We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shanghai Angkor Villa & Spa Resort
Nearby Hotels
$189
$184
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$60
$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
$44
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$28
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$101
$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$47
$38
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$95
$66
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
$161
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (232)
Filter reviews
232 results
Traveler rating
174
25
13
8
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
174
25
13
8
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrench ownerfree facialboutique hotelala carte breakfasttuk tuksmall propertyswimming poolfrench colonial stylefruit platterliving roomairport transfernoodle soupthe general managerenjoyed my staybooked this hotelthree nightspub street
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 232 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2012

We stayed for one night in Villa Samar, at the end of December 2011. Overall, we can concur with other reviews stating that it's a quiet and charming small hotel in Siem Reap.

What we liked :

- The hotel's size (8 rooms or so) plus the fact that it's tastefully and very elegantly decorated.

- The food : We had the plate of khmer and "innovative" tapas and we enjoyed them very much. Price-wise it wasn't cheap but not outrageously expensive either. The breakfast (included in the price for one night) was also quite good (save that they had not - may be then only - fresh juices !)

We disliked :

- We decided to go for a bike tour (quite nice at least to see Angkor Wat and Angkor Thom which are not very far, provided you avoid the hottest hours of the day if you come in the dry season) and asked the reception to arrange the bike rental. We were provided in the afternoon with very nice and new mountain bikes (Giant) but we were told they'd be charged 14 $ each a day : As we questionned this price the manager stepped in and said that it was not his bikes and that this was the price asked by the company (Quality bike rental or something like this). He added quite undiplomatically that it was unavoidable that such a company would rip off tourists in the high season and to it only amounted to 10 euros a day ! As we returned the bikes the next morning, the receptionist initially charged us for two days (on a 12 $ basis instead of the 14 $ basis/bike/day). The manager who had guaranteed us that we could use them for 24 hours (day to day) corrected her mistake. But when we moved to the next hotel in Siem Reap, we got the same bikes for 6 $ each a day !

- The rooms are indeed very nice. We stayed in one of the suites in the main house, overlooking at the pool. A couple of things yet could be fixed ; the water pressure in the shower was very low ; there was also a fake flower next to the sink, which I found was a "fausse note". The rooms were also quite dark : of course you can open the shutters but this is at the expense of your privacy as the personnel often passes before them.

- The hotel is off downtown Siem Reap quite close to the southern entrance of the Angkor Site. Location wise it's OK but you'll have to use the tuk-tuk or to have your personal mean of transportation. When we asked a tuk-tuk to leave the hotel to go to another one (not because we were dissatisfied but because the Villa was only available for one night) standing very close, we'd to wait for 15 to 20 mns. The receptionist wanted us to pay directly the hotel which we refused and asked for 12 $ (a joke because it'd should be 3 dollars max).

- The service could be improved. I wanted to get pick a snack in the meny to eat by the pool around 3 pm (there was a snack menu) but I was told that the chef had left and wasn't offered anything to eat.

Overall, our rating does not reflect the intrinsic quality of the hotel but our experience with the management and the fact that we got the impression that we got ripped off for the extras and for the tuk tuk. This last point is key as the hotel is far from downtown Siem Reap (it has it bonuses).

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bert061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cp2812, Propriétaire at Shanghai Angkor Villa & Spa Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 6, 2012

The Samar Villas have been open for 15 months; all of the comments posted by our customers on TripAdvisor are positive at 100%
I'm glad you enjoyed our restaurant and that you found that our house has charm and that its location at the door of the temple- away from city noise is a plus.
All suites, apartments and villas are equipped with large windows which are protected from the sight of people moving outside by double curtains to ensure privacy. With the heat raging in Cambodia the shutters are often closed in order to reduce the heat.

It is important that I deal with the controversy on the comments made to your rental request from an outside provider.
• To meet the demands of our customers for bicycles, we use an outside provider who brings (and removes) the bicycles to our premise in a small truck. The bicycle provider also assured us that each bike is serviced after every hire so that our clients can be assured that they are sitting on a reliable bike.
• The usual rate for the bicycle is $12/day ( half day or full day ; Please take note that full day is not 24hours). I spoke with the bicycle provider and he has agreed to give you the daily rate for use of the ½ day on December 26 and the whole morning Of December 27. This bicycle rental is charged on your bill 12US$ / bicycle for the 2 days.
• The bicycle rate that you got from another hotel is possible if the bicycle belongs to the Hotel and hence they are free to charge any rate they choose; it is also possible that it is a different model, whether they are service after every hire and definitely a different bicycle provider.

I think there must be a miscommunication between you and the staff.

Transfer to another hotel is normally $3 depending on the distance from the hotel and any discrepancies that you described will be shown on the hotel bill. The tuk-tuks here are luxury equipped with a cooler, mineral water and cold towels. The rate is 18 USD for one day from 08.00 am to 17.00 pm and 12 USD for half a day. The tuk-tuks do not belong to us but this service is provided by a private company which we trust.

The low water pressure problem you encountered was because it was coming out from the reserve tank in the hotel due to Cambodia Water Supply cutting their water every few hours. It happens to all businesses in Siem Reap and some without reserve water tanks have to get water from the ground or go without water.

I wanted to explain these comments to the readers of Trip Advisor in the most transparent way possible on how we manage the provision of external services by independent contractors.

The Samar Villas is a place where we would like to provide our customers with the feeling of "Just like home”

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2011

The Samar Villas & Spa was one of the highlight of our first trip to Angkor-Siem Reap. We booked their le Apart room (for 4 pax, 2 bedrooms & 2 bathroom) and it was exquisite.

Samar is charming and quiet boutique hotel with less than 10 rooms. Very well decorated - classy combination of Khmer and colonial style and decoration. Both bathrooms in our room were very spacious and clean. For those who can't do without their TVs & internet during their holiday, could request for TV sets (with most cable channels) in their rooms. WiFi connection was also consistent and strong.

Location is away from town so it is quiet and serene, only 10mins from Angkor Wat by car. Staff were professional, helpful and accommodating. Pool and spa were just perfect for a relaxing time in Angkor. Breakfast was prepared fresh when requested. A restaurant opposite the hotel serves lunch and dinner and they could also arrange to stage Apsara performance with advanced notice.

Will come back if we are in Angkor in the future.

Room Tip: Their 'le Apart' room is perfect for family of four. Spacious with two bathrooms.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ozweego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2011

We stayed at the Samar Villa & Spa Resort in August 2011, and it certainly exceeded our high expectations! The suites are wonderful, decorated with beautiful furniture and accessories, with beautiful and spacious bathrooms. The swimming pool is perfect for relaxation after a long day of touring the temples at Angkor, and so are the spa services offered. Breakfast is excellent and filling, with freshly baked croissants and delicious tropical fruit. We also had dinner twice at the hotel during our stay, and the modern Asian fusion cuisine as well as the cocktails were outstanding. Most importantly, we enjoyed meeting the managers and the staff of the resort. They do everything to help you enjoy your time at Angkor and Siem Reap, from arranging tours to the temples, to arranging transport with the resort's tuk tuks, to making recommendations for dinner in town. Everyone is very professional, and the service is tailored to each traveller's needs. We would highly recommend this property to anyone travelling to Siem Reap. Hopefully, we will have the chance to stay there again sometime!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ernestosgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2011

I stayed at the Samar Villa & Spa hotel last month with my parents. We stayed in the two bedroom apartment which was comfortable and elegantly furnished. Both the bedrooms had attached bathrooms that were spacious and modern.

The staff were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good and the WiFi connection was strong. The hotel is a short taxi ride away from both the city and Angkor Wat.

Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
Thank Manu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Very well decorated, charming, quiet and very professional service made our visit in Cambodia unforgatable.

We do belive return and spend more time than we did recently.

Room Tip: All rooms have a unique Khmer's style and decoration.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iwona615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews