We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely small hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alliance Boutique Villa
Ranked #78 of 268 Specialty Lodging in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“lovely small hotel”
Reviewed December 15, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 4 nights in late November/early December in one of the garden suite rooms. The location is great, room was lovely, breakfast was very nice and the owner was very helpful. She sits down with you when you check in and finds out what you want to do, giving you tips and advice. We ended up using the tuk-tuk driver that teh hotel sent to pick us up at the airport for our entire visit. He was great. We visited the drunken forest and stilted village thru the hotel and that was well worth it. Even had lunch in a home in the village. Our flight left very late on our last day and since our room wasn't rented they let us stay until 9PM, which they did not have to do. Needless to say it was great to be able to take a shower and change our clothes. The only minor issues I had were that 1) the staff could speak better English, and 2) they missed replacing items in the daily room make - soap, tissues, sometimes the hand towels.

Room Tip: I'm sure they are all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewJerseyTricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaH72, Gérant at Alliance Boutique Villa, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Thank you for your stay in our hotel, it was a pleasure to welcome you. Thank you very much for your positive opinion, we shall share it with our staff. Sorry for the inconvenient of non replacing items in room, and we try to training english every days at our staff.

We hope to welcome you again in our beautiful country. Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    31
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
39
76
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We stayed in Alliance Cafe four nights. We loved the rooms and location. The owners Chan Tha and Olivier were very helpful with planning of couple of side trips. We only had one dinner at the restaurant and it was quite nice. Breakfast was ample, with selection of pastries, fruits and eggs. The place, although centrally located is a small oasis of peace. We will be back;-).

Room Tip: I think there are only seven rooms in this villa and they are all very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SharkPraha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AaH72, Gérant at Alliance Boutique Villa, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive opinion, we shall share it with our staff. We hope to welcome you again in our beautiful country. Sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Me, my husband and our son stayed for 2 nights and i have to say tha was not enough, we want to extend our stay but the hotel was busy. I will start with check in, I arrived with taxi and was only with my son, soon we get to lobby a few staff welcome us by opening the door and help with my bags and even pick up my son hahaha it was great I dont need to worry about anything. check in was quick and we were escorted to our room and was good size room,happy with the room. Butler service is 24hours,we had couple times in room dining and the food was yummy. . Our last night we use baby sitter service and the lady was really good with kid. What can i say everything in the room and hotel is just perfect for us, we are very happy and planing to go back in 2months.

Room Tip: choice balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bernard d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This small, stylish boutique hotel occupies the former Alliance Francaise cultural centre, a few minutes walk from the old market place and the buzz of Pub Street. The property includes a restaurant (Alliance Art Cafe), bar, art gallery and pool and has a lovely shady courtyard where breakfast is served. Food at the restaurant is excellent. The hosts and staff are lovely - friendly and helpful - and the rooms are spacious, stylish and quiet, with the feel of a more expensive hotel. It is truly a wonderful cool oasis to retreat to after trekking round the temples and the city in the heat. We stayed a week and it felt like home. Only down side was having to leave.

Room Tip: Only 7 rooms - all good - but we loved the peace of the green garden suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ittyfrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Very friendly and well managed property. The staff are excellent when it comes to helping with your local info and the owner is a very kind person.
The swimming pool is just enough for you spend some time on a hot day.
Food is excellent as well and served with much care.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good to select!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harshauj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2012

where do i begin? i arrived early on friday morning and i expected to be only let in the room at noon at the earliest, which is the usual hotel check-in time. i was mistaken. chan tha, the gracious owner, told me that i could check-in immediately. a relief, given that i had to get up very early to catch my flight to siem reap.

the moment i walked in the room, i thought... 'gee, i'll have to force myself to go out to actually see angkor wat'. it's just so inviting and relaxing. the official photos on the website don't do the rooms justice (and neither do mine), the experience is just that pleasant. hardwood floors and furniture, coupled with thoughtful cambodian pieces adorn the room. a friend of mine who lives in siem reap remarked that the rooms definitely reflect facets of cambodian taste. with just seven rooms in the property, it definitely feels very private.

chan tha is very helpful in suggesting things that one can do touristically, and yes, there is lots to do!

i didn't eat much at the hotel except breakfast one morning, as i wanted to sample the local streetfood scene, but the one time i had it, it was good. on my departure on monday morning, the staff had packed a breakfast for me. a nice touch.

i can't praise the location enough. around the corner is a bike rental store, which has a lovely owner. perfect if you want to cycle to the temples. the town centre is a mere five minutes away, where you have the local market, pub street, etc. however this hotel is far enough that you don't hear any of that noise.

all in all a wonderful trip, and i won't hesitate to come back to alliance boutique villas on my next visit.

Room Tip: i had the violet room (garden view deluxe). i thought it was great. the only ones who walk past it a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlvinMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We stayed 3 nights (three of us in deluxe family room - with 2 double bed) in this small but very cosy resort style hotel. All guests were greeted with welcome drink and very warm & friendly cambodian lady (Chan Tha) who owned this place. The staff are friendly, though some may not understand English very well, but they always put on a smile. Highly recommended for those on free & easy in smaller group. It's close to old Market, pub street, night market.
Chan Tha can make arrangement for local guide & tuk-tuk service and no hassle at all!
Like the home-made pineapple jam by Chan Tha during breakfast.. :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkmy251
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.1 mi away
Hollywood Angkor Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Apsara Residence Hotel
Apsara Residence Hotel
#84 of 344 in Siem Reap
191 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Crown Hotel
Royal Crown Hotel
#112 of 344 in Siem Reap
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Royal Crown Hotel & Spa
Royal Crown Hotel & Spa
#90 of 344 in Siem Reap
798 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shadow Angkor Hotel
Shadow Angkor Hotel
#147 of 489 in Siem Reap
59 reviews
0.3 mi away
Central Prestige D'Angkor
Central Prestige D'Angkor
#46 of 489 in Siem Reap
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alliance Boutique Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alliance Boutique Villa

Property: Alliance Boutique Villa
Address: Wat Damnak, 7 Makara Street Siem Reap Angkor | Siem reap province, Siem Reap 00855, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 268 Specialty Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alliance Boutique Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alliance is an oasis of calm right in the heart of vibrant Siem Reap. Situated in a stylish French colonial building constructed in 1953, previously home to the French cultural centre, our guests enjoy an Old World atmosphere complete with modern comforts. The experience is enhanced by a beautiful garden and a salt water pool offering an ideal way to unwind at the end of the day.Although just two minutes walk from the town centre and the river, Alliance provides a peaceful setting from which you can enjoy your stay in Siem Reap. A cosy breakfast by the pool, a light lunch in the garden reading a book or a pre dinner stroll along the tree lined river, the choice is yours. Wherever you decide to roam, Alliance is situated perfectly for lazy days and balmy evenings and gives you the freedom to wander at will and experience local life to the full. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alliance Boutique Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alliance Cafe Boutique Villa Hotel Siem Reap

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing