We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow these guys really know how to look after tourists”

Sun Same - Private Tour Guide, Day Tours
Ranked #65 of 840 Tours in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to the luxury of private travel with Sun Same, you will have the opportunity to get to know the real pulse of this intriguing ' a real Siem Reap explore to immerse yourself in the diverse culture, to come away inspired by your experiences.
Broadbeach, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow these guys really know how to look after tourists”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Contacted Sun Same after reading reviews. His response prompt and very comprehensible. Booked for his brother Bonar to look after us as Sun Same already booked ( i suspect he may be the front man for a number of guides. Bonar was always prompt,an extremely good guide, very polite, knowledgeable , and had a great passion for his country , its people and there culture. The Lexus wagon he showed up in was ideal for us as a 4 person group. Bonar was flexible, as we changed our mind a few times during each day on what we wanted to do and see . I have no hesitation in recommending Sun Same and Bonar to anyone wanting a guided tour in comfort by a couple of very decent people. Bonar also has some great photo angles and opportunities to share, and takes you to little spots of the standard tourist beaten track.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank shukes1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    32
    6
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Pleasant, timely and well spoken ( English). We had planned to hire the service for a day but extended it to two days. Sun was not available but arranged for someone else to do it that did a great job. I believe it was his brother. I recommend their service.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank m5clt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cagayan de Oro, Philippines
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“DECEPTIVE but GREAT SERVICE”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

DECEPTIVE:

I started to contact Sun Same through email, two months before our trip. Asked him if he was available on the said dates, and so he replied that he is available. So after a few email exchanges we had agreed on our itinerary and told us of the total costs. He also told us that he will pick us at the airport with my name written on a board/paper.
When we arrived at the airport i really assumed it was Sun Same who will pick us, but a different person was there with our name on it.
What's even funny, is that i saw the Sun Same (who's picture appears on his website and here in tripadvisor) there at the arrival gate but with a different name on the board his holding. Immediately I understood, that i was like the other reviewers here who experienced the same baffled, and dismayed reaction.
Our guide had a name plate "Mr Sun Seng" written on it (picture attached). I didn't even bother to ask or even scrutinize him if he really is Sun Same or why isn't Sun Same our guide as agreed on the email exchanges. I didnt want to ruin our visit, were not here for the guide but for the place.

I hope Sun Same would be more honest to his clients, telling them that he will not be available and that he will let his fellow guides handle the trip.

GREAT SERVICE:
Though dismayed I never complained and gave them the benefit of the doubt.
So we went on through our trip. We were warmly welcomed and was guided all through out our trip, from picking us at the airport to dropping us at the airport, everything was great.
ENGLISH:
He speaks fluent conversational english, about 7/10.
KNOWLEDGE:
Was knowledgeable of the places we visited, regarding its history and some tidbits of
trivias.
PHOTOGRAPHY:
Was well versed on the great angles for great photographs. There was even a time
we stopped by Bayon Temple when he saw that the weather and the lighting was
great, and it was indeed one of my favorite photo that i captured.
CROWD:
He guided us to the temples on times when the crowd of tourists are thin or is even not
there. when we were in Angkor Wat i think there were only about 20 of us scattered
in the whole temple.
HEAT:
Free Cold water is always available in the cooler. Of which you can opt to drink before,
after, or you could even bring one during your tour. And after touring the temples, you
can freshen up with cold disposable towelettes.
CAR:
The car we used was cozy with good air condition.

Overall He was a great guide (minus the deception), highly recommended.

TIP: When you decide to contact Sun Same for a tour, ask him upfront on whether he will be your guide or will it be another person, and in that way, you will not be deceived or may feel deceived in some ways...
enjoy!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank GpTnS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sun Same Our Friendly Guide”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Prior to our trip to Siem Reap we were able to contact Sun Same to arrange an Itinerary for our stay in Siem Reap, To our surprise we received an Itinerary the next day which we read through and accepted this also included a p/up from the Airport to our Hotel. On arrival we found Sun Same waiting for as with a greeting smile. This was the start of a wonderful visit, His knowledge in the history surrounding the area was excellent spoke very good English which made it easy to enjoy the experience we cannot speak highly enough that left a lasting impression" Highly Recommended. Bob & Deb:

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very friendly and good tour”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We were able to organise everything with Sun before we arrived in Cambodia and he was at our hotel as agreed on time with a smile. The plan for the day was well organised and the early morning trip to Ta Prohm was a highlight of our holiday. VERY knowledgable about the area, which adds so much more to your experience.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin_Ensor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sun Same - Private Tour Guide, Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Sun Same - Private Tour Guide, Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing