We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect fit!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Siddharta Boutique Hotel
Ranked #60 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 26, 2011

We visited Siem Reap for the first
time with our three children and this hotel was perfect for us. The location is the best possible for visiting the temples, but is outside the hustle and bustle of central Siem Reap. The hotel is a quiet oasis, has friendly and helpful staff, comfortable rooms and good food. We felt there was an authentic atmosphere which we believed we would not have found at the large, western hotels.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pineGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,065)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

731 - 737 of 1,065 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2011

This hotel is aptly named. The highlight is the service which was so good, it was actually embarrassing at times. The staff truly went above and beyond what we have experienced during out travels in Southeast Asia and for that matter anywhere we have been.

The moment we arrived, we were served a drink and the manager greeted us and invited us to sit and discuss our plans during our stay. Initially, we found this a little odd, but soon realized that the sole goal of the hotel is to ensure that guests have a fantastic time. The manager explained to us that the country needs tourists and that they understand that tourism is a way for the country to rebuild after Pol Pot and also to help its residents out of poverty.

After talking to the manager, he assigned one of his staff, Sonya, to help us. She ordered bicycles for us and had them delivered to the hotel. When we were finished with them, they contacted the shop and had them picked up.

This hotel supplies a tuk tuk for an additional $15 per day with a driver. For $25 per day, you can have an airconditioned car and a driver and we took advantage of this for two of the days that we were there. After inhaling dust and pollution all day the first day in the tuk tuk, the car was a wonderful change. Our driver who was absolutely wonderful, spoke English well enough to explain a lot of the history of the country, explain the local sights and knew all of the temples. He planned an afternoon trip to the floating village and forest which was one of the highlights of our trip.

The room was quite large and very clean. It comes with a mini-bar (small frig), water boiler, flat screen television, sitting area, air conditioning, robes, flip flops and a room safe. The bathroom is spacious, well lit and has a great shower. There is a sitting area outside each room which is a great place to sit and enjoy morning coffee. The staff cleans the room each day and replaces towels, water, etc. They leave a flower each night on the bed and on our last night, left a little pottery statue of two birds for us to take home.

The pool is beautiful and a nice break in the heat of the afternoon or after walking (and sweating) your way around the temples and the downtown area.

The hotel is located next door to a place that hosts engagement parties and weddings. Our first room was located overlooking this and there was a band playing. We were concerned that the noise might extend late into the night. The manager assured us that it wouldn’t be so, but he moved us anyway to avoid any possible problem with noise. He told us that most of the windows in the hotel have been replaced with double paned windows and the section facing the engagement hall was scheduled to have its windows replaced during the time we were there. After we moved, we heard no noise at all from our room.

Other examples of the outstanding service was the staff’s assistance with helping us to locate specific things we needed and/or wanted to buy. Our tuk tuk driver took us to several stores that had very interesting items for sale, which we would never had found on our own.

The only somewhat disappointing part of our stay at this hotel would have to be the food at the restaurant. Here also, the staff works very hard to please and the service is excellent. The room comes with breakfast which is served as a buffet. The buffet includes bread for toast, croissants (not very good), chocolate cake (made at the hotel, excellent), homemade jams (excellent), cereal, milk, coffee, and juice. Upon sitting down, customers are served small containers of homemade yogurt (excellent) and you can order eggs and bacon from the kitchen.

The lunch and dinner menu has Asian food, spaghetti, chicken wings, french fries, a few sandwiches and smoothies. We tried the chicken wings and french fries, some of the Asian dishes and a smoothie. The smoothie was great. The rest of the food was average and unremarkable so you may wish to head into town for lunch or dinner.

The hotel is located approximately 1 mile from town and 1.5 to 2 miles from the Central Market, Night Market and restaurant district. We walked and biked there several times. The tuk tuk drivers typically quote $2 to $3 for a ride to town (if you are not using the hotel all day tuk tuk). We never paid more than $1 as we bargained for rides.

This place is really a gem and we would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If the windows have not been replaced, pick a room away from the North side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Chicharone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vutha h, General Manager at Siddharta Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 21, 2011

Dear Clients,

Thanks so much for your comment. We really appreciate it and are always happy to have such feedback. It helps us to improve our services and make the stay of our future clients a better one.

However we would like to clarify one important point on this comment in order to avoid any future misunderstanding. Our hotel is not “located next door to a place that hosts engagement parties and weddings”. We are located in a residential area right behind The Meridien 5 stars hotel, just after the well-known Kantha Bopha hospital for children.

In Cambodia, dry season (from November to April) is the « wedding period » and custom is that Cambodians do celebrate marriage at home, in their courtyard or on the street, in front of their house, where they set up large tent of canvas. Ceremonies generally last for two days only. During those days, music is performed sometimes with band for those who can afford it.

Unfortunately during the time of your stay, one of our neighbors married his daughter. They so had the ceremony under a large tent set in their courtyard right behind our hotel.

We apology for the inconvenient caused by this exceptional event.

Warm Regards,
Vutha HOUR/Mr.
Siddharta Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

We (2 adults and 2 children aged 9 and 5) stayed at Siddharta for 3 weeks. Everything was great.

We stayed in a family room (1 room with queen sized bed and ensuite with the other interconnecting room having 2 singles and ensuite) which was perfect for $120 per night. The kids room had a playstation which was a nice touch.

The hotel provides a tuk-tuk driver included in the room rate. We had the same driver (Phan You) for the 3 weeks and he has become a friend who we will keep in touch with. Having a tuk-tuk is a great way to get around and see the sights and the people.

The hotel is not located in the centre which is great for the peace and quiet: it takes about 5 minutes by tuk-tuk to get to Pub Street where alot of the restaurants are located.

The thing that sets this hotel apart is the staff who are super friendly and helpful...nothing is ever a problem and they all speak great English.

The salt water pool (about 20m long by 10m wide with a kiddy pool) is awesome after a hot day.

The food was of good quality.

We will defintely stay here again the next time we come back to Siem Reap.

If you are wanting to 'give back' a little and really meet/know the people: we taught English and my wife being a nurse worked in the health clinic at New Hope Cambodia which is about 2 mintues away from the hotel.

Room Tip: Each room has an outside sitting area: the garden setting of the ground story rooms, next to the poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PerthLivingLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2011

We stayed here as a base for our cycling trip around Siem Reap. Check in was no problem.

Good sized room, we had the honeymoon suite. The room had a tiled floor, which is not uncommon in Asia. The shower was great after a long day's cycling.

Breakfast was solid, we had eggs made to order each morning. There was a small buffet selection, which also included a flourless chocolate cake.

After cycling we sat out on the verandah and had a beer. This was a great way to chill out.

We ate out each night using our Tuk Tuk to take us there.

The internet was fast and reliable.

The last day we had to check out early to catch the boat to Phonm Penh. We ordered a breakfast to eat on the boat. No problem, except at 5.30am there was no one at the front desk. Our tour guide soon sorted that out.

Will stay here again on our next trip to Siem Reap.

Room Tip: Most rooms have a small area that overlooks the pool, this is just outside the front of the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JARMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Staff is incredibly helpful and welcoming, rooms are spotless, surroundings are serene. Great place to base yourself while seeing siem reap and angkor. Food is just average so after breakfast go elsewhere, there are many options close by. Complimentary tuk tuk with driver for our entire stay was a definite plus.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmrbluewater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Faultless Service.

The brilliant service we received from Siddhartha began well before we left Australia. We originally wanted to stay at Pavillion d’Orient but they didn’t have two twins rooms available on the days we needed, so they referred us to their sister property. From the very first email, the service was spectacular. Teng, their beautiful manager, answered every email personally, promptly, and in flawless English; making the communication process incredibly simple. She also booked our flights from Cambodia to Vietnam and all of our internal flights in Vietnam without requiring payment in advance.

We were met at the airport without incident (which was a relief considering our Viator Transfer in Singapore failed to show up) and taken directly to the hotel where we were greeted and plied with welcome drinks. Check-in was efficient. When I asked if I could pay immediately for the airfares that they had booked for us, the account was printed and produced without fuss and we were charged exactly the sum quoted.

Siddhartha is a new hotel but I don’t know if it’s a new building; to me it had a slightly dated feel; but not unpleasantly so. At first glance the rooms are quite bland with block walls and a rather ‘80’s’ inspired colour scheme, but the devil is in the detail and they’ve got everything that matters down pat. The location is quiet (down an unsealed side-street) the beds are comfortable, the curtains are thick, the linen is beautiful quality, the spa prices are outstanding, the water pressure is great, the AC is cold, the towels are large and thick, the hairdryer is real (not one of those awful wall-mounted jobs) breakfast is freshly prepared and plentiful, the pool is welcoming and the staff are outstanding. Plus the TV works and you don’t need a degree to figure out how to turn on the lights. What more could you ask?

We chose the option of a car and driver, and we’d recommend anyone staying at Siddhartha do the same. Kudos to the hotel for employing our driver, he was incredible! He knew more about the region and its history than our tour-guide and he was friendly, funny, ultra-reliable, patient...you name it. When we went to Angkor wat, I left my spare camera battery in the car and he walked for ages to find me and give to me. If you’d like to book him, send me a message and I’ll do my best to track down his card. Otherwise, ask the hotel. Our booking was in the name of Casey and we stayed during the first week in July.

While in Siem Reap we wanted to try real street food (not the sanitised tourist version) so our driver took us to the local version of the night time ‘restaurant’ strip. From there we embarked on a tasting tour of the stalls. Mr Driver paid for everything himself in Reil, which was a great help since we only had USD. We sat on grass mats with a group of local teenagers (much to their amusement) and dined on BBQ sweet corn rolled in oil and herbs, coconut pancakes, banana flower soup, fried lotus seeds and crickets (which took some nerve, but at least we can say we’ve done it J). It was one of the highlights of our trip.

The staff were kind and indulgent towards our two boys, who loved the pool and enjoyed ordering room service in the evenings while we ate out – there being no point at all in trying to convince a 12yo Australian boy to eat crickets!

We wish we had stayed longer in Cambodia. We wanted to tick Angkor off the bucket list before our tour of Vietnam, but it is so much more than that and our few days at Siddhartha only served to whet my appetite. If we ever return, I’d book this hotel again without a second’s hesitation. It’s a gem.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Nicely decorated rooms, great pool and pool area, friendly and helpful personnel.

When we arrived in the morning after a flight from Phnom Penh, we could check in on the spot and were ready for the first tour to Angkor Wat at 9 a.m. This is great service!

Great breakfast. The hotel is north of the town centre in direction to Angkor Wat. Would definitely stay in this hotel, if I come back to Siem Reap!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Siem Reap hotels
0.2 mi away
Pavillon Indochine Hotel
Pavillon Indochine Hotel
#66 of 361 in Siem Reap
653 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sokkhak Boutique Resort
Sokkhak Boutique Resort
#9 of 361 in Siem Reap
587 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nita by Vo Luxury Hotel
Nita by Vo Luxury Hotel
#22 of 361 in Siem Reap
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
Bunwin Boutique Hotel
#51 of 361 in Siem Reap
575 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Santa Clara
Hotel Santa Clara
#16 of 361 in Siem Reap
277 reviews
0.6 mi away
Saem Siemreap Hotel
Saem Siemreap Hotel
#55 of 361 in Siem Reap
1,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Siddharta Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Siddharta Boutique Hotel

Address: Jean Commailles Road, Siem Reap 17253, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Siem Reap Province > Siem Reap
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 361 Hotels in Siem Reap
Price Range: $53 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Siddharta Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Siddharta Boutique Hotel located in the midway between the center of Siem Reap and the Angkor temples, in a quiet and green area, the Siddhartha hotel is warmly welcoming you in an intimate and refined setting. This brand new charming structure, twenty-eight rooms only, while simplicity and elegance meet the colonial and secular Cambodian style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Siddharta Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing