We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“authentic Indian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Indian

The Indian
Ranked #114 of 858 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $9
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“authentic Indian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

This restaurant is a little off the hustling Pub street and offers lovely and authentic Indian cuisine in a spacious nicely lit room. The Naan was super yummy, one veg dish and another chicken dish were ecxellent, spicy and surely freshly made. A good choice when you like real Indian food!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank MMV1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    119
    29
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Siem Reap, Cambodia
1 review
“Always a pleasure to eat at the Indian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

I have eaten at the Indian many times and have invited many friends to eat there too. I am very happy when I eat at The Indian. The friendly and caring staff along with the tasty food makes it a very enjoyable meal.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AniKHMER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
79 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Less than average Indian food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

As a great fan of Indian food, my husband and I gave this Indian restaurant a try. It is conveniently located near Pub Street with nice decoration. We ordered Nann, Chicken Tikka, Paneer which were below average compared to those we have tried before. The Nann has a shiny coat and also comes thick which was quite tasteless and hard. The Chicken Tikka feels rough and not tender and the paneer cheese was not fine. Overall the price range was acceptable but food quality is not really great.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rubychan84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
91 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Nice Indian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We went to this resteraunt after checking the Dakshins Resteraunt which is just next by and rated higher in TripAdvisor.
We saw the menus and people eat in both resteraunts and decided to give it a try.

The food was really nice, we had the chicken thali and chicken khorma, both dishes were really tasteful, the naan was really good and the samosa was nice.
Price is lower than the other resteraunt in at least 2 dollars per dish and the food looks the same.. (Although we never tasted it)..

The service can be a bit better though, they weren't rude or something but a bit sleepy.

Helpful?
Thank Omer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
151 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Okay but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

I was craving for Indian food on day 3 of my visit to Siem Reap as I had tasted Cambodian food on the first 2 days and found that Cambodian food is not spicy at all. I ordered the fish curry set meal which included the naan bread, some lentils and other sidings. The fish was tender indeed but I found the curry a little bit salty although the other spices and amount of chili put on the dish is okay.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Teo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Indian also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to The Indian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing