We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Okay 1 Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Okay 1 Villa
Ranked #136 of 337 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Kathmandu, Nepal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location and value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

My husband, two young kids, and I stayed here last week. We felt it was a good choice and great value. We stayed in room 114, which had a king bed, a double bed, and a single and included breakfast. The room was nothing special, but it was large, had good A/C and wifi, and was a relaxing place to come back to at the end of each long temple-seeing day. The staff were friendly, especially with our kids. They arranged for us to use a hotel tuk-tuk for sightseeing two of the days, and we were quite happy with the driver and the price. He took us everywhere he said he would, was helpful with the kids, drove carefully, and was always looking for us after each temple so we wouldn't waste time trying to find him.

The rooftop pool was small and quite cold, so we didn't end up using it much. But it is nice to have it there on a hot day. The food was not great, but at least it was cheap. The hotel offers inexpensive laundry service, which we used. It is within walking distance of restaurants and grocery stores, or it's a $1 tuk-tuk ride to Pub Street. It was also quite close to Angkor Wat, which was nice. Also, everyone seemed to know where it was, which was nice for getting picked up and dropped off.

Overall, the hotel was a good value and we were happy we had stayed there.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    146
    55
    32
    19
See reviews for
56
158
63
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

First of all I want to say that we are no luxury travellers but also no low budget travellers. The only thing we like to have in a hotel is our own bathroom, it must be clean and things must work (aircon, hot water, etc.).We came to this hotel after a drive of 7 hours from Bangkok, welcome was nice with a little drink. They showed us our room and first look was ok, nothing special, but 25 EUR is not a high price.Second look: no hot water, cold water only drips out of tab, fridge doesnt work, sheets are dirty.Stuff looked at water, said dripping is normal, hit the boiler, hot water runs. Fridge will be changed tomorrow (my girlfriend needs the fridge to cool her medicine), sheets were not changed – it is washed and these stains are normal!We went to the restaurant – friendly barkeeper (the only person in this hotel who understood what we meant). Ordered food was cold; 2nd try – a bit warm, we were not in the mood for discussions anymore.

Breakfast next day (we didnt have the included because we were too late, we paid for it!!) – eggs not really fried, I had a steak sandwich (it was 2 p.m.) meat was deep-fried and cheese was analog-cheese. Both cold again. Stuff: „Sorry,please pay 12 USD!“
In the evening we came back – fridge wasnt change, no hot water again. Told them – „yes, yes, yes!“ Fridge was changed within 30 minutes then but still didnt work. Again a hit on he waterheater – ok.
Next morning: No water at all! Stepping out oft he room – a hundred (no lie!!) dead wasps on the floor! Stuff:“we know.“ For no water:“Sorry, happens often, cant do anything, will come back after a while!“ I asked for something to do because its the next thing I have to criticize. Stuff:“yes, we will do something for you at day of leaving!“
2nd chance for breakfast at restaurant: gave it back, didnt pay this time…
Water came back 2 hours later…nice!
Also the hotel is very noisy, you hear other guests all the time and the construction site next to it does not help either.
The distance to he city centre ist too far for walking, you can take tuk-tuks (dont take those recommended by the hotel, they are more expensive), but this sums up as well.
So we decided to move hotels…
At check out they took the key and said: „ok, everything all right, thank you! Hope you enjoyed your stay!“ This was the moment I decided to write this:

NEVER STAY IN THIS HOTEL!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

This was one of, if not the best hotel I stayed in SE Asia. We emailed the hotel 2 hours before our flight asking to be picked up, and sure enough there was a tuk tuk driver waiting for us. We arrived and were checked in by Sophie, such a sweet girl. Our room was so so beautiful. It felt like an old English hotel. The bed were comfy and it was extremely clean. The restaurant food is also delicious and cheap! The rooftop pool is also great and needed as it is so hot! The breakfast is also great, they will make you more of everything. Only downside I can think of is that the power cuts out alot, a little annoying if you are using the computer but you have to remember you are in a 3rd world country. Overall, this hotel is definitely a good find. I look forward to staying here again! Thank you Sophia, Michael and the rest of the wonderful staff!

Room Tip: Dont book the tuktuk though the hotel as it is cheaper if you just bargain with a tuktuk driver on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank v j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014

location: a little bit far from the pub street, but ok to walk if get familiar with the city.
room: basic and with little furniture, there's a small table with all stuffs on it, no extra space for you to use, wash room is small and no separate shower space, wet all over after a shower. there's no basic cleaning items like shampoo or body cleanser, only soaps, no shower caps.
staffs : smiling but lack of basic service attitude, not professional, speak little English, always stray away from what you are consulting.
guide help: I booked the bus tickets in this hotel to phnom penh, it turned out the bus is cheap but unpleasant, it kept me waiting for 2 hours to leave siem reap and also mistook my luggage to another bus. There's better choice for the bus company but the hotel didn't help you book that and not even mention them.
wifi: not stable, once it is at 12:00 pm, too many ppl and thus you can not log in since there's no ip resource
price: I stayed in another hotel the day before I changed to this one, that one is ran out of rooms that day, it is cheaper and provide better services with same location.

I don't recommend this hotel while staying in siem reap.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tt l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
385 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2013

The bedrooms are quite simple but clear and spacious.
The water pressure is quite low and the shower system will spread water all over the place. So, take everything out, even the loo rolls. I discovered later that kind of shower is common in Cambodia.
The staff is amazingly helpfull, firiendly and welcoming. Cheecky even. Especially a young woman working at the desk. Talk to her about the women rights... Funny comments, discussions and laughs will follow.
The location is very convenient and you just have to pay a 2$ tuk tuk to go in town. You can walk if you want but everybody needs a bit of a job...
There is always someone at the front desk and a security guard at the entrance. Which makes the all place very safe.
There is no safe in the bedroom but you can leave your valuables in the hotel safe.
The highlight of the hotel is the rooftop swimming pool. A blessing after sightseeing! Such are the fruits shakes...
Of course it needs a bit of tlc but for the value for money is excellent.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aralya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

Staying here was a real pleasure, the room was a large double room and it was clean and had everything you needed. The thing that really got me was the customer service. The front of house staff were so friendly and kind. They were always willing to help out. There was always someone at the front desk, 24/7 and security outside. It made me feel safe being there, and I quite enjoyed our experience. The view from the tower next to the pool is amazing at sunset, don't miss it. I would highly recommend this place if you're looking for something affordable, clean and with amazing customer service.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ckfosho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

We actually came to know of OKAY 1 Villa, as we had been staying at the OKAY guest house in Phnom Penh.

The guys in PP actually did us a bit of a deal with the room rate, I think we got it for $30 a night.
We had a huge double room on the 1st floor with Aircon and our own bathroom. It was by far the most comfortable place we had stayed at during our 3 weeks in Cambodia.

When we arrived off the bus a guy and his Tuk Tuk from the hotel were waiting for us which was awesome. The staff at the hotel are all really really lovely interesting intelligent people. The younger ones love to practise their English with you.

We felt totally relaxed and very well looked after.

On the roof of the hotel is a swimming pool and a bar; which is exactly what you need after a day seeing the temples.

The hotel have their own staff to take you on trips to the Temples. I think we paid $15 for a young guy to drive us around the temples. We had planned to cycle but just didn't have the time, this way we saw more than enough.

The hotel is in a quiet location a little off the beaten track but it's about a Dollar from Pub Street; everyone knows where it is and when you leave the hotel there is always TukTuks available.

We had a great stay with OK. We'd definitely stay again of we were ever back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.3 mi away
The Villa Siem Reap
The Villa Siem Reap
#78 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sidewalk Never Die Hotel Siem Reap
0.7 mi away
Villa Um Theara
Villa Um Theara
#157 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Angkor Pearl Hotel
Angkor Pearl Hotel
#85 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kiri Boutique Hotel
Kiri Boutique Hotel
#127 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mingalar Inn
Mingalar Inn
#164 of 337 in Siem Reap
4.0 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Okay 1 Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Okay 1 Villa

Property: Okay 1 Villa
Address: No. 0325 Tapul, Sangkat Svay Dangkum, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Siem Reap
#58 Family Hotel in Siem Reap
#78 Romantic Hotel in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Okay 1 Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Okay 1 Villa is conveniently locate in the central of Siem Reap's historical city closed to shopping and the business center; with attractive sites nearby. Okay 1 Villa will be beyond your expectations with 60 luxurious rooms including Family, Suite, Deluxe, Superior and Standard rooms, all finely decorated in Khmer traditional style furnishing and wooden floors for Deluxe and Suites and lobby restaurant. Comfort will surpass your expectations individually controlled air-con, color television with cable channels, mini bar, hairdryer, Wifi internet connection, slippers, local and international dialing, customized toiletries, bathtub with shower, electronic safe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Okay 1 Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Okay 1 Villa Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing