We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and very economical.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hak's House Residence
Ranked #52 of 292 Specialty Lodging in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Clean rooms, friendly staff, great tuktuk driver (Sin), and good breakfast. =)

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KV1998LX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (321)
There are newer reviews for Hak's House Residence
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

235 - 241 of 323 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2012

Great place to stay. Hak is amazing, puts absolutely no pressure on you to buy from him, actually recommends other good places to eat! Go there!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiwifiddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We liked our stay at Hak's house very much. He is a kind, friendly and helpful person though we got the impression that he tried to charge extra when possible. As an instance when we asked whether we had to pay extra for having breakfast after visiting the sunrise at the temples of Angkor he told us that we would have to pay 3 $ extra to the Tuk Tuk driver while at our last stay in Cambodia this wasn't a problem. The Tuk-Tuk driver who worked for him and drove us around the temples was helpful but tried to overcharge us when we went to the concert of Dr. Beat Richner, an amazing swiss doctor who build five hospitals in Cambodia (also highly recommended, takes place nearly every Saturday!). Never the less, Hak's House is a great and extremely economical way to stay in Cambodia, the staff is extremely friendly, the WiFi fast though not accessible in the rooms and the food great.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveltheworld34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2012

True to popular reviews, Hak is indeed such a friendly person. Very accommodating and helpful with directions and booking tickets. Hak also offered some advices on how to arrive safely in Siem Reap without being ripped off along the thai-cambodia border.

And of course, best price ever. So affordable and the quality is way beyond what was expected. I was amazed when i found out that breakfast was served for free. Bike rental is also free.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carlomorales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Great find. Really friendly staff and Hak the owner especially so. Free breakfast (and you can choose what you want) with tea/coffee. Free filtered water to refill your water bottle. Book exchange. Computer where you can use internet for free. Communal area downstairs and at the front. Tuk tuk drivers who work at the hostel who are really nice so you don't have to mission around to find a driver- the set price seemed to be the same if not cheaper than others we spoke to for going around the temples (think we paid 12 dollars a day for the whole day of temples and 25 a day to go to the farther ones that were an hour plus drive away) Friendly, chilled out atmosphere. 5 minute walk away from a fancy villa place where you can pay to use to pool (a drink s included in the price)

Great value, great place!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HFam1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

This is my first review on TripAdvisor and I am so happy to write for Hak's House. This is the best place I've stayed on all of my travels. The hotel is clean and comfortable, a wonderful breakfast is provided and the wifi is free. But better yet, the hospitality and welcoming spirit of Mr Hak and his staff is unrivaled. There is a reason why this is Hak's HOUSE -- because it feels like home. The welcome is as if you are meeting old friends after being apart. Advice on tour packages, tuk-tuk hire, bus transport to other cities is all easily provided.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

I ended up at Haks purely because I felt I was mestreated elsewhere and found Haks after a quick internet search. I got a tuk-tuk, rode there and talked to Hak and went back and retrieved my bags. I went there for three days and stayed two weeks!!!! I am not one of your younger backpackers who are more like my kids ages.

There were people of all ages from all over the world. Pretty much everyone met over breakfast on the front patio and there was a lot of great conversation between young and old alike. Hak is very competent and takes care of any issues promptly. The room was spotless and maintained regularily.

I am returning to Siem Riep in late July and have booked a room for a month.

A real special highlight is the hotel tuk-tuk driver "Rain". He took me on three day of temple tours, tow days at the beach, a tour to Tonle Sap lake and on and on. He is very personable and speaks good English. He is also a great translator for any communication issues. Oh yeah and did I mention his prices are very reasonable????

Room Tip: I did without aircon and the big wall mounted fan was great. personal preference though...
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siem Reap
2.1 mi away
Anusa Residence & Spa
Anusa Residence & Spa
#12 of 361 in Siem Reap
266 reviews
0.9 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#39 of 361 in Siem Reap
493 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hak Boutique Hotel & Resort
Hak Boutique Hotel & Resort
#1 of 1 in Svay Dangkum
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Bambu Stay
Bambu Stay
#40 of 292 in Siem Reap
51 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hostel Siem Reap
Hostel Siem Reap
#65 of 292 in Siem Reap
177 reviews
1.3 mi away
Funky Flashpacker
Funky Flashpacker
#6 of 292 in Siem Reap
2,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hak's House Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hak's House Residence

Address: Street 52, Wat Chowk Road | Phnear Chey Village, Svay Dangkum Commune, Siem Reap 120000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 292 Specialty Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range: $11 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hak's House Residence 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy the total comfort at Hak's House - Siem Reap bed and breakfast, a tropical and peaceful garden villa with 16 spacious rooms with relaxing lounge where you can relax your mind with friendly Khmer staffs who can speak English very well. We are located just about 10min walk from Old Market and Pub Street (City Center) and 15mins ride from Angkor Wat & Siem Reap's International Airport.We are a Khmer family-run business that aims to provide our guests with a home away from home! Enjoy a friendly, relaxing and intimate stay with us in our 16 exclusive private Deluxe Rooms (A/C room); each room comes equipped with 80-channel satellite TV, hot shower, and fresh sheets and towels when our staff cleans your room everyday! We provide free airport pickup or bus station pick up as well. All rooms rate included breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hak's House Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hak`s House - Siem Reap Guesthouse Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing