We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Find!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
Ranked #54 of 356 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, AUST
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Find!”
Reviewed May 9, 2011

Arrived at the Bunwin Boutique Hotel exhausted. The check in was very smooth and fast. We were greated with a cold drink, and refreshing towels, (just what we wanted after 20hours of travelling) and escorted straight to our room. The room was lovely and big, clean, and modern, we were very happy ! The pool was great too, refreshing and clean.
One of the great things of this boutique hotel is that it is small, i think only ten rooms, so you really felt like the only one there. The staff were fantasic, helpfull at all times and always did there job with a smile. Everytime you walk into the reception area you are greeted with the cool towel and a friendly face.
Breakfast was tasty and well presented.
The hotel is a little bit out of the main area (about 2 -3km i think) the hotel has a service where it drives you into the city centre, gives you one of there mobile phones, and you phone them when you are ready to be picked up. This is a great plus for the hotel as you are not having to worry about tuk tuks.
From the first email to the final goodbye i could not fault the service of this hotel, and we have travelled the world and stayed in many hotels. There is only one small thing that i would like, and that would be, shelves or something for the shower, as there is nowhere to keep your soap etc for when your showering.
We hired a taxi for 2 days, Kriss (http://www.siemreaptaxidriver.webs.com) he was great, always on time and cheaper than any other taxi service, and happy to do what ever you wanted. He always had cold water. His car was comfortable, and the AC cold !! Very knowledgable on the Cambodian history and way of life.
Thank you Bunwin for the great experience

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flick83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    86
    7
    3
    3
See reviews for
92
260
51
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
peru
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2011

I loved this place!!. It was a bargain for what I got. The hotel is beautiful, the service was excellent since they picked me up from the airport. The room was huge, nice and comfortable.

To me the location was perfect -it's like an oasis away from noise. Transportation to the old market area was free as well as to/from the airport. The food was very very good, the pool was wonderful, everything was perfect.

They offered me a laptop for emails and internet and the people is so kind.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaitexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenzhen, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 3, 2011

it is a hotel offering private space, nice garden and tasty breakfast. its staff is super nice and helpful. using their transportation service is a great way to find friendly and reliable local driver who can speak english.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2011

This hotel is very new, so the rooms and public areas are all very clean and comfortable. The staff are all very helpful and the service is sweet. The pool is lovely and the food is nice too, and as it is available anytime you need not leave the hotel, though there are plenty of options in Siem Reap if you wish to eat out. The hotel is not in the middle of town, and it is 500m off the main road down a rough little track, but once at the hotel, it is very pleasant and extremely quiet. It is a short 5-10 minute ride to the centre of town, with a lift provided anytime free of charge by the friendly staff. The rooms are very well appointed, the suites have a bath adjacent to the sitting room - very nice for couples.

Room Tip: Choose a suite if you want a romantic stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasoninNewtown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Great place to unwind in this affordable private place. They have only a few rooms, but each room has ample space and well decorated. The pool is right outside your doorstep. It's location is tucked away off the mainroad, and really not too far from the city centre. They provide complimentary pickup service (to/fro town & airport). Siem Reap town is not too big, so you could easily take a casual ride from the hotel to the town.
I'd come here again to really just chill and unwind, feel relaxed in the room, by the pool, and head down to town should I want a little bit more noise.
The staff are very friendly and helpful (strange that they are all males though...) and even woke up really early to have our breakfast packed because we had to leave at 5am for a sunrise tour...

Room for improvements
The pool was not too clean (ok to swim in), and when we told the manager, he got his staff to clean it right away. Perhaps they should make this a daily routine.
The food here is priced on the high side, not too great (we've certainly had better food and also value for money at another boutique hotel closer to town)
Would be excellent if they provided massage services.
Improve value and quality of food, and a good massage service, I'd be very happy being in Bunwin for my entire stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cheo_o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boutique59, Manager at Bunwin Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2011
Dear Madam,

We really appreciate for staying with our hotel while visiting Siem Reap, Angkor and advise us the value opinions which we are searching for further improvement.

In fact, the hotel provides massage and any kind of treatment service should you require and the service need to be supported shortly from our sister hotel. Therefore, our reception desk is pleased to reserve after any confirmation on the service. We pleasure to oversee the quality of food and pricing, and make it change accordingly

Once again, thanks for sharing us the excellent ideas to fulfill the gap

With best regards

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

We found this boutique hotel and at the beginning we were a little bit concerned as it wasn't close to the city centre but the treatment given by all the staff, the amazing rooms (for once the photos paid tribute to reality), the brilliant swimming pool, a perfect place to unwind after visiting the temples or walking around the city, the mobile phone given by the hotel for you to carry so that you can call them in case you get lost or need to be picked up by their own tuk-tuk or car, the massive breakfast carefully cooked to your own taste. Anyway, a brilliant place to stay. Some hotels pick you up from the bust station or airport but this one gave you rides to the city centre and back at your own convenience.
A downside could be the high prices for the guides but if anything goes wrong with the guide, they will deduct an amount from the bill and they did it without even us asking it as they found out by themselves that our guide was not up to scratch. Anyway, a place to come back to and to recommend, as we´been doing so since we left.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank txemagon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nixa, MO
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2011

Our taxi driver hadn't heard of the place and had to drive around a bit to find it with the directions we had (a map would be helpful), then he turned down this dirt road that is little more than an alleyway and drove past some pretty ramshackle houses--a bit worrisome after driving down the main road in Siem Reap and seeing some of the big fancy places that the tour buses were parked at.

But our anxiety quickly resolved once we pulled in at the Bunwin Boutique hotel. We were greeted by several men who helped with luggage. Check in was a breeze, the general manager came out to personally greet us and make sure everything had gone well. The conveniently put us in adjoining rooms--which we appreciate so that we can put the kids in one room and we adults can stay in our own room instead of having to split up when the rooms are separated.

The rooms were spacious, there were flowers and a gorgeous fruit plate was provided. The beds were quite large and very high quality mattresses and bedding with plenty of plush pillows. The showers were large and quite fancy with a French drain styling. Flat screen TVs were provided as were a room safe (unfortunately there were no instructions provided and we inadvertently locked them closed before we could use them. The pool was large enough for our family and maybe one other, but the best thing about it is that it sits in the shade of the main building of the hotel and thus the water stays quite cool and comfortable--a very refreshing swim was in order upon arrival.

So yes, the amenities were great, but that is not where this hotel really shines--it's all about the service. There are copious staff that are always available and eager to help. They have their own tuk-tuk and will take you anywhere in town that you need to go (though not as far as the Angkor Wat sites) for free (though we did tip). The arrange any taxi and guide services you need and can do it on a moments notice. When you go out they provide you with a mobile phone so you can call them to come pick you up in the tuk-tuk or in case you have any problems--seriously, have you EVER had a hotel provide a mobile phone for free?

We were able to arrange to go to Angkor Wat about 2 hours after arriving in Siem Reap to view the sunset. We also wanted to see sunrise early the next morning and they conveniently arranged our taxi and guide for the day for that as well. Normal breakfast time, however, doesn't start until 6am and we were leaving at 5:30am--no problem, the concierge spoke with the kitchen and they provided each of us with a bread basket with French bread, white bread, a plain croissant and a chocolate croissant as well as with butter and jam--even a real butter knife. Can't tell you how much we appreciated that. The next morning did enjoy the sit down breakfast which was huge and delicious with an Asian choice and an American choice for entree, perfectly cooked eggs, an entire pot of tea for each person, fresh fruit, a large basket of the previously mentioned bread, and more great service.

Not everything was perfect--there were stains on the towels and a small stain on one of the bed sheets--they were clean and it just looked like rust stains or something, but still a bit disturbing to use what looks like a brown towel! Also, while we were showering the water pressure dropped and we no longer had any running water. That said, when my son reported it to the front desk it was addressed and we had good water pressure again within 5 minutes.

When we originally booked our stay gas prices were pretty low, we were quoted $35 for the taxi they'd arrange from the Thai-Cambodian border to Siem Reap then the same back. When we got there we learned that the prices had gone up for gas and, subsequently, the taxies. But, again showing their dedication to customer service, the hotel absorbed the difference in cost honoring our original $35 quoted price.

This is not the fanciest place in town and you certainly don't want to try walking from the hotel to see the sites as the distance is fairly long and the neighborhood isn't great. But they recognize this and provide the mobile phone and tuk-tuk and help arrange for taxi and guides so it really is not an inconvenience to be located where they are. For the price we paid we were absolutely satisfied and felt quite spoiled and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Efusco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boutique59, Manager at Bunwin Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 19, 2011
Dear Dr. Evan and Family,

We , Bunwin Boutique Hotel team, value to see your kind distribution of the satisfactory review after leaving the hotel and we are paying attention to the details for further improvement.

Please accept our sincere thanks for staying with us and we look forward to serving you once again in the future.

With best regards,

Sophal
General Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.3 mi away
The Moon Boutique Hotel
The Moon Boutique Hotel
#47 of 356 in Siem Reap
866 reviews
1.6 mi away
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
Baby Elephant Boutique Hotel
#41 of 356 in Siem Reap
484 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Moon Residence & Spa
The Moon Residence & Spa
#34 of 356 in Siem Reap
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Bunwin Residence
Bunwin Residence
#93 of 356 in Siem Reap
227 reviews
1.0 mi away
Memoire d' Angkor Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
Treasure Oasis Hotel
Treasure Oasis Hotel
#33 of 356 in Siem Reap
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunwin Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunwin Boutique Hotel

Property: Bunwin Boutique Hotel
Address: National 06, Phum Banteay Chas | Samaki Market zone, Siem Reap, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 356 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bunwin Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our architecturally designed boutique hotel is located in a quiet area, near the heart of Siem Reap and just a short drive to the International Airport and the alluring Temples of Angkor, Heritage Park. This exclusive retreat has only 2 suites and 8 deluxe, ultra modern poolside rooms, ensuring quality personal service and traditional Khmer hospitality. The rooms have been designed for stylish simplicity with all the latest technologies to allow a relaxing and rejuvenating stay. All rooms have polished concrete flooring, black and white interior tones with a delicate touch of Cambodian artwork. On your door step is our free form swimming pool and bar area, set in a lush tropical garden for you to enjoy a refreshing drink or maybe massage and other treatments. Our executive chef offers a wide selection of mouth-watering dishes through-out the day to ensure our guests complete comfort. Our dedicated team offers a full range of concierge services, complimentary air-port pick-up and transfer, downtown shuttle, free use of laptop with WIFI connection and local mobile phone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Travelocity and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bunwin Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing