We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True Gem Amidst An Amazingly Welcoming Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort
Ranked #34 of 304 Specialty Lodging in Siem Reap
Reviewed December 19, 2013

What a beautiful resort this is! Never a dull moment in this colorful, ultra sparkling clean, modern, spacious, friendly, convenient, comfortable, superb, large yet homely, exotic yet not overwhelming, and very affordable amazing resort this is! I travel over 100,000 miles every year, visit many countries, and stay in many hotels. I can genuinely say I feel extremely at home here at the Sokhalay Angkor! It is opulent, yet not overwhelming, big but with many unique "corners" and activities, close to the hub of Siem Reap, yet not in a noisy, crowded section! Just perfect! I look forward to my return next month (and I am bringing about 30 other friends), and I sincerely want to thank Mr. Michael Lim, GM, Mr. Kou, Tony Harb and Yann Samon, for their sincere hospitality. They even helped me track down a Cambodian Traditional Musical Instrument, the Roneat (an oversized wooden decorated xylophone), and packed it for me to take home. "Awkun" which means "thank you", and see you soon!

Room Tip: There is a room for every budget--ask to see the Villas for a retreat feel, or the rooms in the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Teri T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (378)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

201 - 207 of 378 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile


Highly recommended this Resort is elegant, helpful, friendly, and informative staffs. Especially, Front Office Staffs assist you every movement and possibility of your inquiries about the Angkor Archaeological Park for exploring the temples history, and make your stay very comfortable with the super friendly staffs as you are at home with traditional Khmer hospitality. Yet, the Resort is completed facilities and the room is spacious with beautiful decoration reflect to traditional Khmer style in the vivid of tropical garden. It is the only Resort in Cambodia and you can trust in its staffs that are delighted to provide the personalized services.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Rafael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

The resort arranged airport pickup/transfer for as as included in our packaged. I was pleasantly surprised at the nice and modern van that picked us up! Our driver and attendant took very good care in our short 5 min ride to the resort. Very well done.
Upon arrival, you realize the scale of this place and feel as if you are entering another world away from the hustle and bustle outside the hotel. The grounds are beautiful – filled with lush trees and greens, perfect roads and beautiful villa’s everywhere. The place is so large, you have to be ferried around in ‘stretch’ golf carts. Again, this was very well done as we they were always available and we never felt we needed to wait an extended period of time for a ride. The only time this did become a problem was over the weekend and the phones were only providing a busy signal due to the influx of people for the weekend.

The Villa’s were nice and big, modern and clean. Standard mini bar items, nice balcony overlooking the beautiful pool. Zero complaints about the room, absolutely perfect. Beds are comfy, air worked well, pillows were good.

Pool area is better than it looks in the pictures. Large and clean and the water just right. The sun hits it all day long. Only prob is they were constructing a new villa overlooking the pool, so there was noise all day from the hammering and drilling. Even this didn’t bother us much, but the construction workers constantly staring at us as if we were a rare breed of monkeys at the zoo, that part got uncomfortable quickly. That aside, pool bar and everything else was great by the pool.

Food and resto – when we arrived, it seemed although taunted as ‘international food’, there wasn’t much international about it. No pancakes or waffles for the kids, bacon was raw and everything else was more Japanese catering than anything. I mentioned this to one of the managers on the floor and he agreed with my comments and promised he would try to do something. The next day, there was pancakes at the omelets station and bacon tray had both crispy and regular in the tray. This was great for us. Dinner was a different story, everything we had at dinner, from a bacon cheeseburgers to their special lok lak was fantastic. The waiters at the resto made the whole experience extra special with their smiles and superb service.

Few notes. Ground floor room is best. The tuk tuk drivers stationed right outside the hotel are expecting big money. Pick yourself a nice guy, take his number and work with just one guy – remember, these guys are working hard so its OK to tip well and pay a little extra, but not completely get ripped off. Everybody wanted 18US for a round trip to Pub street, we found a nice guy who charged us 8US round trip and we kept giving him 12US for every trip because he was honest, good and reliable. Further to this point, I don’t know why the resort doesn't just have their own fleet of tuk tuks! Not only is this additional revenue for them, but they are providing an additional service which eliminates the need for us to negotiate and wonder if the tuk tuk we are taking is safe. Something to think about.

All and all, this was all a great resort at a fantastic price. We had a wonderful stay and really were happy with the staff and everything the resort had to offer.

Room Tip: Ground floor pool side room will give you access to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYHACKER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2013

My friends and I were here for 5 days and had a ball. The staff were super nice all the time. We had push bikes to ride around the resort. It was always clean and if you needed anything the staff were always willing to help with a smile. Everything was superb.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lori2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

I'm going to put it in very quick and tidy frame..... Here we go.
Positives:
1. Staff and whole atmosphere just an amazing, relaxing with touch of luxury;
2. Restaurant - it's beautify managed place focused on details ! Lovely treat! Fantastic food and set at the colourfully lit swimming pool at night (with live music) and classy breakfast in the morning! Highly recommended for all- Asian or European guests!
3. Accommodation- well sized bungalow with balcony and huge bed size (I've got two double beds joined together and as it was a Cambodian heavy furniture style- It worked perfectly .... 8 of you could sleep amazingly good !), wooden finishing and tropical surroundings were lush!
4. Pool ( great for kids - safe! and glam for adults to enjoy easy day with a drink in your hand ;)
5. It wasn't my case but if you r staying farther up in the village there's a golf type car picking you up from your bungalow to the main reception.... Ah and you can also have free bike to browse around within the resort! Good laugh! :)

Negatives ( that is purely stated on my personal opinion and experience at that time)
1. Bathroom- nice size and daily cleaning service in place but generally need TLC.
E.g. Tiles' seal refilling ( bath was wobbling when getting in and Im a light weight person) windows begging for cleaning also corners/ under sink/ shower screen and mouldy bath-matt need an attention. Yet an amazing water pressure ! Very relaxing and enjoyable baths!
Overall it's a beautiful place, quiet, classy and fantastic stay for a week! I would definitely come back here again and recommend it to my family and friends!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank AGATA007UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunieng, Resident Manager at Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear AGATA007UK,

Greetings from Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort !

Grateful for your valued feedback with very details on it. We sincerely appreciated for your classification on feedback which positive and negative feedback. This is very clear to indicate us where those lack point need to be improved. We valued your both feedback and we mostly on the negative one which need immediate look into it. We appreciated for detail given and we shared to our team for a quick reaction toward the point. Without your valued and honest feedback we will never improve our service and products.

Once again, we look forward to welcoming you back home again soon.

With my best personal regards,

Bun-ieng, KOU
Resident Manager
Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This resort was amazing! The rooms were beautiful, clean and incredibly spacious. We were in Siem Reap for 8 nights but only stayed at this resort for two nights. We wish we had stayed here the entire time because it was so luxurious. The staff are so welcoming and are willing to attend to any need as fast as possible. The pool bar was great and the cocktails were delicious! The food was great too and everything was priced surprisingly low for a resort. The pool side villa balcony was also private. Lastly, the bed was perfect!I Perfectly comfortable. It was amazing. I would recommend this place to anyone!!

Room Tip: The pool side villa was great because of the easy access to the swimming pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank april s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunieng, Resident Manager at Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2013

Dear April S,

Greetings from Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort !

We are very happy to find that your experience only two nights will us fill of joy and memorable experience.

On behalf of the company we would like to extend our sincere appreciation to you and we do look forward to welcome you back home again soon.

You will be finding more relaxation on your next trip and find something valued add as part of our strategic.

Again, we wish you A Very success and happiness.

With my best personal regards,

Bun –ieng, KOU
Resident Manager
Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Our visit started with the standard late night arrival, once we arrived there was no one to meet us and take us to the Hotel even though we made coordinated by phone. The hotel over all was nice, the saltwater pool was very relaxing after hours of temple exploration and the drinks were good.

The issue we had was communicating with the staff and the fact that you pretty much have to take anything of value with you on your day trips because the staff rifled through our bags and safe.

The breakfast was very good and the dining area is beautiful; I would recommend this hotel just be aware your room and safe are not secure.




Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Cwtravels G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunieng, Resident Manager at Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Cwtravels G,

Greetings from Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort !

We valued all comment from our valued guests. If we could find your profile, It’s really good tips for us to review all process during your stay with our internally on how and what happening to you personally.

We would encourage to all our valued guests please approach us anytime during stay if there is any discrepancy during your stay. We always keep our promise that guests concern is our concern.

We regret to hear about this information occurred to you. I would feel the same you if I were you it’s the best if our executive team were informed and the further investigation will be made.

Have a wonderful day.

With my best personal regards,

Bun-ieng, KOU
Resident Manager
Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Sokhalay Angkor Residence and Spa
0.3 mi away
Grand Sokhalay Hotel
Grand Sokhalay Hotel
#308 of 365 in Siem Reap
8 reviews
0.1 mi away
Angkor Miracle Reflection Club
Angkor Miracle Reflection Club
#227 of 365 in Siem Reap
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Angkor Miracle Resort & Spa
Angkor Miracle Resort & Spa
#75 of 365 in Siem Reap
1,082 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sokha Angkor Resort
Sokha Angkor Resort
#76 of 365 in Siem Reap
1,604 reviews
0.0 mi away
Empress Angkor Resort & Spa
Empress Angkor Resort & Spa
#138 of 365 in Siem Reap
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort

Address: National Road No. 6, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 304 Specialty Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range: $64 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort offers an ultimate relaxation and rejuvenation experience. With its key location, guests can conveniently access to the city's must-see destinations. Siem Reap Airport, the Pub Street and the famous UNESCO site Angkor Wat can be reached within short drive. At Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort, all rooms are beautifully furnished and equipped with standard amenities. Experience the resort's spa and fitness center where guests are able to relax and enjoy the landscape of tropical atmosphere. To ensure that guests are having a pleasant time during the stay, the resort also offers recreational facilities such as swimming pool, library, including day trip. Guests can opt for other leisure activities such as jogging. Offering comfortable stay with top-class facilities, Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort is a perfect venue to spend the unforgettable stay in Siem Reap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokhalay Angkor Hotel Siem Reap
Sokhalay Angkor Resort And Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing