We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unreliable and not too happy” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Prohm Roth Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Prohm Roth Inn
Ranked #209 of 499 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unreliable and not too happy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We had to wait over an hour to be picked up at international airport after we phoned 3 times to see if they were still coming. Not a good start as pick up is included in the deal.
However due to power problems the Inn was not operating so they brought us back to the Guesthouse. A different property owed by same person. He refused to acknowledge our breakfast included deal but did provide a with a clean very basic room. It certainly looks better in the photos.

Room Tip: A very basic room at a very basic price. It is close to the main streets, and supermarket. It is do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Debbi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meang_SiemReap, Owner at The Prohm Roth Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Hi again Mrs. Debbi:
February 28th Siem Reap was slapped by a massive power cut since 6am ( and it last for 4 nights). We had said 'sorry' to you two for the mixed up of your airport pick up. My brothers couldn't reach our driver due to either his signal problem or flat battery to check about your arrival until we got a call from you. Again, we're so sorry that you had long waiting then..
== I explained to you already that the room rate at the guesthouse that left for you is a little higher than the INN and we cannot prepare breakfast for you when your expensive bird watching trip will start at 5am. We didn't force you to stay at the guesthouse. We considered you that you had paid for the room and we had problem with picking up you so we offered you our last double AC room. Then we know how hard-to-please person you are. We wished you understood our big headache of no power for many other guests at the inn and we're still full even without power and so we had to serve them as well, not just you. How could you be happy when you do NOT put yourself in our shoes.
It's not surprise that a hard-to-please person does NOT appreciate our effort to give a good room to catch good sleep when most people in town don't have power for days.
Once again, thank you so much for choosing our place.. We would like to wish you all the best and stay safe..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    18
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
3
28
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Berlin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

1. The price we agreed on upon arrival was not kept once we checked out.
2. We didnt use their free pick up service from the airport, and requested a free ride to the airport. Though we spent good money at our stay, we had to pay extra for the ride.
3. Breakfast is not free, and doesnt worth paying for. Service is SUPER slow, and mostly eggs on the menu.
4. Worst then all those extra spendings was the guy that took care of us for all days. whenever we had a chat he could not talk about anything but money. SO annoying. This was a sophisticated kind of begging that we didnt appreciate during our stay. His English was very bad, and he couldnt make any reasonable recommendations nor tell us anything about the temples.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pumpkin1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meang_SiemReap, Owner at The Prohm Roth Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Hello Maya,
Thank you so much for your time spent for this review after your stay.
1. I didn't hear what your talked/negotiated with my boys then. So I cannot say what is true; BUT when you arrived at our guesthouse, you asked us if we had a $10 AC room. From this point we think that you really intended to hit us for that kind of low rate.
2. I am so sorry that our driver didn't give you free transfer to the airport. Maybe you didn't mention to them when check in or following days.
3. We're so sorry that you're a big time vegetarian and NOT pleased with what we had. Slow service? Even at world-famous fast food chains still make people wait after their orders but maybe you never been to such places that's why you cannot hold your patience..
4. I know how low and bad we are in your sight but coloring our driver as begging type is so untrue. You may misread/misjudge his behavior of broken English as he loved to chat around with guests. So now it's shown that your act of fault-finding mission is completed. Very hard to please, really!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pnom Penh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Prohmroth G-H and Prohmroth Inn have the same management. I stayed in the INN which was a bad experience. Pick up service was offered and happily accepted, but on arrival there was no pu service to find.
I made a reservation for room X, i knew the room and i liked it more then all other rooms. This was agreed and stated by email. On arrival room X was given to another person... I had to stay in a very hot, crap room. Although it was written in email the manager denied he had promised the room. From all the agreements made the manager only carries out the ones that are convenient for himself.
I cannot make an other conclusion than the management is unreliable and irresponsible.

Surplus they are ignorant about cleaning, not even mentioning maintainance. for example the plastic bathtub had a big 50 cm crack in it, it is unusable as a bath. I dont want to imagine all the fungus growing under the tub.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Bam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meang_SiemReap, Owner at The Prohm Roth Inn, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Sir, we thank you for staying with us even you had a very rough time with us.. BUT it's NOT all our fault.. Some of the problem was your difficult attitude toward us and you couldn't understand our explanation of matters.
We also thank you for leaving our place for another great and happy place. If we had only you in the entire house, we could easily accommodate you in any room you most loved. But we had so many other guests and we couldn't adjust the room on time as you required. Your demand was too big and when wasn't answered properly, it hurt you back badly. Your style even scared our people NOT to even clean your room for you. Hope you would realize that this world was created for everyone, not just you. So please be happy and stay friendly in anywhere you'll reside in the future. Good luck to you sir!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013

After staying at Happy Guest House for one night we had to move on (they were fully booked) and they recommended staying next door at The Prohm Roth Inn.

First off we had paid $6 next door, so were looking for the same sort of price and didn't want to stump up $8 for a room but decided after checking on a number of other places that were either full, overpriced or not up to scratch that this was actually a good deal.

The room was really lovely, clean with warm shower and a TV. My girlfriend didn't feel too well, so spent more time in the room than I did and we have no complaints.

The staff were also really helpful and friendly and can arrange trips and onwards travel.

They also do food but we chose to eat else where as there were plenty of cheap local places within short walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomHPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Payed $8 for a pretty big room with two big beds. Very good for that price! Staff is very friendly and they have great breakfast for a couple of dollars that you can order. It's located on the Wat Bo Rd which is like a backpacker street, quiet and off the main road which has a lot if traffic. Only 10-15 minutes walk to pub street or 3 min with tuk tuk for 1-2 dollars. A good place for someone with a small budget, we had a pleasant stay!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaOliviia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

These guys are SO nice! They always made sure we were happy. Great value and not too far from old town. Basic and comfy rooms, good/basic breakfast, and the staff made it a really enjoyable place to be!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissaroman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

The staff were amazingly friendly and picked us up from the bus station for free as arranged. Not the cleanest hotel but a good cheap place to stay for a couple of nights. Good free breakfast and the transfer into the main areas were cheap and readily available. The only real downside is that it's a little too far to walk to the main areas of the town so a tuk tuk each way can add up over a few days.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank captainfortyfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel 20th Street
Hotel 20th Street
#128 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Claremont Angkor Boutique Hotel
Claremont Angkor Boutique Hotel
#140 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bun Kao Guesthouse
Bun Kao Guesthouse
#159 of 499 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Two Dragons Guesthouse
Two Dragons Guesthouse
#73 of 499 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.0 mi away
Home Sweet Home
Home Sweet Home
#197 of 249 in Siem Reap
3.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
0.0 mi away
European Guesthouse
European Guesthouse
#134 of 499 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Prohm Roth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Prohm Roth Inn

Property: The Prohm Roth Inn
Address: 72, street 20 off Wat Bo Rd, Wat Bo village | Sangkat Sala Kamreok, Siem Reap 0063, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #209 of 499 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PROHMROTH means "God's jewel". The ProhmRoth Inn is a small, smart family-run, newly refurbished, high quality B&B exists in Siem Reap's city center. The inn offers her special guests with bright, cozy, clean, comfortable, large rooms; efficiently-equipped with teak wood furniture. It has lovely single, twin, double & triple rooms are equipped with fan, A/C, Cable TV, large en-suite bathroom, western toilets with hot water & toiletries! All rooms with window. FREE: high speed WiFi in rooms, pick up, breakfast, welcome drinks & bottle water! The ProhmRoth Inn is located on east side of Wat Bo road, street 20, Wat Bo area, 119 meters from scenic Siem Reap River, near other guesthouses like, Happy, Babel and Mother Home, the beautiful Royal Garden, and other tourists’ sites in the city of Siem Reap! Great place with great values! Meang & his band of brothers would like to invite you to visit Siem Reap, Cambodia now! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Prohm Roth Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing