We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had high expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Green Star ( Not for Profit ) - CLOSED

Green Star ( Not for Profit )
Price range: $2 - $8
Cuisines: Cambodian, American, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Located close to town in a quiet side street, Green Star Restaurant offers authentic Khmer meals at local prices.Hygienic, MSG free and western-belly friendly, the Green Star menu includes a range of tasty and affordable Khmer dishes, with Anchor beer sold by the jug. Eat with the locals,Expats & travellers, away from the tourist strip. 100% of the profits support former street beggar kids through the Green Gecko Project.
Bay of Islands
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Had high expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Found a write up for this restaurant in the travel magazine on Thai Airways and decided it looked like a worthy cause to support.

When our tuk tuk driver finally found the place, we really did think we were at the wrong restaurant. There was zero ambience. I appreciate the thought behind the restaurant, but no effort has been put into the Green Star to make the surroundings even in the slightest bit appealing which would probably bring in more tourists. The workers were all lounging around inside and it was off putting having them sit there staring at you.

The fried corn appetizer came highly recommended, and a little over rated. The frogs however were pretty good.

If you are looking for a nice hang out with friends, this may not be the place, but if you are wanting to give back to the community then it's worth a visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travellingtillmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

381 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    242
    94
    32
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great mission, ok food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

I greatly appreciate what they are trying to do at Green Star in supporting the Green Gecko foundation. But the food is less than impressive. We got the fried corn appetizer, which was moderately interesting but not crispy or flavorful like I was hoping. The fried eggplant with pork in the kampot pepper sauce was a miss. The eggplant had a nice charred flavor, but the pork was dried out ground pork, and the sauce wasn't all that peppery. The fried shrimp was about 90% batter and 10% shrimp, but the salad that came with it was tasty.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rubaggio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
441 reviews
282 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 380 helpful votes
“Didn’t live up to its T/A reputation.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

There was nothing wrong with the food we had, but it wasn’t special in any way … the recommended onion rings were in a puffed-up dough, much like a donut batter.

We didn’t sight the owners/manager nor did anyone engage us in conversation except to take our order.

No-where did I see anything in relation to their training of street kids or their support of “Green Gecko” other than the blackboard menu which said something like “buy a kid a meal for US$1”.

I wasn’t impressed with the overflowing garbage bins on each side of our table, nor the swarm of mosquitoes (probably 20 of them) which literally pounced on our onion rings when they were served – obviously gourmet mosquitoes !!. They did light some incense sticks (probably anti-mosquito) when we were half way through our meal.

I might go there again, but it would be more in support of the Kids than in the expectation of a great meal. I think it cost us around US$13 for one entrée, 2 mains, 2 beers, and 2 soft drinks … so their prices were ok.

Whilst it appears a little out of the way on the map, it was only a short walk back via a night market then across the river to Pub Street and the old market area.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jjumpstart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dodgy49, Owner at Green Star ( Not for Profit ), responded to this review, October 15, 2012
WSec are sorry your visit did not live up to expectations. I also appologise that we vwere not available to greet you. Both ASvee & i cam down with a flu or bad cold so had to stay clear of our customers for a number of days. Unfortunate but a reality .... don't want to send our customers off with a case of the flu. Once out of Pub Street, mossie's & insects are a reality across Cambodia. It's very seasonal but just ask, wherever you are, & help is at hand. We always carry Mossie coils & repellent as do most restaurants.

I need to mention, we are not a training restaurant. There is reference to the work of The Green Grecko Project & how we support its work on the reverse side of the drinks menu & under normal circumstances I am in the Restaurant virtually every evening, talking to customers about our work & answering any question one might have. Sorry on this occasion I was not available Doug & Avee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, fantastic price, fantastic cause”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Everything we ordered was delicious. It's not a fancy place but the food is the best we had in Siem Reap. Go now and don't waste your time with the restaurants around pub street etc- get off the tourist track and you will be richly rewarded!!!

Get your tuk tuk driver to come back and collect you, it's dark round here at night, not dangerous but better to have transport onwards arranged I think.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dodgy49, Owner at Green Star ( Not for Profit ), responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Avee & I take pride in offering what we believe is good, tasty, fresh Khmer food & we certainly do get rewarded by the commentary & reviews of the majority of our customers, you amongst them, validating our belief. We thank you for that. And if anyone ever wants a Tuk Tuk to get them home or into town just tell us & we will gladely arrange one for you. Doug & Avee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious food and a brilliant cause”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Went here for dinner, and probably had the most freshest, delicious meal in Siem Reap. Food is fresh and tasty and the restaurant supports multiple causes. Definitely go for dinner.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank MickChels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dodgy49, Owner at Green Star ( Not for Profit ), responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thanks guys for that glowing commentary on your evening with us. I dont believe anyone can argue the freshness of our food. We care at the market every day. Nothing is pre-prepared. All meals are prepared following order, & you cant get much fresher than that. Doug & Avee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Star ( Not for Profit ) also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing