We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Moon Boutique Hotel
Ranked #42 of 342 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

This hotel is way too far out of town - the Hotel offers a free tuk tuk into town however the road is dreadful - major pot holes and extremely bumpy and worse if you don't want to wait 15 minutes for the tuk tuk to come back into town to pick you up most tuk tuk drivers in town have no idea where the hotel is and I was frequently taken all over the place on a very dark, bumpy track. The staff are friendly but noone has even a small amount of English which makes everything difficult - for example you ask where your laundry is after 36 hours and you are handed a mobile phone?
The price of this Hotel is probably mid range - many are much more expensive , however the inconvenience overshadows the price - you can't do anything without an awful ride into town - I would not recommend this Hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Stay close to town
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mil P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boutique59, Manager at The Moon Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
We regret to read your experience with us, however thanks for choosing our hotel whilst visiting Siem Reap, Cambodia.

After finding your review, we think we have to explain you why The Moon Boutique Hotel is not met your requirements:

- The location: we realize that the location is not in the pub street nor very close to down town while very few hotels are located in the small down town of Siem Reap. The rest are situated within city area including along national road 06 from airport to Leu Market, road 60 and other paths. The Moon Boutique Hotel is in the village and surrounded by local families, therefore the 200 meters road is unpaved. This information has been described in hotel website to be widely read before choosing your accommodation as well as the decision can be made correctly.

We negate that you mention it is TOO FAR OUT OF TOWN! In fact, only 5 to 8mn drive from down town, 20mn from Siem International Airport, 15mn to Angkor Wat. The driving speed is only between 30 to 40km/h.

- 15mn wait for Tuk-Tuk: for your convenience, we recommend to call us 15mn before you finish your time at the pub street. We are sure staff did inform you while he was checking you in.

- 36 hours laundry service: incredible time to be awaited. We worked out this case with all our front desk staffs but there was absolutely no experience as you mention.

- Even a small amount of English: We realize that some of our employees are speaking little English but not the front desk nor the restaurant services, but they are the trainees that hotel offers training opportunity for those who are not able to pay for vocational training and apply for job.

In addition to this, The Moon Boutique Hotel aim is to support young Cambodians which is the part of social association and strive to keep out of starve.

We really want the correct comment in order to improve but not the exaggeration we will then deny!

Thanks for choosing our hotel and your kind understanding the situation of youth of Cambodians.

The Moon Boutique Hotel team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    675
    144
    12
    9
    1
See reviews for
141
403
69
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (112)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

Very welcoming. Pretty and quiet little hotel. Large, clean rooms. Enormous bathroom/wet-room. Free shuttle to "downtown", and back. Easy to get to temples. Dreadful access road: doesn't matter at all!

Not a great deal of action, but very friendly, relaxing, and we look back on it as a highlight of our travels.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidwhitehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

I admit to being completely confused by the high rating of other reviews. In this price category The Moon Boutique Hotel is substantially below par of its price peers in Siem Reap. I've stayed at several places around Siem Reap and this hotel offers no competition. The 'lush tropical setting' is quickly negated by a room with a window that looks at a brick wall and has no natural light. The pool is pleasant but I've stayed at $20/night places with better. Staff get 10/10 for effort, but a lack of training and/or management is fairly apparent. Not a big issue at the cheaper places, but I did expect a bit more.
I was aware that the location was further out of town, but I hadn't realised how bad the road would be, making it a long trip to the town centre (and being siem reap, I'm sure that road is water damaged often). Problem is that the hotel was an uninspiring place to be (bathrooms are nice, rooms are generic) so it offered nothing to compensate for being so far from the action.
Not a horrible stay, but I could never recommend it to anyone.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Edeard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boutique59, Manager at The Moon Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thanks for staying with us and reviewing. We do not know what your expectation is but the Operation Manager did meet you while you were with us. Beside following up with you how was the stay, we remember that he did offer mini-bar, any kind of spa treatment, one meal in our restaurant, laundry on complementary but you did negate all our offers.

The Moon Boutique Hotel has absolutely no room which its window opening to the brick as mention as the back of the hotel is fence made of concrete, the front of the hotel surrounded by leafy garden and swimming. Totally, no brick in the hotel premises!

Boutique hotel establishment built closely to Cambodian village in order to show that this is the local life who live close to Siem Reap city. Siem Reap is very small city and take only 5 minutes dry to Pub Street but not the long trip to town as you wrote.

Wish you the best and find the hotel which will be met your requirement

The Moon Boutique Hotel team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We picked this, as we usually do, because of the strong Tripadvisor reviews. I won't repeat the considerable praise below, except to confirm all the positive comments. We found that customer service was well above average just about everywhere in Cambodia, but the Moon Boutique is even better than the rest. Tours and drivers were arranged for us quickly and cheerfully. There seems to always be a staff member in sight ready to address any need. And the food is great. The breakfast is very good and the coffee out of this world. If I have one complaint is that we drank so much of the excellent coffee we vibrated our way around the temples. I also strongly recommend the restaurant for other meals. We tend to write off hotel in-house restaurants in favour of stand alone places, but we thoroughly enjoyed our lunch at the Moon Boutique. It was as good as many we had in town (and better than anything on Pub Street). If you do go, one observation: It is in an odd location down a muddy track off one of the less attractive industrial strip. But as others have said, the compound itself is an oasis of lush plants, calm, and relaxation. If you are brave and not squeamish, hike to the main city market a few blocks away. It is very interesting and you will see no other tourists.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesRidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

This boutique hotel delivers everything a visitor could ask for. The tuk tuk driver who collected us at the airport was so courteous and such a great driver we arranged to keep his services for the duration of our stay in SR. We arrived to the hotel through a charming gate covered in blooming orchids and guarded by traditional Angkor style statues and immediately received a cool welcome drink and smiles from an army of helpful and cheerful staff. Our room was spacious, clean, and well appointed with all amenities including strong wifi, A/C, a safe, minibar, hair dryer, durable flipflops, and waffle-weave robes. We received a welcome basket of fruit and each evening a ride into town with a local mobile phone to call the hotel for a pick-up later, completely removing any need to haggle hassle or learn the full directions around town in the middle of the night. In the heat of the afternoon there is a lovely and under-used pool for cooling off and lounging. Daily inclusive breakfast is abundant and served with the biggest smile. Staff would often teach us Khmer phrases to use during our visit, and help us plan our days and logistics for our next destination. Once you pass through the gate to the Moon Boutique Hotel you will be in excellent care of the warm staff and all your troubles will melt away. We were fortunate enough to get a great last minute deal online, making this hotel an excellent value for everything we received.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellertseng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I chose this hotel simply by looking at the reviews on Tripadvisor. I looked at no other hotel in Siem Reap as the reviews were outstanding. I am now lying by the pool of this little quaint boutique hotel praising not only the hotel but other reviewers who, through Tripadvisor, helped me find this little gem. All I can say is read the other reviews. I agree with them all. Lovely place, lovely staff and though location is a bit out of the way, we never felt this as the hotel bent over backwards to accommodate us with complimentary airport pick-up and drop off and free tuk-tuk to town and back. Service, always with a smile.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jaylo909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights and wish we could have stayed longer.
The hotel is a little way from the centre of Siem Reap but it really doesn't matter. It's a perfect location as you can relax by the pool when you're not exploring the town or the temples. They have their own tuktuks so they will drop you in town and even pick you up later, they give you a mobile phone so you can call them. They also met us at the airport and dropped us off. We booked a tuktuk for the day to visit Angkor temples and it was around $17..don't know how much it was in town but we didn't care, glad to give the hotel our business. The rooms are nice, spacious and clean. Breakfast was very good. All in all a great hotel, made our stay in Siem Reap! Staff are great too, friendly and welcoming. We auld definitely go back. Thank you!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mona1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.3 mi away
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
#58 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
1.0 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Residence101
Residence101
#25 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Popular Residence Hotel
Popular Residence Hotel
#40 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
1.1 mi away
Angkor Pearl Hotel
Angkor Pearl Hotel
#89 of 342 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,429 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Moon Residence & Spa
The Moon Residence & Spa
#28 of 342 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Moon Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Moon Boutique Hotel

Property: The Moon Boutique Hotel
Address: Phum Wat Bo, Sala Kamreuk Commune, Siem Reap kh, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 342 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Moon Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the historical land of Cambodia Kingdom of Wonder, The Moon Boutique is your home away from home and offers Traditional Khmer personal hospitality to ensure your comfort and enjoyment. Ensconced in an area rich with the ambiance of local village, guests will find the area tranquilizing as well as convenient. The Moon Boutique offers numerous complimentary of services including; daily breakfast, high speed WIFI connection, round trip airport transfer, shuttle to downtown and local organic fruit in basket set in room upon arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Moon Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing