We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the wait”

Sambo - Khmer & Thai Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 1,285 Restaurants in Siem Reap
Price range: $2 - $3
Description: I am Sokha and I opened my restaurant, in Wat Damnak, behind the night market. My food ? Simple but tasty local Khmer and Thai food, with the freshest produces from the market. Come and try !
Restaurant details
Description: I am Sokha and I opened my restaurant, in Wat Damnak, behind the night market. My food ? Simple but tasty local Khmer and Thai food, with the freshest produces from the market. Come and try !
Reviewed January 21, 2020 via mobile

We didn’t wait, but we got there at 11:30, 15 minutes before the rush. If there’s a wait... WAIT.

The lemon smoothie and mango shakes were on point, the bok choy was bangin, the fish amok was solid, and the fried pork was my favorite.

The best part of the whole experience, though, was our waitress. I don’t know what her routine is everyday, but she is probably the most wonderful person we’ve come across in Southeast Asia. I want to be her friend.

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank TylerDStewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SokhaSambo, Owner at Sambo - Khmer & Thai Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2020

Hi Tyler,

Thankyou so so much for this very kind and warm review,

Myself and my family are blessed to have such wonderful customers
enjoy our little restaurant .

I am deeply touched by this review. Thankyou

My Very BEST WISHES
Sokha



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (188)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

56 - 60 of 194 reviews

Reviewed January 21, 2020 via mobile

We tried Sambo due to such incredible reviews and the food didn’t disappoint! Unfortunately with great popularity comes many customers and we had to wait a while for our food. Service was fantastic and the cheap beers kept us happy whilst we waited!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank 853jadaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SokhaSambo, Owner at Sambo - Khmer & Thai Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2020

Hello 853jadaa,

We would like to thank you very much for your ''delicious review"
Thankyou for patiently waiting to be seated .
My family and team are very grateful you enjoyed our restaurant.
Enjoy your travels
Best Wishes Sokha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2020

Excellent value! Many Khmer dish choices - be warned about adding too much heat! Ask for the extra peppers on the side..

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bas0921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SokhaSambo, Owner at Sambo - Khmer & Thai Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2020

Hi bas0921,

Thankyou so much for this lovely review,
I was pleased you rate Sambo as ''Excellent value''
a very nice compliment, thank you.
I.m sure your tip re spicy food will be appreciated
by our readers.
Enjoy your stay in Siem Reap
Regards Sokha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2020 via mobile

Excellent food, and even better service with smiling and helpsome staff. For this price, definitely recommended!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank pskoland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SokhaSambo, Owner at Sambo - Khmer & Thai Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2020

Hi pskoland,

Thankyou very much for this 5 star review.
We are very happy you enjoyed our Restaurant.
I am very proud to share your kind words
with our hardworking staff.

Best Regards Sokha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2020

Dropped in for a fruit smoothie. I bought a banana fruit smoothie for $1.5, to go. It was pretty decent. Friendly service. They have free wifi

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CraftBeerDean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SokhaSambo, General Manager at Sambo - Khmer & Thai Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2020

Hi Dean,

Thankyou very much for this very nice review and also
for sharing your photos.
We a pleased you enjoyed your smoothie.
Regards Sokha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sambo - Khmer & Thai Restaurant also viewed

Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Svay Dangkum, Siem Reap
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Sambo - Khmer & Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing