We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atmosphere!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sweet Dreams Guesthouse
Ranked #29 of 268 Specialty Lodging in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great atmosphere!”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

The rooms were great for the price, also all rooms have optional AC.
The best thing about it was the owner Nini. He speaks great English and can help organise almost anything. The tuktuk drivers hanging out in front of Sweet Dreams are also great to chat to, got to play footie with them etc.
The restaurant has good staple foods, but it's worth looking around for some more variety.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaan-Eerik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    53
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
2
39
47
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Bermuda
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2012

I had a wonderful month staying at Sweet Dreams, which I wouldn't change for the world.

The guesthouse has all the standard features that you would expect - there are rooms to suit different budgets and preferences.

What separates Sweet Dreams from other places is the people. The owner - Nini - and his family and friends will make you feel welcome from the start. They'll be able to answer any questions you have and make sure your entire stay is enjoyable and problem-free. The incredibly friendly and homely feel could not be imitated. It was real home away from home. I feel lucky to have found this place because it forms a big part of my treasured Cambodia memories.

I hope that I'll get the chance to return to Siem Reap and stay with Nini and co.

J

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wurzburg, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2012

I know that this guesthouse has been getting mostly positive reviews - which is why we chose to stay there - but I do not totally agree with this. It is true that the rooms were clean and the hostel's restaurant was very good. However, in my opinion the owner was a little bit too outgoing given the local cultural standards which made him appear really pushy to us. If you like this - great; we did not. Also, the term "family-run" seems to imply that you have really young girls (definitely younger than 16 and possibly not members of the above-mentioned "family") who clean your room and prepare your food. So, overall, it is a nice place but for the reasons given above, we would not go there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank backpacking_asia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibu, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Owned by Nini, who speaks excellent English and is very welcoming and friendly.. His kids are cute and friendly...
I stayed here 3 nights in a single bed room.
He can arrange for airport transfer (free), visits around the city, Angkor and buses to other destinations.. The GH compound usually has Nini's friends playing chess etc, making jokes and having a good time, which makes u feel at home.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ekansh1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2011

I have nothing but great things to say about my time at Sweet Dreams Guesthouse. I was welcomed by the owner, Nini, as an old friend and continued to be treated as one for every weekend I was there for five weeks. It is in the Wat Bo area of Siem Reap, close enough to walk into the centre of town but also gets you out of the crush of the city centre. The guesthouse itself has everything you need and rooms are good value, comfortable and can be tailored to whatever comforts you require depending on your budget. The girls in the restaurant cook some great food, particularly breakfasts, and there is free internet and wifi to use. Also look out for the swish new rooms they are building out the back, all with hot water and air con, due to be completed in March.
But rooms are rooms and can be found anywhere. The thing that makes this place so so special really are the people you find here. Nini and his family are amazing. So so helpful and they know everything going on in Siem Reap. They will help you organise ANYTHING and are fair, honest, GREAT fun and so kind. I couldn't recommend Sweet Dreams enough. I am coming back to Cambodia in February and know where I will be staying!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2011

I stayed here for one month, and would advise anyone coming to Siem Reap to stay here. As soon as I arrived the guy who owns the guesthouse said "make yourself at home", and he meant it. His name is Nini, and he is one of the nicest and most generous people in Cambodia. I was volunteering at a local school in Siem Reap and decided on purchasing a motorbike while I was in town. Nini helped thorugh the whole process from begining to end, without ever asking for anything in return. He happily gives advice, shares his food and drink, and is very trusting. He has borrowed money from me, and I have borrowed from him. He and his family are very kind, and the children will most likely make friends with you quickly.

The rooms are clean, the beds are comfortable, and for 5 dollars a night I can only speak highly of all the ammenities. The staff are warm and always helpful, and there is rarely anything that the staff cannot cater to. When it comes to running a guesthouse, Nini has done it right.

At the time I am writting this (December 2011) the family is building even more rooms. They had a party to celebrate and gladly offered my participation. It was awesome. Either way there should more options available by March of 2012 for those who wish to have a newer room with more ammenities. I have been all over SE Asia and for the price there is no better guesthouse.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2011

While exploring the temples of angkor we had an excellent base in form of the Sweet Dreams Guesthouse. The owner is extremely friendly and helpful and the rooms spacios and clean. The guesthouse has an attached restaurant which serves excellent and reasonbly priced dishes as well as breakfast. They can also organise you all kind of bus/boat tickets as well as knowledgble tuk-tuk drivers which take you around the temples.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nadjaandoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
1.1 mi away
Bambu Stay
Bambu Stay
#31 of 268 in Siem Reap
45 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hostel Siem Reap
Hostel Siem Reap
#53 of 268 in Siem Reap
177 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Siem Reap Hostel
The Siem Reap Hostel
#3 of 268 in Siem Reap
1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hangout
Hangout
#19 of 268 in Siem Reap
83 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Living Quarters Hostel 543
The Living Quarters Hostel 543
#23 of 268 in Siem Reap
98 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Luxury Concept Hostel
The Luxury Concept Hostel
#30 of 268 in Siem Reap
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweet Dreams Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Dreams Guesthouse

Property: Sweet Dreams Guesthouse
Address: #0126 Wat Bo Street | Salakamreuk, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 268 Specialty Lodging in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweet Dreams is a local family run guesthouse located in Siem Reap just 1km away from the city centre. We offer 24-hour security and friendly 24-hour English speaking reception. We have a big selection of affordable rooms ranging from basic rooms, standard rooms, and deluxe rooms with air-conditioning and cable TV. We also have a restaurant serving delicious food from 6am to 11pm. We have two areas for relaxation: one large terrace in the cool shade of the palm trees and one lounge area with a TV and DVD player, plus free DVDs to watch. There is also a free book exchange. We have two computers with internet access provided free of charge. Our staff are very knowledgeable about the area and are happy to arrange tours, transport and guides as required. Or we can just give you tips on the local area if you prefer to do your own thing. Additional services available include: laundry - $1/kg, free pick-up from airport, boat or bus station in Siem Reap, and coming soon bicycle rental will be available for $1/day. We look forward to meeting you. Nini, family and staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Sweet Dreams Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing