We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to watch the world go by”

Cambodian Soup Restaurant
Ranked #290 of 877 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Cuisines: Asian, Soups, Cambodian, Bar, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great place to watch the world go by”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

A great place to watch the world go by - especially with a glass of Angkor draft beer at 50c.

Comfortable chairs for drinking and people watching - although a little less so if having a meal. Reasonably priced 'snacky' dishes like spare rips and eggplant. They have a BBQ grill and also offer cooking classes.

A nice place to relax.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank BingoinSiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    130
    50
    23
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Food, Cheap Price”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We ate here twice, both times the food was excellent. I had the fish amok which I thought was really nice and my husband had pork spare ribs which were good. Second time I had grilled eggplant with pork, can't remember what my husband had.
Overall good food, reasonable price and great for a beer and people watching.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chrissyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
137 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Acceptable, needs to improve”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Limp, dead noodles and overcooked broccoli and morning glory. One of the worst noodle dishes we ate in Cambodia. Amok, however, was very tasty although not very fresh. I guess that speaks to my partiality to anything with coconut milk in it. Still, if you are caught between after lunch-before dinner and are templed-out, this is a good spot to have a beer and watch the crowds strolling along Pub Street.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rodrigo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“My Go To Place”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

After six visits to Siem Reap in the last four years, I keep gravitating back to Cambodia Soup Kitchen both for luch and dinner. Partly because it is conviently located on Pub Street where you can spot familiar faces, invite them in for a drink or a meal, as well as meet interesting guests from all over teh world at teh next table; partly because it has good reasonably priced food (especially the grilled offerings cooked streetside) and because of the friendly staff many of whom I now know. Service as in virtually every Cambodian restaurant and bar is extremely slow and inattentive--but that's the way it goes.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dfe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
149 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Definitely would come again”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

We ate here our last night in Siem Reap. We had a great time here. We ordered mango salad (amazing!), grilled eggplant with pork and the Cambodian Curry Village with fish, shrimp, beef, and chicken. All the dishes were excellent and large portions. The dishes came out as they were ready. So we were able to enjoy one dish at a time. The beer is super cheap here. I also tried a banana shake here which was also very fresh and delicious. The food is a great value for the quality of food and the amount of food you get.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nickelp03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cambodian Soup Restaurant also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Cambodian Soup Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing