We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in Siem Reap”
Review of Villa Medamrei

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Medamrei
Ranked #122 of 374 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2012

Beautifully decorated small hotel a short walk from the main drag in SIem Reap. Cannot rate the staff highly enough, so welcoming and attentive, and happy to arrange anything you may need. Free transport from the airport was provided, and they serve a good breakfast also. Amazing welcome drink which sets the scene for a wonderful stay. Thanks to all the staff and our driver for our stay over the 3 days - Chai.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleMissTravelBug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (411)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

278 - 284 of 411 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2012

I read the reviews here and I am truly sorry I didn't get a chance to stay at this hotel. I did research and in spite of the January 2012 review about this hotel being overbooked, which I thought was just a fluke, I made a reservation for three nights in November.

Bottom line: It's not a fluke. If you want to book here I suggest that you reconfirm often and have a backup plan. Four days in advance of a reservation I had made six weeks earlier and while I was already traveling in southeast asia someone at the hotel took it upon himself to decide i needed to reconfirm or lose my room. I didn't receive the email until the day after my reservation was to begin; they gave my room to someone else and when I arrived at the hotel, and was understandably upset, the man who did this just wailed "not my fault, not my fault."
His fault or not, I was roomless in Siem Reap. Not the stuff of a great vacation.

The detail:

After I first emailed with the hotel I was not 100 percent sure I had a firm yes from them (and I'd been emailing with a lot of hotels) so I sent an email back asking if I had a reservation. On Sept. 25, I received this email:

Dear Mr xxxxxx

Thank so much for your email,yes of course we had booked room for you
already.

Should you need more assist,please feel free do contact us,we'll be at
your service.

Have a nice day.
See you on 13/November/2012

Best regards,
XXXXXX front office Manager.

On Nov. 12 my Phnom Penh hotel called VillaMedamrei to tell them when/where I would arrive in Siem Reap for pickup. There was no indication that there was anything amiss. I arrived at the bus stop on Nov. 13 and no one was there to get me. I tuk-tuked to the hotel, where I presented passport and commented that no one had picked me up. The person at the front desk said, with a tone I wish I could convey in print: "But you didn't reconfirm your reservation?"
I realize there is room for misunderstanding across cultures, but I have traveled a LOT in many countries and this guy was just amused.
I said, you mean I don't have a room? He said yes, that's what he means. He had sent me an email. I didn't get any email. "Not my fault," he said. As I grew more incredulous (I know, you're not supposed to show emotion, but what was the downside? He'd already given my room away) it grew to a repeated wail "not my fault not my fault not my fault."

My temple guide came and helped me find another room. (If you end up in their lobby with no room, what will be your plan to find one?)
The next day I received an email, apparently sent Nov. 9, asking me to reconfirm my booking.

Dear xxxx,

Greeting from your unique Villa Medamrei,heart of Siem Reap!

We would like to reconfirm your booking with check in on13/Nov/12 check out on 16/Nov/12 Deluxe double balcony.

*However we would disturb your kind to reconfirm us again tomorrow (10/November/12) before your arrival to secure your booking or your check in depending on room availability.*

Thank you for kind attention and supporting.

Best regards,
xxxx front office Manager.

From my perspective, this represents changing the rules in mid process. Their response: they are sorry. Will that give you a place to sleep during your temple vacation?

So I ask you, do you feel lucky? I think, this one employee aside, you might be lucky to stay there. Great location, the lobby was quite nice looking. Though I wonder how they can treat some people so badly yet treat others so well, as the reviews would indicated.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
7  Thank goodtogoAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaMedamrei, Front Office Manager at Villa Medamrei, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Dear,

Good morning! In the case that you did not get the room in our hotel, we also felt very regret. The problem was made by miss-reconfirmed by the guest. Actually, the case of booking through email, it was not secure for keeping the rooms for the guest as there were many emailed guests were no-show. We had confirmed with you that you need to reconfirm one week(22/Sep/12 at 6:16pm) in advance of a emailed reservation. You also agreed with reconfirm one week before a reservation date(24/Sep/12 at 04:14am); yet, you haven't reconfirmed even we had sent the alert email 4 days(09/Nov/12) before arrival date(check in 13/Nov/12).

Furthermore detail

11/9/2012 11:19 AM
Dear xxx, info@villamedamrei.com wrote:

Greeting from your unique Villa Medamrei,heart of Siem Reap!

We would like to reconfirm your booking with check in on13/Nov/12 check out on 16/Nov/12 Deluxe double balcony.

*However we would disturb your kind to reconfirm us again tomorrow (10/November/12) before your arrival to secure your booking or your check in depending on room availability.*

Thank you for kind attention and supporting.

Best regards,
xxxx front office Manager.

9/24/2012 4:14 AM xxx@msn.com wrote:
Great. I look forward to it!

Sent from my iPad

On Sep 22, 2012, at 8:08 PM, info@villamedamrei.com wrote:

Dear xxx,

Sound great to hear your decision supporting our Villa.
Now we do confirm your booking check in on 13/Nov/12 check out on 16/Nov/12 3nights Deluxe Double Balcony USD35/r/n include daily brekfast.
To secure your booking with our villa,we would like inform you that please kindly reconfirm your booking with us again one week before your arrival,if you miss your reconfirm your checking will depending on rooms availability.
We're so sorry that make you inconvenience,looking forward to hearing from you.

Best regards,
Chamroeun front office Manager.
should you need more assist, please feel free do contact us we'll
be at your service.
Have a nice day!


On 2012-09-23 11:03, xxx wrote:

Yes, I would like to confirm this reservation.

On Sep 22, 2012, at 6:16 PM, info@villamedamrei.com wrote:

Dear xxx

Greeting from your unique Villa,the heart of Siem Reap Angkor!

Much appreciate for your interesting and supporting our Villa,we do have room available on your period request check in on
13/Nov/2012 check out on 16/Nov/2012 3nights Deluxe Double Balcony,
1Our special offer for directly booking guest during high season is USD35/r/n for 2person include daily breakfast inclusive of varieties of benefits below: -Free Pick up from airport or bus sation
-Free Wifi in guest room and around
-Free Mini bar (mineral waters)
-Free Tour consultant
-Free Home made unique welcome drink and cold towel upon check in

Please kindly reply if room quotation meet your satisfaction,because our almost are runnig full.
Should you need more assist please do contact us,we'll be at your service.

Best Regards
xxxx front office Manager

xxx@msn.com wrote:
TITLE: Mr



CHECK-IN:
11/13/2012

CHECK-OUT:
11/16/2012

ROOM:
1

ADULT:
1

CHILD:
0

ROOM-TYPE:
Deluxe Single Balcony

PICK-UP:
yes

SPECIAL NOTE:

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Firstly, they provide free transport from the Airport to the hotel. When you arrive, there will be a staff already waiting for you, and request that you remove your shoes.

We were ushered into the sitting area, and served a delicious lemongrass welcome drink. A cold towel was also provided. Once you have settled down, the staff will bring you a map, and walk you through the attractions of Siem Reap. Naturally they will try to sell you their packages, but it's of a reasonable price.

Once we finished all our questions, we were being brought to our room. The room was spacious and comfortable, I especially like the matted grey walls. No smell in the bathroom, and ample space to hang your clothes and towel.

The breakfast is fantastic too, loads of choices to pick from.

Verdict: a definite can-stay hotel

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AdvC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

After long hot sweaty days exploring Angkor and the surrounding areas Villa Medamrei was a great hotel to come back to. The staff was always welcoming, breakfast in the morning was fantastic, and the rooms were comfortable and nice. We stayed for 4 nights. The welcome drink Lemon Grass tea was amazing. We kept ordering more. Make sure and try the pineapple pancakes for breakfast.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank bgagosian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

This is an excellent mid-range choice if staying in Siem Reap for a few days. The first thing to strike one is the courtesy and professionalism of the staff - it looks like they have tried to emulate 5-star hotel practises in service, and to a large extent they succeed. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, very good bed and very clean. Decor is tasteful and relaxing. Location is good - 4-5 minutes walk to Pub Street etc.

Their yuk-tuk driver Chaan is excellent, and in our experience well-worth booking for the temples drive - safe, polite, no cons and a pleasure to be with. The fact that water is supplied free on tap by him in our experience very much mitigates the $20 per full day charge for his services - other tuk tuks may be cheaper, but I suspect the water and other aspects would load the price beyond what we paid.

Food is good, with a pleasant terrace. The included breakfast has a good range of meals, and the chef is clearly using fresh ingredients daily.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 207 which was fine - although close to the dining area we did not have any noise i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtravellers129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed here and was blown away by the excellent customer service. The room was beautiful and very clean and comfortable. The staff is incredibly nice at all times, they are so very kind and considerate. This is an unbelievable value, worth every penny. They give you this great breakfast every morning too, you have choices including a Khmer Pineapple Pancake, which is the greatest pancake in the world. This is the place to stay in Siem Reap. Their house tuk tuk driver is awesome too.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthewpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I work frequently in Siem Reap and i have been staying at Villa Medamrei many times. To me it is the best place in town. Entering it is like entering an oasis of calm and tranquility.
The rooms are beautifully decorated and to me most important spotless clean. The staff is very friendly and helpful. There is a good choice of breakfast dishes including a delicious noodles soup with chicken and vegetable which is a very Cambodian dish to have in the morning.
It is a Cambodian managed and owned business and i am very proud to support it and will do so for all my future trips to Siem Reap.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gustav A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Tanei Boutique Villa
Tanei Boutique Villa
#134 of 374 in Siem Reap
596 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#89 of 374 in Siem Reap
880 reviews
0.3 mi away
TU CASA
TU CASA
#81 of 374 in Siem Reap
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Okay 1 Villa
Okay 1 Villa
#165 of 374 in Siem Reap
525 reviews
0.7 mi away
Parklane Hotel
Parklane Hotel
#146 of 374 in Siem Reap
699 reviews
0.7 mi away
Angkor Pearl Hotel
Angkor Pearl Hotel
#99 of 374 in Siem Reap
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Medamrei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Medamrei

Address: Vihear Chin Village, Svay Dangkum Communce, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 374 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: $22 - $64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Medamrei 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your charming accommodation at the heart of Siem Reap. Comfort and Style. Convenience and Accessibility. Villa Medamrei is 5 minute walk from the bustling Pub Street and Old Market area. With 19 rooms, this boutique villa is decorated in Contemporary Khmer Style. Fusing traditional Khmer materials and bold contemporary colors, a perfect example of Cambodian ingenuity and style. Villa Medamrei offers clean, cozy & friendly accommodations. Relax and chill-out at our rooftop garden, or enjoy our menu of international and traditional Khmer dishes in our restaurant. A business center to work on all your needs is also present. Our room rate and 24 hours service with highly trained staff is guaranteed within your budget for a long stay in Cambodia, either for your business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Medamrei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing