We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great guide service”

Cambodia Compassion Tours - Private Day Tours
Ranked #240 of 829 Tours in Siem Reap
Attraction details
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great guide service”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Kong Soeun provided me with a great tour of Angor Wat, the surrounding temples and Lake village. He knew when to go where to avoid crowds. I did three days with him and I was very glad I did. Super guy, wonderful tour.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent guide for a personalized tour of Angkor Wat”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

My husband and I spent two days with Soeun visiting Angkor Wat and nearby temples on the first day. He was highly recommended by a colleague and we found him to be a terrific tour guide. Soeun was very knowledgable about the cultural and religious history of the temples, and he spent time introducing each temple in the complex, often using an alternative approach to avoid crowds. He made sure we got to the best spots for photos, for example views with water reflections. On the second day we went 70 km from Angkor Wat to reach the unrestored Bengmelea temple, where he guided us through the ruins. It is an amazing site, and there were very few other tourists there. The temple visits were outstanding, and on the way back from Bengmelea we traveled on small roads through the rice fields and villages, where he gave us a better sense of what life is like for the Kmer today. His personal story is also fascinating and moving. I highly recommend Soeun as a guide for a visit to Siem Reap, and have already referred a friend to him.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rakmaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hk
1 review
“My Tour with Soeun”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Soeun was a fantastic tour guide. We spent 3 days and Soeun took us around and visited the temples in Siem Reap. He was very considered and plan our itinerary very flexible. (Remarks: because of the cloudy day, we could not see the sunset and sunrise in Angkor Wat, Souen re-arranged and let us entered to Angkor Wat again.) He is well educated, accommodating, has excellent English skills, well knowledgeable about his country’s history and culture and particularly understanding of our photographic needs. (He could show you the suitable place to take the photo). He is very familiar with the area and let us to enter popular temples from other ways to avoid the crowds.
He is well prepared your needs – from umbrellas/rain clothes because Siem Reap also has raining in the morning or in the afternoon and cold water on the sunny day. I was impressed Soeun’s passion on his country and want to improve the opportunity for children education. If you are not only want to know the history and culture of Angkor Wat, but want to truly know its people and the country, Soeun is the best tour guide.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Annie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Kong gives you an -almost- private tour of Angkor Wat”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I spent 6 days on the back of Kong's scooter exploring Angkor Wat and it's surroundings. Kong knows when and how to visit the temples so not to be too much ran over by hordes of other tourists, mostly on group travels. He speaks English very well and is willing to share more then just historic knowledge on the temples, giving an idea of contemporary Cambodian society and it's war heritage. I mostly liked observing him talking to locals and showing a real love for it's country and people. Our trip was sort of more sporty, taking back entrances to the temples and climbing over the ruins. Just tell him clearly and beforehand want you want to see and he will get you there. Kong, peace, yo.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenVDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Phenomenal Guide”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Mr. Soeun was an amazing guide! He spent 2 days taking us around the temples and Tonle Sap. I would recommend him to anyone traveling to the area, his knowledge was second to none. He was not only knowledgeable about the sites we visited, but was very informative about the country's turbulent history and shared many of his own personal experiences. The tour was completely customizable and we were able to take the road less traveled by entering many of the sites from entrances not widely used by most tourists. He also accommodated our huge coffee craving and stopped for us to get a to go cup.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cambodia Compassion Tours - Private Day Tours also viewed

 
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
Siem Reap, Siem Reap Province
 

Been to Cambodia Compassion Tours - Private Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing