We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family run guest house” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Prohm Roth Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Prohm Roth Inn
Ranked #210 of 500 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Family run guest house”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

As all the guest houses around were fully booked, we ended in The Prohm Roth Inn in Siem Reap.
The Family run business has quite typical wooden architecture, staff is friendly, rooms are clean.
The only critic we had, is that we have been woken up at 5:00 by the loud music coming from the temple buddhist around and we were not really amused. And we had no real explanation from the staff what was happening.
Rate per night per room is 10USD. You receive a bottle of mineral water upon arrival and you can fill it up in the water dispenser in the lobby.

Around the Guest House, you can reach the market in less than 10 minute walk, there is a danceclub, and a traditional dance show is performed at night for free.
Pub street is a bit further, 15 minutes easy walk.
There are numerous places to rent bikes for 1 or 2 USD/day.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dudilh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    18
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
3
28
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

1.) stayed here for one night and requested for the tuktuk service, guide and the driver for our stay. They have all our request available at same price as you can see on other websites. Tuktuk @ 15USd and Car @ 30 USD. They could also provide you with a guide but I would suggest though to look for guides with recommendations already. I felt like we didn't have a guide during our tour.
2.) For our second day stay, we went for a Sunrise tour the inn had our breakfast packed for us. Which was really nice cause if you would be on a tight schedule you can go on with your day and save some money for breakfast.
3.) This place is not near to the PUBStreet, the prohmroth guest house is but not this one. tuktuk ride will cost you one dollar per person.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bodgettravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
344 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights as we wanted to make the most of the opportunity to visit Angkor Wat. Emailed a couple of days before to advise of our flight details and arrival time at Siem Reap airport and were met as soon as we came into the arrivals hall. We found the Prom Roth Inn to be very welcoming and safe with friendly and trustworthy staff. Ok, it's not the Ritz, but £11 a night for a small double ensuite room with both aircon and fan (including breakfast) represents really good value for money. Breakfast menu was limited, but I would highly recommend the pancakes with maple syrup. Crispy around the edges and as light as a feather inside. English speaking guides are in high demand and we were unable to get one on our first full day in Siem Reap. However, the staff at the Inn arranged a tuk tuk and driver (Dav) for us from their extensive range of contacts. A really gentle, friendly guy and his English was really good. We set off on the "Grand Circle Tour" at 8.30 am and, once this was finished, asked Dav to take us on to Banteay Srei and the Landmine Museum for the afternoon. On the second day, the Inn organised a tuk tuk and driver once again and we spent a half day at Tonle Sap Lake (setting off from Kompong Pluk Village). In the afternoon we visited the Physical Rehabilitation Centre. It's not easy to find (on a street running alongside the Provincial Hospital - not far from the Phrom Roth Guesthouse), but well worth a visit. Here, victims of landmines or UXO (or, increasingly, motorbike accidents) are fitted with artifical limbs and given rehabilitation. On our final day, we set off with an English speaking guide and driver (again, organised by the Inn) to do "the big three" of Angkor Wat. He was a wealth of information and his English was excellent (we can provide contact details for him through Tripadvisor's message system). In summary, a thoroughly enjoyable 4 night stay in an excellent guesthouse with staff only too willing to organise any trip you might want to make. But book ahead - such is the popularity of this place that it's virtually impossible to get a room by just turning up. We saw 4-5 disappointed travellers each and every day being turned away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NED541287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Szentendre, Hungary
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The location is perfect: far enough from the crazy and noisy Pub Street's area but still in a walking distance. The small yard in front is a calm and cool place for an early breakfast and late evening relax or even for working or reading during the day. The rooms are simple but equipped enough to be comfortable. The bed linen was always clean and fragnant. The wi-fi connection (in the rooms!!) is better than in any other guesthouses I visited before. The guesthouse itself is quite a good place but the most important value there is definitely the staff. Reliable, helpful, good-natured men who can provide you with useful informations about the Angkor-tours, the other facilities of the city or the long-distance bus schedules etc. They are around all day and night (but never intrusive too much) and always open onto a humorous talk or a serious intellectual discussion about different people, cultures, countries. They have their own tuk-tuks and organize trips for the guests according to individual claims for a reasonable price. And they are helpful if you have any kind of problem.If you want to stay for a reasonable price in a calm, little street with an excellent wi-fi facility, try this guesthouse! But if you want also to spend a little time with a likable and hard-working khmer family don't hesitate to book a room there in time! The guesthouse was always full during my 2 and half months stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledziny, Poland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

In general value/price ratio is not that bad but you need to compare it to Siem Reap. There are better places in Siem Reap for cheaper price.
They offer free pick-up from airport by tuk-tuk and for me it worked well. Driver was waiting for me with my name on the sign and name of the hostel.
I was renting a bickycle from next-door hostel for 1$ per day.
It's located north from city center which is good because it's closer to the temples but still walking distance to pub street :)
The fan room was very noisy during the night (because of fan running) but at least there were no mosquitoes . AC room on ground floor was looking much better and the AC was working good but somehow the mosquitoes were getting in.
Very basic breakfast (1,5$ if not included in the room price) where basically you can get 2 eggs in different ways plus 2 toasts. Good coffee :)

Room Tip: There is no good choice :P Noisy fan room or more expensive A/C room with mosquitoes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marcelir00dy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We had to wait over an hour to be picked up at international airport after we phoned 3 times to see if they were still coming. Not a good start as pick up is included in the deal.
However due to power problems the Inn was not operating so they brought us back to the Guesthouse. A different property owed by same person. He refused to acknowledge our breakfast included deal but did provide a with a clean very basic room. It certainly looks better in the photos.

Room Tip: A very basic room at a very basic price. It is close to the main streets, and supermarket. It is do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Debbi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meang_SiemReap, Owner at The Prohm Roth Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Hi again Mrs. Debbi:
February 28th Siem Reap was slapped by a massive power cut since 6am ( and it last for 4 nights). We had said 'sorry' to you two for the mixed up of your airport pick up. My brothers couldn't reach our driver due to either his signal problem or flat battery to check about your arrival until we got a call from you. Again, we're so sorry that you had long waiting then..
== I explained to you already that the room rate at the guesthouse that left for you is a little higher than the INN and we cannot prepare breakfast for you when your expensive bird watching trip will start at 5am. We didn't force you to stay at the guesthouse. We considered you that you had paid for the room and we had problem with picking up you so we offered you our last double AC room. Then we know how hard-to-please person you are. We wished you understood our big headache of no power for many other guests at the inn and we're still full even without power and so we had to serve them as well, not just you. How could you be happy when you do NOT put yourself in our shoes.
It's not surprise that a hard-to-please person does NOT appreciate our effort to give a good room to catch good sleep when most people in town don't have power for days.
Once again, thank you so much for choosing our place.. We would like to wish you all the best and stay safe..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

1. The price we agreed on upon arrival was not kept once we checked out.
2. We didnt use their free pick up service from the airport, and requested a free ride to the airport. Though we spent good money at our stay, we had to pay extra for the ride.
3. Breakfast is not free, and doesnt worth paying for. Service is SUPER slow, and mostly eggs on the menu.
4. Worst then all those extra spendings was the guy that took care of us for all days. whenever we had a chat he could not talk about anything but money. SO annoying. This was a sophisticated kind of begging that we didnt appreciate during our stay. His English was very bad, and he couldnt make any reasonable recommendations nor tell us anything about the temples.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pumpkin1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meang_SiemReap, Owner at The Prohm Roth Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Hello Maya,
Thank you so much for your time spent for this review after your stay.
1. I didn't hear what your talked/negotiated with my boys then. So I cannot say what is true; BUT when you arrived at our guesthouse, you asked us if we had a $10 AC room. From this point we think that you really intended to hit us for that kind of low rate.
2. I am so sorry that our driver didn't give you free transfer to the airport. Maybe you didn't mention to them when check in or following days.
3. We're so sorry that you're a big time vegetarian and NOT pleased with what we had. Slow service? Even at world-famous fast food chains still make people wait after their orders but maybe you never been to such places that's why you cannot hold your patience..
4. I know how low and bad we are in your sight but coloring our driver as begging type is so untrue. You may misread/misjudge his behavior of broken English as he loved to chat around with guests. So now it's shown that your act of fault-finding mission is completed. Very hard to please, really!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel 20th Street
Hotel 20th Street
#129 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Claremont Angkor Boutique Hotel
Claremont Angkor Boutique Hotel
#140 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bun Kao Guesthouse
Bun Kao Guesthouse
#159 of 500 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Two Dragons Guesthouse
Two Dragons Guesthouse
#74 of 500 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.0 mi away
Home Sweet Home
Home Sweet Home
#197 of 250 in Siem Reap
3.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.0 mi away
European Guesthouse
European Guesthouse
#135 of 500 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Prohm Roth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prohm Roth Inn

Property: The Prohm Roth Inn
Address: 72, street 20 off Wat Bo Rd, Wat Bo village | Sangkat Sala Kamreok, Siem Reap 0063, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #210 of 500 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PROHMROTH means "God's jewel". The ProhmRoth Inn is a small, smart family-run, newly refurbished, high quality B&B exists in Siem Reap's city center. The inn offers her special guests with bright, cozy, clean, comfortable, large rooms; efficiently-equipped with teak wood furniture. It has lovely single, twin, double & triple rooms are equipped with fan, A/C, Cable TV, large en-suite bathroom, western toilets with hot water & toiletries! All rooms with window. FREE: high speed WiFi in rooms, pick up, breakfast, welcome drinks & bottle water! The ProhmRoth Inn is located on east side of Wat Bo road, street 20, Wat Bo area, 119 meters from scenic Siem Reap River, near other guesthouses like, Happy, Babel and Mother Home, the beautiful Royal Garden, and other tourists’ sites in the city of Siem Reap! Great place with great values! Meang & his band of brothers would like to invite you to visit Siem Reap, Cambodia now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Prohm Roth Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing