We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best staff ever and great value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hak's House Residence - Family Own
Ranked #70 of 262 Specialty Lodging in Siem Reap
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
101 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Best staff ever and great value!”
Reviewed December 16, 2011

We stayed a week at Haks House and enjoyed a lot. Hak organized everything for us from the beginning til the end: free pick-up from the busstation, tuk tuk to see the temples, boat tickets to Battambang and it couldnt have been more smooth.

We stayed in a fan room, which was basic but cozy, comfortable and clean for 8 USD which was great value that also included breakfast (a lot of options there to choose from) and the free pick-up, and free wifi.

The common area downstairs is cozy with some computers that you can use and dvd player with lots of movies.

Location is the only negative thing we can think of as it is a 10 min walk to the centre down a dusty road which they are rebuilding completely. But at least it is very quiet at night and you get a good nights sleep.

The biggest asset of this guesthouse is the staff! They are so friendly and helpful. Hak is there from the early morning until late night, providing tips and smiles all the times.

Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HannaF84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    71
    20
    8
    10
See reviews for
16
87
77
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

Loved the place as Hak and his team are extremely friendly and helpful (Combodians generally are, as I was to find). Efficient and knowledgable, both Hak and his tuk-tuk drivers made it easy for me, The free airport pick-up was also very helpful (would've actually cost more than the accommodation) and the place has a nice homely feel to it with cozy hammocks, armchairs, books, games, etc. The rooms are basic, clean, comfortable and amazing value for money. Awesome authenitic Cambodian food available for rates cheaper than any restaurant in town.

A couple of minor things that stopped me from giving a 5/5 rating: The breakfast was ordinary - a banana and a slice of bread. This was on day 2, and on day 3 there was no breakfast provided though I had to leave around 7am for a bus (also booked through Hak's) for Phnom Penh. Also there was just one working computer in the common area (there was free wifi available though), so there was some waiting time involved.

A minor complaint/observation: the water was pretty hard water; had to scrub my skin off to get the soap off me. Not sure if that's how water in Siem Reap is in general.

Overall, definitely recommended!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank santhoshkanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Hak the owner made our trip better as he takes the time to explain you everything, he is very friendly and got the 5 stars services attitude! I give credit to all the friendly staff to.
the location was ok, only short tuk tuk ride from the center. the hotel was very clean the only down was that there is no air con room and the room was extremely hot just with a fan.
The restaurant was good and affordable to.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quentin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Hak is amazing, he speaks very good English, friendly and so helpful during our stay.
The rooms are clean, comfortable and have a self contained bathroom. The food is sooo tasty and cheap. It's located a short tuk tuk ride away from the bar street and Hak has his own drivers to take you out during the day to see the temples. The free breakfast is decent and if you get up early to see sunrise at Angkor Wat or early bus journey they will give you bread and fruit in a bag.

Great, great, great!!!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelou1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoi An, Vietnam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed November 23, 2011

The main reason to stay is Hak, he seems very honest, helpful in every way and makes your time in Siem Reap go very smoothly. If you go would suggest not going into the bottom floor fan rooms as can be very hot and not so nice, but we moved after the 1st night into an upstairs room with air con and it was very clean and a perfect place to return after the temples. It is a little out of town and if a single girl would suggest getting a tuk tuk back and forth at night as the road condition and lighting is not brilliant. Hak will be able to help with this as he has an army of reliable tuk tuks at the ready. Fantastic stay for the price.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daniel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Great place to stay. The food is good. Better than some places in town. But the best reason to stay is Hak. He owns the place and makes sure you have a good experience. He arranged all our activities and got us the best prices. He actually takes some heat from other locals because he refuses to fleece the tourists and spread around the extra as "commission".

Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2011

I had been in touch with Hak personally before i arrived and he had given me lots of advice on getting to Cambodia and to the guesthouse. I was staying in Siem Reap during the floods of Oct 2011 and although the road past the guesthouse was flooded we still managed to get in and out (with a little bit of wading). The property itself is clean and airy and the rooms are very good value, large with massive beds and perfectly functional bathrooms. Breakfast is included and is a very good selection and the restaurant at the guesthouse serves local food at good prices. Hak's own tuk tuk driver Sin is a lovely man and although he speaks little english is very helpful and will take you wherever you need to go. They will book you anything you need and help in any way they can.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Siem Reap
0.9 mi away
The Siem Reap Hostel
The Siem Reap Hostel
#3 of 262 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
1.1 mi away
Same Same Backpacker, Siem Riep
0.8 mi away
Funky Flashpacker
Funky Flashpacker
#7 of 262 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hak Boutique Hotel & Resort
Hak Boutique Hotel & Resort
#122 of 487 in Siem Reap Province
5.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hostel Siem Reap
Hostel Siem Reap
#56 of 262 in Siem Reap
4.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bambu Stay
Bambu Stay
#28 of 262 in Siem Reap
5.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hak's House Residence - Family Own? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hak's House Residence - Family Own

Property: Hak's House Residence - Family Own
Address: Street 52, Wat Chowk Road | Phnear Chey Village, Svay Dangkum Commune, Siem Reap 120000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 262 Specialty Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hak's House Residence - Family Own 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and enjoy the total comfort at Hak's House - Siem Reap bed and breakfast, a tropical and peaceful garden villa with 16 spacious rooms with relaxing lounge where you can relax your mind with friendly Khmer staffs who can speak English very well. We are located just about 10min walk from Old Market and Pub Street (City Center) and 15mins ride from Angkor Wat & Siem Reap's International Airport.We are a Khmer family-run business that aims to provide our guests with a home away from home! Enjoy a friendly, relaxing and intimate stay with us in our 16 exclusive private Deluxe Rooms (A/C room); each room comes equipped with 80-channel satellite TV, hot shower, and fresh sheets and towels when our staff cleans your room everyday! We provide free airport pickup or bus station pick up as well. All rooms rate included breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hak's House Residence - Family Own reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hak`s House - Siem Reap Guesthouse Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing