We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food for an amazing cause ”
Review of Green Star ( Not for Profit ) - CLOSED

Green Star ( Not for Profit )
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Cambodian, American, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Located close to town in a quiet side street, Green Star Restaurant offers authentic Khmer meals at local prices.Hygienic, MSG free and western-belly friendly, the Green Star menu includes a range of tasty and affordable Khmer dishes, with Anchor beer sold by the jug. Eat with the locals,Expats & travellers, away from the tourist strip. 100% of the profits support former street beggar kids through the Green Gecko Project.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing food for an amazing cause ”
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

NGO restaurants are quite popular in Cambodia and Green star was recommended by a bartender from our hostel nearby and supports the Gecko project that aims to help kids off the streets of Cambodia.
Food was absolutely divine with a secret ingredient of pepper from the owner.
Recommendations: (unfortunately, I don't remember the exact dishes name) grilled beef with kampot pepper and lime, steamed fish with lemon grass and a $10 beer tower that holds approximately 12 mugs of beer.

Helpful?
Thank Wennie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    94
    32
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bang Saphan, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Good food great cause ..athmosphere can be better.the service was great and the food tasty.
The soup was very tasty .
We will be back soon as we can here.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kung N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug S, Owner at Green Star ( Not for Profit ), responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Thanks for taking time out to write about us. We certainly do our best to provide excellent food at very reasonable prices making the overall experience a good one.

Take care, Doug & Avee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious dining for a good cause ”
Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

We went here after reading all the reviews, and weren't disappointed. Owners are great hosts to this atmospheric little restaurant, and the food is delicious and cheap. Best way to contribute to a good cause: you get great food for cheap, they can help children with the profit. A win win situation for all parties involved.

Helpful?
Thank Geertrui P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug S, Owner at Green Star ( Not for Profit ), responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Avee & I thank you for your comments. We certainly hope that our customers walk away after an evening with us feeling, as you say, it was a 'win win' evening

Take care, Doug & Avee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“5 green stars!”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

Great menu choice, fresh and tasty. Visited with a group of eight and everyone walked away with full bellies and great things to say about the tasty food. Spring rolls were to die for! Being a non profit restaurant, this place gives back to the local community and has a great welcoming family vibe to it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yukkalicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug S, Owner at Green Star ( Not for Profit ), responded to this review, February 18, 2014
You know, at Green Gecko when the kids stand out having gone that 'extra mile' they are recognized with a Green Star award & their names go up on the notice board....a very special moment. So, believe us when we say we feel very special with your '5 Star' rating of our performance.

Take care, Doug & Avee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Five stars for green star!”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

The food was absolutely delicious and cheap! A little bit away from the tourist centre but well worth a visit - supporting such a worthy cause as Green Gecko. Warm and welcoming staff helping create a great atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank becy_m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doug S, Owner at Green Star ( Not for Profit ), responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Well Becky, what can I say but let me touch on those key words in your review:

- Delicious
- Cheap
- Out of City Centre
- Worthy cause
- Warm & welcoming staff
All the things we strive for & it seems that in your view we are getting there.

Thank you so much for your encouraging words & we are so happy you enjoyed the Green Star experience ...which includes helping those less fortunate.

Take care

Doug & Avee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Star ( Not for Profit ) also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing