We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Couldn't ask for more”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Villa Medamrei

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Medamrei
Ranked #104 of 339 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Villa Medamrei was helpful and responsive in accomodating and arranging to all of my requests (and I made many requests). The staff were friendly, the decor was great and the food in the hotel's restaruant was awesome. Initially, I was skeptical on the slightly higher room price of this place as compared to other guesthouses in the vicinity. However, I am now convinced that it is truly value-for-money.

Special thanks to Thol, the tuk-tuk driver of Villa Medamrei. He was an honest and sincere guy who shared many local cultures with me. Together with him who made my Siem Reap experience spectacular was my guide, Robin Houd. He took care of me while leading me to the off-the-tourists' tracks, where the views of temples were captivating and photos were great. He was lively and energetic, and was truly excited about the temples (even though I am sure he had been there countless times). I learnt a lot from the both of them just during the 4 days.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Junexh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    97
    28
    7
    1
See reviews for
32
142
79
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
east bay
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

We tried to get into the Steung hotel because I have stayed there before, but it was fully booked. Good thing! The villa medamrei is a great little boutique hotel near the market. Less expensive than the steung with much higher quality rooms and service. Don't miss this place, and don't judge by the street view. Go inside and experience the spa like feeling. We will definitely be staying here again next year.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simpleman316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We really enjoyed our time at this charming villa. It is close enough to walk to the main drag that houses all the bars and restaurants, but far enough away to get some relaxation. The staff and customer service was terrific. You seriously cannot find a better value. The hotel set up an Angkor Wat tour for us and made sure our stay was special. I also really liked the restaurant upstairs. They have a nice balcony and the breakfast was quite tasty. The rooms are simple, clean and efficient. I would highly recommend this spot.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jdmckinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

This place is amazing for the price. I stayed 8 night to the 15th July and enjoyed everyday. The hotel is clean and the service is unbelievable. Modern rooms with flat screen t.v. I paid about $30 Aussie a night for the room and breakfast. Close to town and well located. This place will not disappoint!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

I stayed at Villa Medamrei for three nights, but would have gladly stayed longer. The location is perfect! It is on a side street that is an easy walking distance to the central market (7 minutes). The wifi was great and the man working the front desk was exceptional. Actually, all of the staff were exceptional. The front desk easily arranged tours and were very welcoming. The room was spacious and well decorated. I loved the welcome drink and banana chips as well! The only area for improvements (if you really want to be picky) would be that the room is a little dark. Also, be mindful that if you book through Agoda, there may be errors in your booking so you might not get what you want. Overall, I can't imagine why you'd want to stay anywhere else in Siem Reap. It has been my favourite hotel on my trip. I would stay there again in a heartbeat

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmarti123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

A very clean, stylish hotel with all the modern conveniences you might expect of a 5 star hotel at well 1 star prices. Probably, the best bargain in Siem Reap. Over the years I have stayed in many hotels in Siem Reap. This is the hotel I choose to return to. The staff are excellent - very accomodating. Breakfast on the 2nd floor is filling. The downtown location is excellent for evening explorations and the rooms are modern and chic. Really it is hard to fault. I will be returning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesH1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Sarawak, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were very glad that we made the right choice to stay in this hotel throughout our trip from 3rd to 7th July. The hotel staff were really polite and accommodating. I made a special birthday surprise arrangement for my wife earlier on and they made it very successful. I had them to decorate the room and prepare a cake. My wife was very surprised and happy. Cake was good too.

Siem Reap is rather a dusty place, but the hotel manage to keep the dirt out. You will need to take your shoes off at the lobby. It's all clean inside.

I like how attentive the staff are. We were greeted with cold wet towels, banana chips and a refreshing drink while waiting for our room. Throughout our stay, the staff never fails to smile and greet us whenever we pass the lobby. They would take interest in how was our day and trip. They can be very helpful with information on travel. They can understand English very well.

As for the hotel breakfast, the staff were also very smiley and polite. Our breakfast were always nicely prepared. The mini breakfast area is very bright and airy. Don't have to worry about the weather outside.

As for added facilities, their WIFI connection works very well. Unlike some hotel which promotes free WIFI but unusable most of the time.

The most rewarding part from staying in this hotel, is to learn that when you see everyone smiling, you can't help but to smile back at them. It gives a good start for your day and end of your day as well. It will naturally brighten up your day and mood no matter what when you see all of them smiling.

I'll certainly be back for the next trip. Thanks staff of Villa Medamrei! You guys made my stay very memorable and wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank KelvinfromBorneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.5 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#82 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
0.7 mi away
Angkor Pearl Hotel
Angkor Pearl Hotel
#88 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
1.2 mi away
Sekla Villa Angkor
Sekla Villa Angkor
#70 of 339 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
Cheathata Angkor Hotel
#67 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#106 of 339 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.5 mi away
Central Indochine D'angkor Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Medamrei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Medamrei

Property: Villa Medamrei
Address: Vihear Chin Village, Svay Dangkum Communce, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 339 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Medamrei 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your charming accommodation at the heart of Siem Reap. Comfort and Style. Convenience and Accessibility. Villa Medamrei is 5 minute walk from the bustling Pub Street and Old Market area. With 19 rooms, this boutique villa is decorated in Contemporary Khmer Style. Fusing traditional Khmer materials and bold contemporary colors, a perfect example of Cambodian ingenuity and style. Villa Medamrei offers clean, cozy & friendly accommodations. Relax and chill-out at our rooftop garden, or enjoy our menu of international and traditional Khmer dishes in our restaurant. A business center to work on all your needs is also present. Our room rate and 24 hours service with highly trained staff is guaranteed within your budget for a long stay in Cambodia, either for your business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Medamrei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing