But actually, that's exactly what happened, the full 40+ seat bus came right to the hotel as promised.

So basically, this place is friendly, comfortable, honest, it was definitely the nicest place I stayed at in three months and I have no hesitation in recommending it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lifemagic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I was recommended by my friend, I thought, it was one of the best hostel, but when I came, there were something changed. I confirmed them about my arrival details, But i did not see anybody at my arrival point, this made me so disappointed with what to be served.

Staff and Tuk Tuk driver do not understand about what i was trying to ask for, I had to every time repeat the question. and it was a problem of the tour and communication, I would recommend to get tour guide "But do not ask them to arrange at their hostel, as commission will be taken by the hostel, English tour guide costs at $20/day only not $25/day "

Do not buy tour to floating village, I were cheated, it costs $12-$13 for a whole boat with 2 hours touring around, but one of tuk tuk driver toke me there and I had to buy $20/pax. and they were insisting me to pay tax ($5/pax) as well, I had no idea with their business. The way they treated not as valued guest. I have been pressured and managed at all times when staying there.

The garden was always dirty, nobody cleaned those up and smells from the front door was very bad of dustbin. it was very ugly.

The Internet was of course so slow, rooms were ok not too bad, a bit small, but you can sleep.breakfast was really good. I do like their omelet, that was great.

Overalls, be aware of staying this hostel, next door you can find several of hostels offering cheaper,but of course very fantastic room.

I hope you guy will improve this management, Please try not to manage your valued customers all you want.





.

Room Tip: Back off room was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xing Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

The non-AC room I stayed at was clean, with a TV & fan, and came with breakfast -- in all, a good value for money. The owner, Reod (Mr.Whynot), is kind, friendly & helpful w/ travel advice. (He called my hotel in Phnom Pehn to confirm my booking for me for free.) And like previous reviewers have mentioned, this hotel has a great family atmosphere. I'd stay there again if I revisit Angkor.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiredofbangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
718 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

This place is wonderful. To start with, Mr. Why Not and his family, as well as all of the staff working there, really make everyone feel welcome, with the kids being especially friendly and hilarious in equal measure. Any and all trips to Angkor can be sorted out very reasonably and conveniently with the staff (I recommend our driver Sambat - legend!), and that goes for the lake at Tonle Sap too. The rooms are clean and the location is convenient for Pub Street. Great value; I'll be back soon!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheOExpress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Kingfisher Angkor Hotel
Kingfisher Angkor Hotel
#209 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mingalar Inn
Mingalar Inn
#170 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Medamrei
Villa Medamrei
#106 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#110 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
2.4 mi away
Angkor Miracle Resort & Spa
Angkor Miracle Resort & Spa
#67 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
0.0 mi away
Parent Heritage Angkor Villa
Parent Heritage Angkor Villa
#89 of 485 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Angkor Wonder Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Angkor Wonder Hotel

Property: Angkor Wonder Hotel
Address: #59, Street Phsar Krom | Vihear Chen Village, Svay Dang Kum, Siem Reap 855, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 262 Specialty Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Angkor Wonder Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Angkor Wonder Hostel is in a good location, Near Old Market Area, it is a new hostel decorated with Khmer Art Style. Our staff are friendly and helpful. Pub Street is just a 3 minute walk by Phsar Krom Street. Angkor Wonder Hostel is surrounded by a tropical garden with a depiction of the temple jungle. We have 20 rooms with either Fan or A/C. We offer:* Free Pick Up From Siem Reap Airport, Bus Station or Boat Dock* FREE 24-hr Internet Access (Wifi)* FREE Welcome Drink (On Arrival and check out time)* Room cleaning everyday* FREE Map of Temple & Town* FREE bed linen and towels* FREE book swap* 80 International Satellite TV Channels* Travel and Tour Information* Guest Kitchen Available. Check in at 7:00am as long as you let us know you are arriving early. Check out at 12:00 noon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Angkor Wonder Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing