We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Service”
Review of Il Forno Siem Reap

Il Forno Siem Reap
Ranked #54 of 899 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We created Il Forno in 2011 after many years dreaming of opening a traditional Italian Restaurant outside Italy where we would serve authentic Italian food like our grandmothers used to cook. The only addition to our grandmother's kitchen was the building of an original stone brick fire wood oven from where to make pizzas according to the southern italian tradition. We pride to import every single ingredient ( veggie & fruits aside)on our menu directly from Italy and to make all our food home made and fresh daily. Our fantastic team of chefs/cooks start their day very early to prepare our pizza dough that need 10/12 hours before its naturally risen and to prepare home made tagliatelle, tortellini , gnocchi and so on , exactly like we used to in Italy half a century ago.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This place was reccomended for great pizzas and we ended up instead eating a 3 courses meal after the suggestions of the manager that came promptly to welcome us in the restaurant. We ordered directly from the special board without even looking at the menu'; the food was divine like you were in a local trattoria in italy.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank max p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,673 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,006
    483
    111
    48
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic time and time again”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Il Forno is an amazing restaurant. I have been twice in the last week with family and it delivered both times. Fantastic food, great service, freebie tasters and nice chats with the chef. I couldn't recommend it more. It can be a little hot close to the pizza fire but it's worth it! The chocolate mousse is the best I've ever tasted.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PhnomPenhLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing, loved it,”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Excellent Italian food and service. And the owner stopped at our table to ask if we had any questions about the menu. The pizzas looked wonderful but we had cannelloni and a pasta dish. It was so good we added dessert as well. Good but not as amazing as the meal. Would highly recommend.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Joanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great food & service but prepare to sweat”
Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Food was great, ambience very trattoria, servers warmly attentive. Only complaint is how hot it was - need better ventilation.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank colomonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A great Value and Great Food”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

It took us a while to find this place. We finally had to ask where it was and the person took us right to the place.
Good Italian food right in the middle of the Pub Street area.
I would recommend the four cheese pizza.
Two salads will feed four.
We placed out order and out came an Italian appetizer. The food there was delicious and hot. At the end of the meal the staff offered us a aperitif. Totally unexpected!
When the bill for the four of us came we could hardly believe how inexpensive the meal was.
Try il forno for a great dining experience

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank jchopstix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Forno Siem Reap also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Il Forno Siem Reap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing