We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort
Ranked #41 of 250 Specialty Lodging in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

I must say there are some picky travellers out there, on this site and agoda.

We had been in Siem Reap town for two weeks and finished our holiday here. We had four very pleasant days at this resort. The villa was pool side and very comfortable. The pool was large and refreshing. The buffet breakfast was great and the staff very friendly. During the day there was hardly anyone around, as they all seem to go off and do their sightseeing, great for us as we had the pool pretty much to ourselves. About 3.30 they started coming back, no problem, we were in our $2 dollar tuk tuk and off in town for dinner and a massage. I have read a few reviews about noisy kids , etc. Well, I can say when we were there we very rarely heard a thing, anyway it is a resort, there will always be a few kids splashing about!!

We will stay again.............

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sokhalay, Deputy General Manager at Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Gary,

It is wonderful to know that your two weeks exploration of the magnificent and thank you very much for sharing your feedback on your stay with us. We appreciate your comments and please be assured that we have carried out improvements in the aforementioned areas as part of our maintenance. It is a pleasure to know that you appreciate the colonial ambiance of the hotel and I hope that your overall stay was a wonderful one. We look forward to welcoming you again in the future

Best Regards,

Richard Vinda
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    106
    43
    12
    15
See reviews for
86
115
22
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Villa style hotel - it is quite lovely. ACs aren't very effective for some reason, but the hotel people were quite prompt about fixing it...so we had an acceptable temperature in the end, though not the temperature I normally keep my home or office ACs at. They did offer to change our room, though, but it was already late and we were tired, and the AC had finally started cooling a bit, so we declined.

They have a free shuttle to and from the airport, so you need not worry about that. The breakfast spread was decent enough. They have quaint buggies to take you around the hotel - to your room, to the restaurant, to the reception.

They booked a great tour of the Siem Reap temples for us, too.

We loved it, and we're very likely to go back.

Room Tip: We took a garden villa as we were just there for a day - but if you're staying for long, take a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jaywalking_jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sokhalay, Deputy General Manager at Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Jaywalking,

We regret and sincerely apologize for the inconvenience and the disappointment, and for failing to provide you an experience worthy of the Sokhalay brand. I do appreciate very much that despite the disappointment, you still have wonderful words about our resort including our service treats. I hope that you would give us another opportunity to serve you and redeem the luster of this legendary resort. We look forward to serving you again in the future and please do inform us of your next stay.

Best Regards,

Richard Vinda
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Nice hôtel with a really Nice swimming pool for children and adults. Breakfast is more than correct. Rooms are spacious and cleaned. Service is very kind and compréhensible very good hôtel thanks you and thank you

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephouille77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sokhalay, Deputy General Manager at Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Stephouille,

Thank you very much for your kind compliments about the entirety of Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort. It is a pleasure to know that every detail of our service and our facilities are wonderfully appreciated. I hope that you had a great and memorable Siem Reap holiday.
Our team looks forward to welcoming you again in our Resort.

Best Regards,

Richard Vinda
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beauville, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We had booked a garden villa. The layout of the villa's is great. A small colonial village in it's own, all situated around the outside swimming pool, which has great childrens pools too. The room was HUGE, more than enough room (2 adults & 2 children). The staff were helpfull, friendly and extremely polite, going out of their way to make the stay as perfect as possible. I would recommend this hotel, a great place to return to after hot mornings at the temples.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mantra47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sokhalay, Deputy General Manager at Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Mantra,

Thank you very much for staying at the Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort. It is a pleasure to hear that you’ve had a wonderful experience on your first travel to Siem Reap and I hope that you brought home with you lasting memories in this legendary villa resort and of the magnificent temples of Angkor. We look forward to welcoming you again for your next visit Siem Reap.

Best Regards,

Richard Vinda
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

We are a family of four – 2 adults and 2 teenagers. We stayed in Siem Reap for 8 nights. We have friends who have lived and worked there for 12 months. So the purpose of the trip was twofold – to catch up with friends and sample the delights of Siem Reap.
Room
We stayed at the Sokhalay Angkor Resort & Spa – this is on the main road with many other similar luxury hotels. I chose this resort as I wanted somewhere with indoor and outdoor pools and a villa that would take our family of four. There is a hotel section to this resort but we stayed in a Grand Villa down the back – short walk or buggy ride to the front of the hotel.
Very spacious villa and layout suited us with teenagers. In fact it was too big! Would not be suitable for very young children as second room is upstairs and the stairs would not be suitable for toddlers or the very elderly. It did have a nice big dining table we could eat at. Great kitchen area but only a small bar fridge in each room. No bigger fridge in the Kitchen.
The room was very dark but if you opened the shutters it did let more light in but at times privacy may be an issue. They were building a villa near us which was very noisy. When I complained they said it would only be between 7-4 but this was not always the case. They did offer to move us but that proved difficult as we had tours and could not get organised in time. But after a while we either got use to the noise or it became quieter – so did not bother us as much.
Breakfast
The breakfast was busy but well organised. The food was delicious with a good variety – both Western and Asian tastes catered. The guests appeared to be mainly Korean and seemed to transit through the hotel for only a few nights. We only ate breakfast or had room service pizzas at the resort. The Marguerite pizza was tasty. All other meals we ate out of the Hotel – for no other reason it just happened that way.
Pools
The outdoor pool was hardly used by anyone else but us. We certainly enjoyed having it too ourselves. The indoor pool was also hardly ever used. We took great advantage of this pool as well. Only complaint it was supposed to be heated but you always had to request the heating to be turned on (this included the spa and the bubbles!) and they would have to call the “engineers” and it did take quite a while to heat up. But we still enjoyed the swim. The fitness centre was small but a good variety of equipment.
Spa
The Spa was divine. They had a 20% off special while we were there and we enjoyed massages, wraps and scrubs for around the $20-$30 mark. The surrounds were beautiful. This was probably expensive for Siem Reap but I enjoyed the convenience and flexibility it offered. The staff were very well trained and polite. All staff at the resort were very friendly and helpful.
Tuk tuk
Tuk Tuk one way to pub street was about $5 and $8 return (about 20 mins). There are many drivers in Siem Reap we built a relationship with Kemy who was reliable and an excellent driver. We just walked to the front of the hotel and he would be waiting there. We went directly to the drivers and did not organise anything via the Hotel.
Tipping
Being Australian I always find this a bit awkward but our friends suggested 5%. So we followed that.
Summary
Overall, a very nice luxury hotel. We found it hard to reconcile the luxury within the resort with life outside. I enjoyed the tuk tuk ride into town but my husband would have preferred to maybe stay closer to the main centre of town and in more “khmer type” accommodation.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Brisvegas24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

This resort reminded me of ski chalet style accommodation. It is actually quite difficult to review. The rooms are two story wooden buildings that when you enter you are greeted by a quite large (sparse) dining room/kitchenette. There is also a bathroom and a staircase. These facilities are shared by guests in the downstairs and upstairs rooms. I stayed in the downstairs room which as a hotel room was quite large. It featured a king sized bed, good cupboard space, a modular lounge, writing desk and a very large bathroom with bath and separate shower. I imagine the upstairs rooms to be two bedrooms. If this accommodation was to be shared by a family or friends, it would be great, however there were noise problems on the one night there were other people upstairs on my stay and if they had been using the dining area or kitchen downstairs, it would have been intolerable. The resort itself comprises of a huge lobby area, hotel rooms, spa, restaurant, cafe, indoor pools and then for the outdoor pool buildings you need to be driven in a golf cart to connect the two. It is not a huge distance but draining in the heat. The hotel is situated on the airport road and you need to take a motor- scooter to get into the main streets of Siem Reap. It is also a fair distance from the temples.
Good points:-
Huge pool and pool area.
Great spa facilities but expect to pay hotel prices
Second indoor pool
Lovely staff but not great English. (See Seth if things get confusing)
Good breakfast but very hot, humid conditions
Well maintained
Golf carts on call to transport you to the main lobby ( they are quick and friendly)

Bad points:-
Biggest bad point is that he rooms are dark and by that I mean you cannot see a thing even in the middle of the day if the shutters are closed. The problem is that the shutters are inside the windows but open out wards. This means that you have to choose between insects or light. It also means you are unable to secure your room if the shutters are open. You can open the doors to the balcony but once again it is not very secure. I imagine the upstairs rooms would at least be secure due to their height.
Hotel is a fair way out of town but most of the larger hotels are also on airport road. The motor scooters are very cheap. There are no taxis as such, only motor scooters ( like tuk tuks) or hire cars.
The huge breakfast area is very attractive, surrounded by koi ponds and aesthetically pleasing but there were small birds flying in and pecking at the pastries most mornings. This wasn't an issue until the bird flu warnings were announced. (in fairness I don't think it is spread this way). But the breakfast area is open sided)
A bit of a language barrier but that's part of travelling. If smiles were currency we would all be rich in Siem Reap.

Overall:- I think this would be a great place to stay with family and friends. If you were splitting time between seeing the sights of Siem Reap and relaxing by the pool it would be ideal. Tourism is still young here and I would be surprised if any of the hotels in the area can pull off a true 5 star experience. I had just come from Marina Bay Sands in Singapore, so I may have had too high expectations. Also, a traffic accident had wiped out most of the power in Siem Reap (a large amount of power is imported from Thailand) and it was not fixed for the duration of my stay. The major hotels etc were running on generators so I also must factor that into my review. I hope I have been fair in my opinions.

Room Tip: Choose a room upstairs if you are staying in the wooden buildings and a poolside room is worth the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank enneiviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We booked the pool villa which costed a little more than the garden villa.
The room was very spacious and well appointed. There is even a basic working kitchen with gas hobs! Wi Fi is free and is adequately fast if not exactly broad band. The staff are all very courteous and pleasant. The hotel is a little way from the town centre which is not at all a problem as there are plenty of tuk tuks.

There are a couple of negatives though, firstly I emailed the hotel twice before arrival to request an extra bed, arrange a (free) airport pick up, and some other assistance but received no reply and so was not picked up at the airport. On arrival I asked the hotel to find a driver/taxi and guide for me which they were able to do at short notice. The cost for a full day in the vicinity of Siemreap was USD 70 for driver, car, and a guide. The cost goes up to USD 90 for sites further out (Kban Spean), and a preposterous USD 280 to Prear Vihear. With a bit of planning you can arrange for driver and guide yourself for much less. There are some very good recommendations for driver and guide here in Tripadvisor.

Over all I can recommend this hotel. If you need to contact them better phone them and not rely on email!

Room Tip: Pool side villas are the ones to go for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kwiptix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Sokhalay Angkor Residence and Spa
0.3 mi away
Grand Sokhalay Hotel
Grand Sokhalay Hotel
#291 of 339 in Siem Reap
3.5 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
3.2 mi away
Angkor Miracle Resort & Spa
Angkor Miracle Resort & Spa
#61 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Pacific Hotel & Spa
Pacific Hotel & Spa
#71 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
2.0 mi away
Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa
Prince D'Angkor Hotel & Spa
#90 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,292 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sokha Angkor Resort
Sokha Angkor Resort
#67 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort

Property: Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort
Address: National Road No. 6, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 250 Specialty Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort offers an ultimate relaxation and rejuvenation experience. With its key location, guests can conveniently access to the city's must-see destinations. Siem Reap Airport, the Pub Street and the famous UNESCO site Angkor Wat can be reached within short drive. At Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort, all rooms are beautifully furnished and equipped with standard amenities. Experience the resort's spa and fitness center where guests are able to relax and enjoy the landscape of tropical atmosphere. To ensure that guests are having a pleasant time during the stay, the resort also offers recreational facilities such as swimming pool, library, including day trip. Guests can opt for other leisure activities such as jogging. Offering comfortable stay with top-class facilities, Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort is a perfect venue to spend the unforgettable stay in Siem Reap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Sokhalay Angkor Villa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sokhalay Angkor Resort And Spa
Sokhalay Angkor Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing