We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent stay at Bunwin Boutique”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
Ranked #59 of 343 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Recent stay at Bunwin Boutique”
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Came to this Hotel from Bangkok by road via Poipet border. They arranged everything from locating me at the Visa office by my passport number and arranging a taxi at a very reasonable rate to their hotel in the heart of the SR city.
Very warm and personalized service, very friendly staff. A unique and innovative idea of their own Tuk tuk for the people who are staying there and that too is complimentary. large spacious room over looking the central swimming pool. a real velue for money. rooms are clean and designed aesthetically and highly functional.
a certain yes if I come here again,

Room Tip: all rooms are very good with good location, not many rooms- only 10 I guess
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arun52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    451
    86
    6
    3
    3
See reviews for
84
255
49
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Da Nang, Vietnam
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

A wonderful Boutique Experience. Very peaceful and quiet hotel in a quiet location. Only 10 minutes from town, free transport is provided to go into town and back. A wonderful welcome awaits you at the Airport with your free Tuk Tuk transfer to the Bunwin, easy check in accompanied by a cool juice. The rooms are spacious and comfortable, the shower is a lovely size too. Beautiful pool, and a great restaurant. Breakfast is wonderful, and cooked fresh upon your order. The staff are amazing, excellent customer service, great knowledge, AND you can see that they genuinely care. We thank the Bunwin because this boutique paradise MADE our holiday. After the hectic schedule from seeing everything Siem Reap has to offer, this was always a pleasure to come back to, it was the icing on the cake !

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WriterToniC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

We visited Siem Reap in mid December and can't say enough about how wonderful our stay was at Bunwin Boutique Hotel. We travel extensively and always expect some sort of difficulty or challenge along the way, but were pleasantly surprised at every turn by the Bunwin hotel . I agree with many of the other reviews that it is the fantastic staff that really made the difference. We were greeted at the airport and upon arrival at the hotel with a cool towel and a cool drink (even at 11:30pm!), given some information about the area and then shown to our huge and comfortable room! The layout of the room was quite nice with a small sitting area, behind the bed and a long table to put all of our stuff on. The shower was lovely and had a nice spa feel to it with a rain shower head. The next day the staff arranged for a guide and a tuk tuk driver to take us around to the temples. Both were excellent! Our guide Mr. Nol was very knowledgeable about all the temples and history and recommended a great plan to see the places we wanted to see. He timed everything perfectly so we were able to see the sunset on the top of the hill. Our tuk tuk driver Mr. Sen was always smiling and had a cooler full of cold water which was was much appreciated during a long day of hiking in the sun. We hired him for a few more days to drive us to some of the temples that were further out. Both gentleman were very professional, courteous and helpful and made our touring very enjoyable. When we returned the hotel staff asked how our day was and wanted to make sure we were happy with the tour service. Everyone on the Bunwin staff was so friendly and helpful The managers would often stop and chat with us and would always take time to take care of anything we needed right away. We ate at the restaurant a few times - breakfast was tasty with several choices and dinner was also excellent with both local and western choices. We could hear the chef chopping vegetables in the kitchen so we knew everything was fresh! The hotel provides a free tuk tuk service to town whenever you want to go and gives you a phone to call them to come and get you when you are ready to come back. The hotel is off a busy road a bit away from the town, but having a free ride made it really easy to get around and we had no problem getting anywhere we needed to go, including to a popular but somewhard hard to find restaurant! Siem Reap is actually pretty small and you can actually walk pretty much anywhere you want (we did) but everyone on the staff including the managers were always willing to grab the tuk tuk keys and drive us. Now that is great service! We actually liked being a little bit away from the town as it was very peaceful. The hotel is located right in a local neighborhood with farmers living across the street and local families around which gave us some local color as well, but is a block off a busy main road. On our last night we passed a group of school children singing christmas carols at the VIetnamese school just down the road from the hotel. The most amazing part of our visit was actually on departure. Our last night the owner of the hotel threw a party for the hard working staff since it was the one night that week that they didn't have any guests before the holiday rush. The whole staff was there and they all came out to the car to say goodbye to us, wishing us good trip and to come back soon. We will never forget that warm sendoff and definitely will return.

In short, we had a wonderful time at Bunwin Boutique and would highly recommend it. We understand they are opening a sister hotel soon and if the Bunwin is any indication, it should be excellent as well. We agree that a shelf in the shower for toiletries would be great, but otherwise the care and attention that Bunwin staff shows to its guests is marvelous, and perhaps equally importantly, the attention they show to the wonderful pool, restful garden, and peaceful restaurant and bar, was much appreciated. Cambodia is a wondeful country to visit, and Bunwin made it even better.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Azhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Ok, lets get the only negative out of the way - its located off the main road down a bumpy and dusty dirt road. The 1 minute ride in the tuk tuk was a bit too bumpy.

But everything else was just awesome!! At reception they greet you with a nice local punch and wash cloth. The design is Baliesque shiek - very cool. The room was huge! Bed very comfy. The shower was one of the neatest I've ever seen (only other complaint is there was nowhere to place soap/shampoo but on the floor of the shower so one has to crouch to the ground for soap).

The staff was attentive, friendly and spoke good English. Small property with a refreshing pool to use after sightseeing. Highly recommend this property.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank OC_Adventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boutique59, Manager at Bunwin Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, December 31, 2011
We have read your nice wording of the view posted and we take note well regarding a place the soap to be placed.

Our team is to shortly discuss how we are going to do to assure it is nice and convenient.

Have a prosperous 2012 and Happy New Year

Bunwin Boutique Hotel's Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2011

There's so much to see and do in and around Siem Ream... floating villages, quad-biking, eating and drinking, shopping, scenic helicopter flights, and of course the temples... SO many temples.

We loved all of it. But at the very heart of our love for the place is the Bunwin Boutique Hotel.

From the moment we were met at the airport by the tuk-tuk driver, to the moment we were delivered back there, the whole experience was fantastic.

It's a lovely little hotel with only 10 spacious rooms clustered around a beautiful tropical swimming pool in a very quiet part of town which is only 10 minutes to the busy old part of town. The hotel provides free tuk-tuk transfers into town and they give you a mobile phone so you can call them when you're ready to come home. Brilliant service. And it's free!

The breakfasts in the lovely little open restaurant overlooking the pool were great. Freshly baked breads, croissants and pastries and options for western or asian hot food. If you head out to catch sunrise at the temples the hotel will make you a small breakfast pack to take with you. It's basic but a lovely touch. Lunch in the restaurant was equally excellent with local delicacies on offer as well as western style burgers, sandwiches and hot mains.

The reception desk will book any tours you want to see the sights and are extremely friendly and efficient... which brings me to the best feature of the hotel: the staff.

The staff are amongst the most friendly and accommodating that we've encountered anywhere in the world. Impeccable English and wonderfully high standards for such a small establishment. They made the difference. We owe them a big thankyou for making our stay perfect in every way.

We're already planning a return visit to see more of the temples... and we'll certainly be booking the Bunwin again and recommending it to all our friends.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank wilbur101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Upon arriving, We were greeted with a welcome drink by friendly but polite staff. The room was spacious and beautifully decorated. As other reviewers mentioned, they offer free transportation service (They give you a cell phone so that you can call them when you need to be picked up. What a great service!). The breakfast room gets nice morning sunshine. We enjoyed delicious breakfast enjoying the sun and sounds of birds. I didn't feel stress at all staying in this hotel: Everything was well prepared and just great. I would strongly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFTraveler94123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2011

Like most of the reviewers here, I am extremely satisfied with the Bunwin,

The service of Bunwin is something that I would expect from a top notch hotel back in Australia. From the moment we set foot to the moment they send us off, they have always been attentive, friendly and professional. The staff made the effort to know us by name and were always able to address our requests which included booking for buses, tuk tuks, and express laundry service.

Hotel itself was well maintained and clean. Every second time I walk past the reception, there would be someone sweeping, cleaning the pool or doing some gardening. The small size of hotel (not more than 15 rooms-my guess) gives you a sense of privacy and a tranquil secluded atmosphere. Which is quite a nice break from the hustle of Siem Reap.

All the rooms are on the ground floor and are decently sized. The only minor negativity that I could think of is the shower area which seemed to drain water very slowly and can sometimes flood the bathroom. Also the door of the bathroom swings inwards into the toilet which is ergonomically awkward. A sliding door perhaps would be more ideal.

Location wise the hotel is about 5 mins drive from the main hub of the main tourist district. But don't let that deter you from booking, they make it up by providing a free tuk tuk shuttle service to and from and around the hotel. Before you head out they give you a mobile phone, so whenever you're in the city and need a pick up either back to the hotel or down the road just give them a buzz and they'll send their tuk tuk to pick you up.

For breakfast, they cater for western as well as Asian travellers. The western style breakfast is the typical eggs with sausages and bacon with a very generous serving of surprisingly fresh croissants and toast.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank feffery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.3 mi away
The Moon Boutique Hotel
The Moon Boutique Hotel
#43 of 343 in Siem Reap
850 reviews
1.0 mi away
Residence101
Residence101
#26 of 343 in Siem Reap
398 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Moon Residence & Spa
The Moon Residence & Spa
#30 of 343 in Siem Reap
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
1.4 mi away
Memoire Siem Reap Hotel
Memoire Siem Reap Hotel
#19 of 343 in Siem Reap
293 reviews
1.3 mi away
Popular Residence Hotel
Popular Residence Hotel
#42 of 343 in Siem Reap
303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunwin Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunwin Boutique Hotel

Property: Bunwin Boutique Hotel
Address: National 06, Phum Banteay Chas | Samaki Market zone, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 343 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bunwin Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our architecturally designed boutique hotel is located in a quiet area, near the heart of Siem Reap and just a short drive to the International Airport and the alluring Temples of Angkor, Heritage Park. This exclusive retreat has only 2 suites and 8 deluxe, ultra modern poolside rooms, ensuring quality personal service and traditional Khmer hospitality. The rooms have been designed for stylish simplicity with all the latest technologies to allow a relaxing and rejuvenating stay. All rooms have polished concrete flooring, black and white interior tones with a delicate touch of Cambodian artwork. On your door step is our free form swimming pool and bar area, set in a lush tropical garden for you to enjoy a refreshing drink or maybe massage and other treatments. Our executive chef offers a wide selection of mouth-watering dishes through-out the day to ensure our guests complete comfort. Our dedicated team offers a full range of concierge services, complimentary air-port pick-up and transfer, downtown shuttle, free use of laptop with WIFI connection and local mobile phone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bunwin Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing