We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, amazing staff and awesome place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hak's House Residence
Ranked #47 of 331 Specialty Lodging in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Top, TOP place! Great location (only 10 mins walk to Pub Street) and Hak (the owner) is more than happy to organise tuk tuk and bicycle hire for you to get you to Pub Street. Along with that he can organise an arrangement of things ranging from tours, transport to other destinations and visa extentsions. The Guesthouse is very clean with big, clean rooms and fast internet. Staff are fantastic and are always willing to help and to make sure your stay is a happy one. Hak is very helpful and is always approachable. Any problem or request you have he will always try to help and accommodate your needs. Having stayed here 2 months, I have not had one bad experience and I highly recommend Hak's House if you are looking for a cheap, great value for money and fun place to stay! 10/10! (Side note, if you need a tuk tuk driver ask Hak for Puan - top bloke, willing to take you anywhere and always on time).

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woolypand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (337)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

140 - 146 of 337 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Hak's is a big place about 15 minutes walk from the markets and pub street which was no problem for us. Rooms were very clean, hot water shower worked, but only if you held the power button constantly. Hak reserved good price tuk tuks for tours and was very helpful. The only shame is that there is not really any atmosphere in the hotel, but that might be because everyone is at the temples, would stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

They told me that a tuk tuk from the guest house will wait for me in the bus station, I arrived in the bus station and there was no tuk tuk waiting for me, so I looked for a tuk tuk (was night, and the bus station of siem reap in the night is not so nice) and after some discussions with a drunk crazy tuk tuk driver I reach the Hak's place. He said "sorry that we didn't pick you up, but your bus was late" Yes..but in Cambodia bus are always late. Anyway, after this he told me that the room yaht I booked was not avaible, because he rented for that night to another guy. Very nice. So, he send me with the mototaxi of the hotel, in other hotel that he found for me. Not at the same price of the room that i booked, but more expensive. Very nice. So, they just left me alone in the bus station in the night, they didn't care about my booking, and they didn't care to, at least, to give a room at the same price or pay them the difference. Or at least offer to me a glass of water...or a beer. Very nice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank alessio s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Our stay at Hak's House was pleasant! Hak was really helpful, especially when we had to bother with a taxi driver or change our bus tickets to a different time. The rooms were decent and had a huge TV, we had a fan room & a hot shower for $10. Good Wifi with routers on every floor.
Only thing to improve: Couldn't open our room window, so due to the heat & moisture from the bathroom, it quickly started to become a little smelly and stuffy.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Anni-Alex181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2014

When we arrived, Hak informed us that the guesthouse was overbooked and he had booked us at other hotel instead. He provided transportation to the other guesthouse and this place was sub par at best. The next morning we were picked up and taking back to Hak's House. The room here was much nicer, clean, and my mattress was more comfortable than most guesthouses. Although it is a bit far out from the main tourist spot in town, I would recommend staying at Hak's House.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

The owner of Hak's House is Hak (of course) and he everytime will try to help you. Hak is a helpful guy, that try to keep his guests pleasant. The hostel is a bit far to center, the staff doesn't speak very nice english (just Hak speaks very well, and another one can get comunication). The rooms is ok, but mine was too hot (I took one with fan, not air con..and I went in jan/feb) and the color it´s uncomfortable. Room with fan like mine, doens't have hot shower.


Positive points:
Clean
wifi inside the rooms
good price
The breakfast is incluided (nothing special..simple, but free)
Good deals with reasonable price, but small portion
Facilites: tuk tuk, ticket bus, daytour, free of charge bicycle and water.


Negative Point:
A bit far from center (10min by walk, or 1US$ by tuk tuk)
The staff doesn`t speak good english (just Hak and another one)
There is a lot of mosquitos in common area
Common area poor
still 4th floor is too much steps
The deals is too small (a lot rice, but few meat)
Few electrical socks inside the room

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoaoCompasso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014

You can't beat a price like this: 7 dollars a night. Plus, it's comfy and clean. Breakfast is included in the price. Nice! You can arrange any kind of transport or trip from here too. It was a pleasure to stay here.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kingoftheslums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.9 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#59 of 384 in Siem Reap
555 reviews
0 mi away
Hak Boutique Hotel & Resort
Hak Boutique Hotel & Resort
#1 of 3 in Svay Dangkum
20 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Siem Reap Hostel
The Siem Reap Hostel
#4 of 331 in Siem Reap
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Bambu Stay
Bambu Stay
#48 of 331 in Siem Reap
57 reviews
1.3 mi away
Onederz Hostel Siem Reap
Onederz Hostel Siem Reap
#5 of 331 in Siem Reap
304 reviews
1.3 mi away
Funky Flashpacker
Funky Flashpacker
#6 of 331 in Siem Reap
2,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hak's House Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hak's House Residence

Address: Street 52, Wat Chowk Road | Phnear Chey Village, Svay Dangkum Commune, Siem Reap 120000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 331 Specialty Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range: $15 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hak's House Residence 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy the total comfort at Hak's House - Siem Reap bed and breakfast, a tropical and peaceful garden villa with 16 spacious rooms with relaxing lounge where you can relax your mind with friendly Khmer staffs who can speak English very well. We are located just about 10min walk from Old Market and Pub Street (City Center) and 15mins ride from Angkor Wat & Siem Reap's International Airport.We are a Khmer family-run business that aims to provide our guests with a home away from home! Enjoy a friendly, relaxing and intimate stay with us in our 16 exclusive private Deluxe Rooms (A/C room); each room comes equipped with 80-channel satellite TV, hot shower, and fresh sheets and towels when our staff cleans your room everyday! We provide free airport pickup or bus station pick up as well. All rooms rate included breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hak's House Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hak`s House - Siem Reap Guesthouse Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing