We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My first visit to Cambodia...”
Review of Rotha Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rotha Guesthouse
Ranked #311 of 507 Siem Reap B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Despite having a good idea of what is good value in Thailand, I cannot really rank this hotel based on 'value' in Cambodia because it is the only hotel I stayed in when visiting the country, a country that apparently has a two-tier pricing system for locals and tourists. Compared to what you'd get in Thailand for $17 a night, it was very good value, a proper hotel, especially by western standards. I can also say that the staff are very friendly, the room was very clean, the bed was big and comfortable. There was a clean toilet/shower bathroom. Wifi and tv included, there really isn't much to complain about with regards to the overall experience of staying there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (10)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 10 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

The staff was extremely friendly and accomodating at this smaller guest house. For example, the night before we left, one of the staff members made a point to come and say goodbye to us as we were leaving before she was arriving to work the following morning. Our towels were also folded into elephants- not something we expected for the price of our room! The guesthouse is a bit far from the hussle of Pub Street, so you'll have to take a tuk-tuk if you want to go into that area of Siem Reap. There are a few restaurants nearby, including Madame Butterfy, a massive Chinese buffet, and many more locals-only Cambodian restaurants. Relatively close to the airport and an overall modest guesthouse with a fantastic, helpful staff! Weeks later, still comparing other hotel staff to those at Rotha Guesthouse!

Room Tip: Our room was on the front side of the building (with the lit advertisement sign), so ask for another...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grace Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

This guest house which is a little out of the centre of Siem Reap is a lovely place run by fantastically helpful, friendly and lovely people. The staff are always smiling and making sure we had what we needed. I was accidentally short-changed in the restaurant and the waitress came running up to my room to rectify the mistake! I loved the smiles and the friendliness here.

The place is clean, has good rooms with all the facilities required (TV, fridge, hot water, drinking water etc). It is very good value for the price.

When we needed a tuk-tuk for our visit to Angkor Wat the receptionist hailed a trusted guide for us who conducted a tour of the sites, including lunch, for most of the day. This was also great value, as it saved us MILES of walking in the almost-40-degree heat.

I would recommend using this guest house. The adjoining cafe is also nice and run by the same people. I would recommend this for the evening if you don't want to go too far from the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RawlingStone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Very pleasant hotel, attentive. Soft beds, most personnel at the desk can speak english, adequate sized clean rooms ,hot showers, on the main road pretty much centrally located for all activities, no gimmicks no ripoffs, air condition works well. but forget the free airport pick-up as they don't even list a phone number to call.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kenneth h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Good Location. Not in the center, but easy go. Just 3$ by "tuk-tuk". Not so far from Angkor Wat. From top floor can see Angkor.
Room Is ok, Service good, Staff very friendly and good speak english.
Wi-fi internet fast. Breakfast at coffee shop.

Room Tip: Top floor - road view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sergey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank x112ruko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.0 mi away
Lotus Blanc Resort
Lotus Blanc Resort
#33 of 361 in Siem Reap
2,373 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Privilege Floor by BOREI ANGKOR
0.0 mi away
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
Borei Angkor Resort & Spa
#37 of 361 in Siem Reap
5,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Golden Temple Hotel
Golden Temple Hotel
#21 of 361 in Siem Reap
3,696 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Moon Boutique Hotel
The Moon Boutique Hotel
#49 of 361 in Siem Reap
901 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jasmine Family Hostel
Jasmine Family Hostel
#176 of 300 in Siem Reap
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rotha Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rotha Guesthouse

Address: National Road 6 (Airport Rd, Siem Reap 17000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #311 of 507 B&Bs / Inns in Siem Reap
Price Range: $24 - $40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rotha Guesthouse 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rotha Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing