We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best Hotel on our Trip! Just perfect!”
Review of Villa Medamrei

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Medamrei
Ranked #113 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Villa Medamrei in Siem Reap was the big surprise on our travel through cambodia and vietnam. It's a new and perfectly designed boutique hotel near the old market in siem reap. The staff is very helpful and friendly and they all know, what it's need to run a good hotel and to be a perfect host. It's the details of everything, which are make Villa Medamrei to the perfect place to stay. It's the warmly and heartily welcome with drink, and flowers etc. It's are the details of the perfect styled room and the good food and service and the nice and good breakfast. We are traveling in South-East Asia since more than 11 years and we never found a bigger positive surprise than this. We liked it very much. We have been there for two nights and celebrate also the unbelievable New years eve at siem reap and it was the best new years eve party since years - forget full moon at ko phangan and go to siem reap - it's better, funnier and much more party!!! We are a couple aged 31 and 41 and traveled together with the sister of my wife and a friend and the young people (21 years old) liked this new years eve party and the hotel very much. They always want to go back to siem reap - all the time.
Short: Thank you people from villa medamrei, it was just great and your hotel is best value!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Climber70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (409)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

301 - 307 of 409 reviews

Reviewed March 1, 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights.

From the initial relaxed greeting, to my departure, I found the staff very helpful, friendly and attentive.

My single room was a good size, clean, quiet and well appointed, it appeared to have been recently refurbished so had new very effective, and quiet, air conditioning. There were a few points where the decor seemed not to have been quite finished off ... the walk in wet room appeared to have not been painted (but could have just been painted plaster grey), but the shower was hot and worked well.

The included breakfast was minimal but decent quality.

Located very near the Centre of Siem Reap, but far enough away not to pick up the noise.

Free WiFi worked well in my room.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Restaurant is on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldster49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

I heartily agree with the other reviews: there is something very sweet about this hotel.  The staff is very friendly and helpful and you feel that they sincerely want you to have a good experience. The hotel is fairly new and has a well-kept clean feel - the  decor leans toward what I'll call "modern Buddhist".  There are fish pools and drapery in the lobby common area.   The interior hall pathways are lined with stone.  And you remove your shoes upon entering and spend your time barefoot (as does the staff). 

The rooms themselves are small but comfortable, efficiently laid out, and have some fun visual  touches.  The air conditioning in rooms works well and is very welcome after a long day at the temples.

Here are a few other details that some travelers may care about. The lighting in the room was subdued.  While adequate, it wasn't great for bedtime reading.   The bathroom is also quite dark, and there is no mirror light.  I found I needed to open the bathroom door to get enough light to shave.  Also know that because the common areas are open air, a mosquito or two get into the room particularly in the morning and toward dusk. We easily dealt with them by spraying Off along to the bottom of the door.  Honestly, we didn't get bitten at all.  Also, but for the wall of the adjoining building there was no view from our window - we were happy to have the privacy and the respite from the sun that our limited view and air con provided.

I look back at our stay here with delightful memories.  And what a bargain!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E41hz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2012

I really enjoyed this hotel -- it is located within walking distance of the night markets and "Pub Street" in Siem Reap. I was able to easily arrange for a tuk tuk to pick me up at the airport (complimentary). The staff was very welcoming on check-in, and they provide a wonderful lime drink and some strange (banana?) chips. They arranged both a tuk tuk and a guide for my trips to Angkor Wat. The guide seemed very knowledgeable.

The rooms were quite cool, which is amazing considering how warm it is in Cambodia. The a/c worked great and kept things nice and cool. There were a few mosquitos in my room, but nothing that bothered me much. The bed was one of the softer ones I had on my trip to SE Asia. The room is decorated very nicely and the TV worked well. I thought the breakfast selections were very good. I had a great omelette on my second day there.

The hotel is located on an unpaved busy road, so it can be a bit of a pain to walk up the street to the main shopping/eating area.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eobri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

We arrived to Siem Reap at night and really tired, we had booked with a cheap hotel (actually we did it in the border of Poipet because we knew that it was going to be a long journey and didn't wanted to look for a hotel so late: Big mistake!). So after leaving our stuff in the cheap hotel the first thing we did that same night was to check around and we found this amazing place: Villa Medamrei.
We didn't thought it twice and we booked right the way for the next night.

The lobby is great, nice decoration, really peaceful.
While we wait to get us to our room, they gave us some cool drinks (lemongrass iced taste, reeeeaaally great!!!) and snacks, nice detail.
The room is really comfortable, great big bed, cable tv, hot shower, products, clean bed linnen and towels, A/C.
The hotel also has a great free wi-fi connection and computers in the lobby.
They have also a Restaurant, we had only tried the breakfast that is good.
The staff is helpful and friendly. They helped us to arrange a tuk-tuk for Angkor, they explained us how to get to the night market and restaurants (5 minutes walking from there), they gave us a map of the city and information for our next bus.
We recommend: If you are planning to stay long, check with the reception your dates because its a requiered hotel, and many people book in advance.
We really enjoyed to stay here, and we really recommend it if you want to have a good rest, no preocupations, helpful, friendly staff, and quality. It worth it!

Room Tip: We got a room in the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chunguis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Our stay began with a special offer on the room followed by a delicious free lemon juice! The staff were always friendly, asking how our days had been and saying hello. The attractive boutique design of the place continued in our room which had a very comfy bed with clean sheets (makes a real difference!) and great tv selection. Villa Medamrei is the jewel in the crown of Siem Reap guesthouses. One nuisance was the mosquitoes in our room but deet soon sorted that out.

Room Tip: Get a room on the left side of the corridor (up and downstairs) - they get more light and some have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMurphy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

I don't usually write online reviews but I'd like to express my sincere appreciation for Villa Medamrei. After a long trip from Bangkok we were warmly welcomed by the owners and got the keys of our beautifully decorated room. The breakfast was excellent, the staff very helpful and extremely kind. When my husband and I decided to change our plans and extend our stay they did their utmost to make our holidays unforgettable. I'd definitely recommend this boutique hotel to anyone travelling to Siem Reap. Rossella

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RossC1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.5 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#87 of 361 in Siem Reap
871 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mingalar Inn
Mingalar Inn
#175 of 361 in Siem Reap
430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tanei Boutique Villa
Tanei Boutique Villa
#140 of 361 in Siem Reap
584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Parklane Hotel
Parklane Hotel
#138 of 361 in Siem Reap
695 reviews
0.1 mi away
Reaksmey Chanreas Hotel
Reaksmey Chanreas Hotel
#182 of 361 in Siem Reap
178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
Apsara Centrepole Hotel
#123 of 361 in Siem Reap
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Medamrei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Medamrei

Address: Vihear Chin Village, Svay Dangkum Communce, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: $18 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Medamrei 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your charming accommodation at the heart of Siem Reap. Comfort and Style. Convenience and Accessibility. Villa Medamrei is 5 minute walk from the bustling Pub Street and Old Market area. With 19 rooms, this boutique villa is decorated in Contemporary Khmer Style. Fusing traditional Khmer materials and bold contemporary colors, a perfect example of Cambodian ingenuity and style. Villa Medamrei offers clean, cozy & friendly accommodations. Relax and chill-out at our rooftop garden, or enjoy our menu of international and traditional Khmer dishes in our restaurant. A business center to work on all your needs is also present. Our room rate and 24 hours service with highly trained staff is guaranteed within your budget for a long stay in Cambodia, either for your business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Villa Medamrei reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing